We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another impressive fall”
Review of Wahkeena Falls

Wahkeena Falls
Book In Advance
More Info
$56.00*
and up
Multnomah Falls and Columbia River Gorge Tour from Portland
Ranked #2 of 18 things to do in Troutdale
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Israel, Jerusalem
Level Contributor
271 reviews
217 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“another impressive fall”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

after stopping at other falls on the scenic road some can seem as just another fall but this one falls different. the water creates some kind of wide spatter and kind of steps instead of a straight fall and it is just beautiful to see. the fall is a short walk from the parking.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank amiroi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    49
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Troutdale, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great waterfall experience!”
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Easy to see from the car. Beautiful in summer or winter! Impressive place to see with your out of town guests, or rent a car and drive yourself. Easy access for elderly.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Teregirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
691 reviews
210 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Magnificent!”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

When you are taking in the Columbia River Gorge Scenic highway, you should stop to take in each and every waterfall stop. Each is gorgeous in its own way. The trees, moss, ferns are stunning. Wahkeena Falls was one of my favorites. The falls are powerful and stunning to watch. Walk all around the area. The trails are easy to handle. Make sure you camera battery is charged before you visit the area. Don't pass up these falls or other smaller falls because Multnomah is the biggest and most famous. Multnomah is impressive, for sure. But, please know the areas around Wahkeena and others is not to be missed. In many ways, I preferred these smaller, less "commercial" areas.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Don't miss this smaller waterfall before you get to Multnomah Fall. It is a relatively easy walk up to bridge to view the waterfall up close. The trails are paved and there were people of all ages walking up and down. We went up the trail to the bridge and then went a little farther past the waterfall. We thought about going to the top but changed our mind when we got tired. It started raining and we stopped to rest and stay dry under a large tree. When we looked out toward the river we had the most breathtaking views and now we know why this area is rated so highly and we agree! I would love to go back and if I lived near here, I would bring my friends and family when they visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Summer6279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, USA
Level Contributor
241 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Just the first of many beautiful waterfalls and views”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife and I took a day hike from the Benson State Recreation Area parking lot up past Wahkeena Falls to Devil's Rest, and then around to Multinomah Falls and back. It's a wonderful day hike, full of waterfalls, views and pleasant forest walking.
The first part is steep, up to the base of Wahkeena Falls (fantastic in mid-day light), up further past the head of the falls, past Fairy Falls and up to the high lands. From there, we took an extra climb up to Devil's Rest, which has no view itself, but there are a couple of really worthwhile overlooks on the way up. Down to the ridge again, we circled around past Ecola Falls to Multinomah Falls (crowded), and back to our car. It was about 9 or 10 miles, with some serious up hill to start and up to Devi's Rest. After the paved part to Wahkeena Falls, most of the trail is rocky, with some nice forest paths as well.
I highly recommend this loop. Bring a sandwich and enjoy a day!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LoveToTravelBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wahkeena Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing