We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Troutdale
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

There was a very riendly staff, great customer service, nice big room, and a great breakfast! This is the nicest Comfort Inn I've been to in awhile. Great place! I only wish there was a pool, but everything was so great I couldn't mark it down just for that.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MereNobes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Glad that the rest of what we do overwrote the pool wish – the spa outside doesn’t work well for laps : ).

Seriously, I appreciate you making the time to write, and my apologies for the delay in response. Summer is in full speed boogie, and the immediacies of getting full houses settled in for the night and happy have delayed the enjoyable task of thanking those who have already been here.

I will pass along your staff and customer service comments to our people. That feeling of welcome and comfort is our highest priority, and I’m happy that it came across on your stay.

Look forward to having you back in the house the next time you’re in our area!

All the best of the rest of summer to you,
Loree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    74
    22
    5
    3
See reviews for
59
84
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
austin, texas usa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Hotel was everything you could ask for. Hotel staff was even better than that. Nice location...close to Portland but away from congestion. On the Columbia River with nice restaurants close by. I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
We will always take an “excellent”, and staff being even better than everything you could ask for is exactly how it should be : ).

Thank you for mentioning the proximity to Portland – while we don’t play to that a lot, it’s an easy (if you avoid the rush hours) 17 miles to the heart of downtown. And, yes, we’re blessed with a number of good restaurants within a mile or five – Ristorante de Pompello for Italian, Ye Olde Pub for great food and easy atmosphere, great eating (and beer and wine) at McMenamin’s Edgefield, chicken and dumplings by the river at Tad’s, and there’s no place better for a lovely dinner on the deck by the beautiful Sandy River than Riverview.

Thank you very much for staying with us, and for making the time to write – it’s appreciated, and we hope to have you back in the house soon!

All the best,
Loree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2013

After reading the reviews of the surrounding hotels in Gresham and Troutdale, I decided on the Comfort Inn. The reviews were correct. This place was great! The staff was nice and helpful, the room was clean and fresh, the nice selection of food in the morning was perfect and it was away from all of the traffic but close enough to the freeway. Could not ask for anything more! Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nance F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Your enthusiasm (in person, and here) is so very much appreciated : ). We work very hard to earn that #1 slot, and to make things right on the occasion we don't quite meet a guest's (our) high expectations, so it's always good to hear back that we're on track.

The location's great, isn't it? In 9 years, I've never heard one complaint about freeway noise, but it's such an easy on-off (once you work out the loop under the freeway to eastbound), and a person couldn't ask for better access for the Historic Highway into the Gorge.

Thank you for making the time to write - it was a pleasure to have you in the house.

All the best,
Loree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this Comfort Inn on July 3, 2013. We have been on a road trip from Florida starting June 16, so we have stayed in many Choice Hotels-mostly Quality Inns and Comfort Inns. We also take road trips every summer, so we have stayed in many hotels. This Comfort Inn was by far the best Choice Hotel we have encountered. When we checked in, Mindy at the desk was very friendly, thanked us for being gold members and gave us bottled water. The room was obviously new/remodeled, so it was really nice. The king bed was VERY comfortable--even my husband kept making comments about it. The air was cold, nice flat screen TV, and very clean. Now for the breakfast--aside from the norm of eggs, yogurt, fruit, cereal, etc.--there was bacon and potatoes. The milk was in individual cartons, too--we only see that sometimes. There were 2 types of caffeinated coffee choices. When we checked out, Stephanie at the front desk gave me bottled water also. It was a great over night stay--wish all hotels would be this way.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim34178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Any review with "best" in the title (well, anywhere in the review, truth be told) makes it a very good day. : )

Mindy and Stephanie rock taking care of our guests - thank you for noting and remembering their names... there's always a squeal (Steph) and a smile (Mindy) when I get to tell them they got called out for the good stuff. It means a lot.

Happy you enjoyed breakfast - we have a four-day menu rotation for those who, like you, are with us multiple days, and go above brand requirements to make sure we're doing everything we can to send you out into the day well fed. Glad to offer the milk cartons and individual cereals rather than pitchers and bulk dispensers.

Thank you for making the time to write your experience of us - it's very much appreciated.

Wishing you the best of all possible summers,
Loree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is a great location to travel the Columbia Gorge and was our base for three nights. The staff was superb. Although the hotel is currently undergoing renovations, that posed no problem at all. Our room was nice, clean, and comfortable. The breakfast was good enough to send us on our way each morning. We had a couple of issues (like a noisy guest upstairs) and the front desk had no problem moving us to another room. They are definitely there to ensure their customers have a great stay. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoniBaroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Renovation is over - we are officially scaffold-less! : ) I am very glad the construction didn't disturb - we worked very hard to keep the work and the guests in different areas to minimize the impact.

Thank you for making the time to write, and, particularly, thank you for giving us the opportunity to make the stay right for you while we still had the opportunity to do so. We want all our guests to leave happy, and always prefer to know about an issue (whether other guests or a miss on our part) in the moment so we can fix it.

We do hope to see you again soon, and have a lovely summer!

All the best,
Loree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Recently stayed here one night. It was one of the better motels that I have stayed in. Room was nice with a large LCD TV. A really great facility. I just wish it was withing walking distance of restaurants and shopping. It was more expensive than what I am used to paying, but it was compatible with the nearby competition.
It had a very nice complementary breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomcod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
High season rates are always a bit of pocket shock, aren't they? : ) - with our location on the edge of the Columbia Gorge, this market does bump up a bit in the summer. Come back and see us again in October (the weather is usually beautiful in October)!

Very glad you had a good stay with us and enjoyed the breakfast. The Dairy Queen on the other side of the lot will be opening momentarily, and they did install crosswalks and signals for pedestrian use for the short walk over to the factory stores (and up the hill to the great restaurants and shopping in Troutdale, if you're up for a half mile walk to kick your appetite in).

Thank you for making the time to write - it's appreciated.

All the best,
Loree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel is undergoing remodelling so there is scaffolding around it. However, this did not affect our stay as the room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The staff was friendly. The hot buffet breakfast was good. The only down sides were the pool and the room plumbing. The tap was installed the wrong way in our room, so when I turned the cold water on to have a drink, I got hot water (forgot to mention it to hotel so I hope they fix it soon).
It is close to a small airport, but they seemed to have double glazed windows which cut out the noise. It is very close to the town of Troutdale for shopping and restaurants.

Room Tip: Top floor has less noise from other people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sydaus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
It always makes me inordinately cheery when we have someone staying from Australia. I don't know why that is, probably a story from my childhood or something : ) - it just seems like a magical place.

I'm glad you had a good stay with us, in spite of the scaffolding (going away next week, yay!) - we have worked very hard to make the impact of the construction be visual only, so I'm happy that was your experience.

I don't know if it's good windows or good walls or both, but feedback about noise from outside is extremely rare from our guests, in spite of our proximity to the little airport and the freeway, and I'm glad of that.

Thank you for the feedback on the taps - we will get the contractor back in to correct that immediately. We had several rooms they plumbed backwards, and thought we had them all fixed.

Hope to see you again if you're every back up this direction, and thank you for making the time to write... it's appreciated!

All the best,
Loree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troutdale
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Cascade Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portland East-Troutdale
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn Gresham
Quality Inn Gresham
#1 of 11 in Gresham
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Parkersville Inn & Suites
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland East
Hampton Inn Portland East
#15 of 142 in Portland
485 reviews
2.8 mi away
Camas Hotel
Camas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Camas
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway

Property: Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway
Address: 1000 Northwest Graham Road, Troutdale, OR 97060-9549 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Portland - East)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Troutdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Troutdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway! Our hotel is located 10 miles east of Portland International Airport at the gateway to the Columbia River Gorge National Scenic area featuring majestic Multnomah Falls. Activities and wonders abound in this land of rugged cliffs, sweeping vistas and cascading waterfalls. Start your morning out right with our complimentary hot breakfast including meat and eggs, biscuits and gravy, fresh waffles, plus a great selection of breads, cereals, muffins, yogurt, juice, and fruit. Spend your day hiking the Gorge, enjoying great food and shopping in Troutdale and on the river, or just relax and enjoy the day with a stroll by the Sandy River. Spend your evening wine tasting at McMenamin's Edgefield, featuring three restaurants with an onsite distillery, winery and a brewery. All of our guest rooms include a microwave, refrigerator, coffee-maker, and iron and board. We are a pet friendly facility and will be happy to give you directions to the best places to take the pup for a romp. Our pet friendly rooms are maintained to the same high standards as our pet free rooms. To keep you connected we offer free wireless high-speed Internet access and a business center in the lobby. Looking forward to having you in the house soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portland - East Hotel Troutdale
Holiday Inn Express Troutdale
Holiday Inn Troutdale
Troutdale Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing