We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just like my Southern Mama used to make them.”

Tad's Chicken 'n Dumplins
Ranked #1 of 52 Restaurants in Troutdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Santa Rosa, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Just like my Southern Mama used to make them.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Get there right at 5pm when they open for seating overlooking the Sandy River. Also, for every two diners, suggest splitting an order of Chicken and Dumplings with additional side salad.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank megscakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    88
    31
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Albany, MS
Level Contributor
131 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Not far down the Columbia River Road, this restaurant sits on the right side of the road with extra parking on the left. I ate dumplings which is a huge portion that could be split. Plus you get bread and salad prior to your entree. My husband got shrimp alfredo. Both were yummy. It sits on the river and was open air the night we went. Loved the atmosphere!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank wpdaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
136 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Hearty food in a beautiful setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Situated overlooking the Sandy River in Troutdale, this is a lovely restaurant with home style food. Since it is known for chicken and dumplings, that is what I ordered. It was very good, but way too much for one person to eat. My partner had the delicious, succulent chicken that is prepared in a cast iron skillet. Our server was pleasant and helpful and we enjoyed our meal. My only critique would be that at least four employees walked past us at the entrance before we were greeted. All they have to say is "someone will be right with you", still, it is definitely worth the stop at this landmark restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wine76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Like Mom used to make”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Don't let the neon sign out front deter you. When we saw the partially burned out neon sign for "Tad's Chic Dump" the first thing that came to mind was Porky's Roadhouse.

I suspect the locals and staff keep the sign in disrepair to discourage casual tourists.

The dumplings were out of this world! Soft, light, pillows of goodness floating in perfectly seasoned gravy. They were huge.

We tried the fried oysters and they were great.

The Bread Pudding was to die for!

Of the 6 places we tried on our trip, all of which were #1 or #2 for their respective towns, this one was the top

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CplDevilDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelburne, Vermont
Level Contributor
187 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Very good home cooked meal at affordable price and generous amount.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Two of us had chicken-fried steak special. Scenic, quiet place along side a river. Close to hotel. Very friendly service. Good local beer on tap.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Philly2VT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tad's Chicken 'n Dumplins also viewed

 

Been to Tad's Chicken 'n Dumplins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing