We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Troutdale
Certificate of Excellence
Elbert, Colorado
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Quite and clean”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Although this is located near a major highway and the Portland airport, it is surprisingly quiet. The location cannot be better for riding the scenic historic road in the Columbia Gorge and visiting the waterfalls. We made reservations for 2 nights but were able to stay a third night, despite it being a very busy weekend and them being completely full. The breakfast was the standard hotel breakfast, which I skipped, but my husband was up early enough to make a waffle before the hoards descended. The breakfast room is very small and overflowing the days we were there with people seated in the lobby balancing their plates. The staff was very courteous and we will stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheryl g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
I am very glad we were able to make room to extend your stay – we always hate to send someone away because we don’t the ability to extend their reservation. I hope that extra day meant extra time exploring the Gorge for you – it’s beautiful here, isn’t it?

The breakfast room does get crowded during high season – particularly when we have wedding parties in (most summer weekends) as they tend to meet for breakfast so we have an influx all at once. Glad your husband got a waffle, though!

Happy that we treated you well and you enjoyed your stay; and particularly delighted that we’ll have you back again. Enjoy Colorado’s fall!

All the best,
Loree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    72
    21
    4
    2
See reviews for
59
73
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We were on a trip through Oregon and stopped in Troutdale to visit some relatives. Happily, we chose the Comfort Inn over other accommodations in the area. The staff was extremely friendly and efficient. The room was superb: lots of space, comfortable bed, great bathroom (very clean), and a design different from most hotels. By that I mean the room was more square than rectangular and was laid out differently so it was more interesting. We didn't try breakfast so can't comment on that. While close to I 84, a major east/west highway, we never heard traffic noise. There is no view to speak of and apparently no pool, but we didn't care about that. We wanted a restful night's sleep in a comfortable bed in a clean, quiet hotel and that's what we got. The positive attitudes of the staff members were very much appreciated. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbahab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Love that headline : ). Appreciate that you made the time to write, and we are most glad you had a great stay with us, and enjoyed your room and the hotel’s staff. We make it a top priority to hire good people who will make each of our guests feel welcomed and comfortable while you’re here, so it’s always good to know that’s noticed.

I’m sorry that you missed breakfast – we have a changing rotation of meat and eggs, plus biscuits and gravy, fresh waffles, and bagels, muffins, bread, cereal, and fresh fruit and yogurt , so next time you’re up this way, I hope you will join us in the morning (and check in around 5pm and we’ll have soup and warm cookies for you, too!).

Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to seeing you the next time you’re in the area to see your family (hope you got some time to visit the Columbia Gorge while you were here).

All the best to you,
Loree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised at this hotel. For a chain, along I-5 it was great. The check in was all but completed when we arrived and the room key was handed to us with 2 minutes. It appears that the entire facility has been remodeled recently. The rooms and public areas are clean and stylish. There is hallway noise as neighboring doors shut but other than that the rooms were quiet. No freeway noise. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OregonNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and making the time to write so nicely, Nancy. We always make sure we get all reservations set up in the morning with room assignments plus registration cards and keys – helps to keep the summer lobby crunch manageable, and gets you cozied into your room as quickly as possible : ).

Jaime is constantly tweaking our guest room doors to keep the balance between the security need for the doors to close completely on their own, and preventing them from closing so hard that they sound like they’re being slammed. There will always be some of that noise from the hall, but the walls are great, aren’t they? : ) – I can count on one hand the number of noise complaints we’ve had from neighboring room in the past nine years, and don’t recall a single traffic noise issue.

Clarification for readers, we’re off of I-84 at exit 17, rather than I-5, with the start of the beautiful Columbia Gorge Historic Scenic Highway (and charming downtown Troutdale) less than half a mile up the hill.

Thank you again for being here, Nancy – we look forward to having you back with us the next time you’re this way!

All the best,
Loree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

There was a very riendly staff, great customer service, nice big room, and a great breakfast! This is the nicest Comfort Inn I've been to in awhile. Great place! I only wish there was a pool, but everything was so great I couldn't mark it down just for that.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MereNobes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Glad that the rest of what we do overwrote the pool wish – the spa outside doesn’t work well for laps : ).

Seriously, I appreciate you making the time to write, and my apologies for the delay in response. Summer is in full speed boogie, and the immediacies of getting full houses settled in for the night and happy have delayed the enjoyable task of thanking those who have already been here.

I will pass along your staff and customer service comments to our people. That feeling of welcome and comfort is our highest priority, and I’m happy that it came across on your stay.

Look forward to having you back in the house the next time you’re in our area!

All the best of the rest of summer to you,
Loree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, texas usa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Hotel was everything you could ask for. Hotel staff was even better than that. Nice location...close to Portland but away from congestion. On the Columbia River with nice restaurants close by. I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
We will always take an “excellent”, and staff being even better than everything you could ask for is exactly how it should be : ).

Thank you for mentioning the proximity to Portland – while we don’t play to that a lot, it’s an easy (if you avoid the rush hours) 17 miles to the heart of downtown. And, yes, we’re blessed with a number of good restaurants within a mile or five – Ristorante de Pompello for Italian, Ye Olde Pub for great food and easy atmosphere, great eating (and beer and wine) at McMenamin’s Edgefield, chicken and dumplings by the river at Tad’s, and there’s no place better for a lovely dinner on the deck by the beautiful Sandy River than Riverview.

Thank you very much for staying with us, and for making the time to write – it’s appreciated, and we hope to have you back in the house soon!

All the best,
Loree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

After reading the reviews of the surrounding hotels in Gresham and Troutdale, I decided on the Comfort Inn. The reviews were correct. This place was great! The staff was nice and helpful, the room was clean and fresh, the nice selection of food in the morning was perfect and it was away from all of the traffic but close enough to the freeway. Could not ask for anything more! Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nance F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Your enthusiasm (in person, and here) is so very much appreciated : ). We work very hard to earn that #1 slot, and to make things right on the occasion we don't quite meet a guest's (our) high expectations, so it's always good to hear back that we're on track.

The location's great, isn't it? In 9 years, I've never heard one complaint about freeway noise, but it's such an easy on-off (once you work out the loop under the freeway to eastbound), and a person couldn't ask for better access for the Historic Highway into the Gorge.

Thank you for making the time to write - it was a pleasure to have you in the house.

All the best,
Loree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this Comfort Inn on July 3, 2013. We have been on a road trip from Florida starting June 16, so we have stayed in many Choice Hotels-mostly Quality Inns and Comfort Inns. We also take road trips every summer, so we have stayed in many hotels. This Comfort Inn was by far the best Choice Hotel we have encountered. When we checked in, Mindy at the desk was very friendly, thanked us for being gold members and gave us bottled water. The room was obviously new/remodeled, so it was really nice. The king bed was VERY comfortable--even my husband kept making comments about it. The air was cold, nice flat screen TV, and very clean. Now for the breakfast--aside from the norm of eggs, yogurt, fruit, cereal, etc.--there was bacon and potatoes. The milk was in individual cartons, too--we only see that sometimes. There were 2 types of caffeinated coffee choices. When we checked out, Stephanie at the front desk gave me bottled water also. It was a great over night stay--wish all hotels would be this way.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim34178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Any review with "best" in the title (well, anywhere in the review, truth be told) makes it a very good day. : )

Mindy and Stephanie rock taking care of our guests - thank you for noting and remembering their names... there's always a squeal (Steph) and a smile (Mindy) when I get to tell them they got called out for the good stuff. It means a lot.

Happy you enjoyed breakfast - we have a four-day menu rotation for those who, like you, are with us multiple days, and go above brand requirements to make sure we're doing everything we can to send you out into the day well fed. Glad to offer the milk cartons and individual cereals rather than pitchers and bulk dispensers.

Thank you for making the time to write your experience of us - it's very much appreciated.

Wishing you the best of all possible summers,
Loree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troutdale
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Cascade Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portland East-Troutdale
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn Gresham
Quality Inn Gresham
#1 of 11 in Gresham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Camas Hotel
Camas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Camas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Parkersville Inn & Suites
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland East
Hampton Inn Portland East
#15 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway

Property: Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway
Address: 1000 Northwest Graham Road, Troutdale, OR 97060-9549 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Portland - East)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Troutdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Troutdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway! Our hotel is located 10 miles east of Portland International Airport at the gateway to the Columbia River Gorge National Scenic area featuring majestic Multnomah Falls. Activities and wonders abound in this land of rugged cliffs, sweeping vistas and cascading waterfalls. Start your morning out right with our complimentary hot breakfast including meat and eggs, biscuits and gravy, fresh waffles, plus a great selection of breads, cereals, muffins, yogurt, juice, and fruit. Spend your day hiking the Gorge, enjoying great food and shopping in Troutdale and on the river, or just relax and enjoy the day with a stroll by the Sandy River. Spend your evening wine tasting at McMenamin's Edgefield, featuring three restaurants with an onsite distillery, winery and a brewery. All of our guest rooms include a microwave, refrigerator, coffee-maker, and iron and board. We are a pet friendly facility and will be happy to give you directions to the best places to take the pup for a romp. Our pet friendly rooms are maintained to the same high standards as our pet free rooms. To keep you connected we offer free wireless high-speed Internet access and a business center in the lobby. Looking forward to having you in the house soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portland - East Hotel Troutdale
Holiday Inn Express Troutdale
Holiday Inn Troutdale
Troutdale Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing