We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Troutdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2014

This was a quick trip for us. Arrived late. Clerk very friendly and check in was very quick.
Room was nice and clean. Bed comfortable. Breakfast was very good. Lots of choices
and well stocked. Left early. If there was a pool or restaurant we did not use them

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 239 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

I love this place. It is clean and the people are nice. Love watching the small planes come in next door. Very Pet FRIENDLY.
Dairy Queen next door is great for an afternoon snack. Free Hot Breakfast and Soup and cookies in the afternoon

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eastcoas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We were so pleasantly suprised when we went to the hotel early in the morning (about 10:30am) to ask a question about our days activities and was asked if we would want to check in early. We were able to drop off our luggage and extra stuff so that it would not be unattended in the car all day.
Breakfast the next morning was just the ticket for a all day trek in the Columbia Gorge hiking.

Thank you for taking care of us!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirt E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

The room was very clean and looked recently redecorated. The staff was very friendly and made us feel welcome. Price was reasonable. I would recommend to friends and family and would stay there again. Dairy Queen right outside front door of lobby.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank Amintia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

My husband and I stayed here over the weekend. It's a great location if you are looking to do some hiking (Columbia gorge area) or head into Portland for some dining/shopping, we did both. The staff was incredibly nice and friendly and the room was so comfy and very clean! I super loved the 1pm check out time!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alaina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

That sounds like a perfect weekend - spring green Gorge, shopping, and good food - well done! : ).

I'm glad we gave you a comfortable and friendly place to come nestle back in to at the end of the full days, and , yes, the 1:00 checkout completely rocks, doesn't it?

We hope to have you back in the house soon, and thank you for making the time to write - it's appreciated.

All the best,
Loree

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent 7 nights in a king room. We thought the room was good sized. The bed was very comfy. The sink area is separate from the shower/toilet area so it made it easier getting ready in the mornings. The sink area had been remodeled with a granite counter. The housekeeping staff did a good job refreshing our room each day. The breakfast is your normal hotel breakfast - nothing too great but edible. The breakfast staff did a good job keeping the food well stocked and the area clean and organized. If we had neighbors in the room next to us, we didn't hear anyone but we did hear the people above us when they walked. You do hear train whistles several times each night. We liked coming back each evening and having freshly baked cookies available - it was a nice way to end the day. The front desk staff were friendly. We liked being outside the busy Portland area in this quieter area rather than being on a busy street but yet it was only a short drive into Portland. My only complaint is some maintenance issues: We opened our drapes and saw that the wallpaper had been stapled to the wall in what looks like a fix to a water leak, a wallpaper seam was peeling, some nails/bolts(?) showing in the ceiling, old/worn shower fixtures. Even with these maintenance issues, I would still stay here again.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank TerreWheeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Thank you for spending the week with us and for making the time to write and give us your feedback. I particularly appreciate getting your input on the daily housekeeping refresh, as that’s something I don’t have the opportunity to inspect, and guests rarely mention.

We have moved the remaining fixes on the eastside windows to the top of the list after you mentioned the issue in your room at checkout, and they’re in process now. We had all those windows replaced late last fall, and didn’t get all the cosmetics completed before winter, so have made it a priority now that spring is here and windows are opening again : ). Thank you for the bump, and for not letting that skew the overall positive of your stay.

We look forward to having you back, and hope that you thoroughly enjoy your spring into summer.

All the best,
Loree

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

And the end of a long day of driving through eastern Oregon, and through the Gorge, Comfort Inn in Troutdale was just what I needed. We had a king bed room bed was super comfy and I slept great. When I checked in they told me check out time was 1PM, Seriously 1PM!!!! That is the latest check out time I have ever seen at anywhere in the Choice family

Due to my choice rewards status, they provided free bottles of water (which were already chilled!!) and a choice of a goodie from their goodie basket, Very nice. Front desk staff was super friendly, energenic and very personable. She knows how to provide hospitality.

Hotel is close to the freeway, but I didnt hear much noise from the freeway, any major noise is from the neighboring airport, but wasn't an issue until the morning. Lots of shopping and food options nearby due to being near 2 major truckstops.

Breakfast was well stocked with many hot and cold options, and plenty of food available. Being it was still early spring the hotel was not super busy, but come summer months this place gets crazy busy. Needless to say I will be back when I am in the area again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KJ9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troutdale
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portland East-Troutdale
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Cascade Inn & Suites
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn Gresham
Quality Inn Gresham
#1 of 11 in Gresham
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Camas Hotel
Camas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Camas
66 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Parkersville Inn & Suites
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland East
Hampton Inn Portland East
#21 of 146 in Portland
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway

Address: 1000 Northwest Graham Road, Troutdale, OR 97060-9549 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Portland - East)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Troutdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Troutdale
Price Range: $91 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway! Our hotel is located 10 miles east of Portland International Airport at the gateway to the Columbia River Gorge National Scenic area featuring majestic Multnomah Falls. Activities and wonders abound in this land of rugged cliffs, sweeping vistas and cascading waterfalls. Start your morning out right with our complimentary hot breakfast including meat and eggs, biscuits and gravy, fresh waffles, plus a great selection of breads, cereals, muffins, yogurt, juice, and fruit. Spend your day hiking the Gorge, enjoying great food and shopping in Troutdale and on the river, or just relax and enjoy the day with a stroll by the Sandy River. Spend your evening wine tasting at McMenamin's Edgefield, featuring three restaurants with an onsite distillery, winery and a brewery. All of our guest rooms include a microwave, refrigerator, coffee-maker, and iron and board. We are a pet friendly facility and will be happy to give you directions to the best places to take the pup for a romp. Our pet friendly rooms are maintained to the same high standards as our pet free rooms. To keep you connected we offer free wireless high-speed Internet access and a business center in the lobby. Looking forward to having you in the house soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portland - East Hotel Troutdale
Holiday Inn Express Troutdale
Holiday Inn Troutdale
Troutdale Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing