We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Great!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Troutdale
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always Great!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I've been staying at this property since it was a Holiday Inn Express back in the late 90's...I would give it 10 stars if it were an option.

My visits from Gig Harbor, Wa. are always for business and the Troutdale location makes it a good home base for doing business in the greater Portland area.

Stay here...you wont regret it. Quiet rooms, great staff, clean, and a good breakfast selection.

Room Tip: Top floor is always best in case you get a noisy family or "thumpers" above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
I posted the missing five stars on our bulletin board, Tim. : )

I appreciate your recommendation that we're a good home base for doing business in Portland -we tend to be associated more with the Gorge than the Portland area, but that 17 miles between here and downtown Portland (with the whole east side between) is easily manageable from our location, and you get to end the day with soup and cookies and quiet : ).

I'm very glad your times with us have been as good as we intend them to be. Thank you for making the time to write - it's greatly valued, Tim (almost as much as your business over the many years), and we'll see you again soon!

All the best,
Loree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    73
    21
    4
    2
See reviews for
59
75
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coquille, Oregon
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was the friendliest, most sincere welcome I've ever had upon entering a hotel. Loree was extremely helpful with info and maps for the spots to see along the Gorge and recommending a great walk nearby along the river for the pup. Later, Rian steered me to a fantastic Lebanese restaurant in Portland. It was like he knew exactly what I was looking for.

The room was totally clean and comfortable with all the trimmings at a wonderfully reasonable price. Internet was good. I can't think of a single thing that might have been improved upon. They were having some exterior work done, but were extremely considerate about limiting noise or nuisance. It seemed as though consideration for the guests was utmost at this location. What a delightful change from the average experience.

I highly recommend a stop here if you're in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunta14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
(Think I mentioned it before but) It's easy to be friendly and welcoming with someone who is friendly and willing to be welcomed : ). You were a delight.

There's always a little breath-holding that happens when renovations are going on - the construction company has been stellar about keeping us in the loop well enough that we haven't had one miss on room assignments (knock wood). Thank you for noting that - we've worked very hard to make sure our guests aren't discomfited, so it's good to know we're hitting that mark.

I'll have to get Rian to point me towards that Lebanese restaurant! - glad you got him for that conversation because I would have stared blankly and then hit Google. Good that we have him out expanding horizons for us.

Thank you for making the time to review, Gus, we look very much forward to having you and the pup back next time through.

All the best,
Loree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We did a last minute booking and could get a King size bedroom under $100. The room was neat with all facilities that we would expect. It is around 10miles from Multnomah falls and 5 from Vista house. Opposite there is an decent sized outlet mall.

Had a free breakfast and it was pretty good. Great experience all together.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aneesh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
It does make us so very happy when we get all thirty of those pretty green dots : ). Thank you for making the time to write, Aneesh, and I am very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We're in such a spectacular environment between the Gorge and the Sandy River and the Historic Highway, that we want to make sure we're holding up our end and giving you a good place to rest at the end of the day.

Enjoy summer (it's coming, I promise), and we hope to see you and the family back in the house soon.

All the best,
Loree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, WA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I prefer Just-A-Bed motels. When I travel, the motel is NEVER the destination, so having to pay via my rate for things like gyms, spas, indoor swimming pools or worse yet, water parks makes me cringe. I just want a place where I can get a decent night's sleep to fuel my adventure.

So when I find an AWESOME Just-a-Bed place, I feel like I've won the lottery. And Comfort Inn Troutdale is that. The rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable. The showers are hot and good pressure. The fridge/micro works, the TV is pretty good. The ice is convenient. The people are nice and helpful. Even with it's good location near freeway access and a cute little airport, the rooms are quiet. Restaurants aren't super close (except for the Dairy Queen that appears to be going in next door), but a 5 minute drive (with lights) across the freeway isn't too bad. Quaint little downtown Troutdale is only about 8 minutes away if you want better food.

Oh, and it's PET Friendly. To me pet friendly means low pet fee and CLEAN pet rooms, the feeling that the hotel allots more than 2 rooms for pet people. Comfort Inn Troutdale went the extra mile over this. They gave us a doggie bag as we entered with treats and information about where pooches can go....(to the common areas in the hotel except the breakfast and/or eating or vending spaces. Probably not allowed in the pool either). A bonus that they also described is a park about an eighth of a mile away from the hotel where doggies can run and swim. Unfortunately our canine companion was too elderly to enjoy that. But it was nice that they mentioned it.

The only thing that was a little average was the breakfast. They did have hot food at least, sausage and eggs, waffles you can make, a toaster, plus cereal and some baked goods. It was good, just nothing to write home or Trip Advisor about ;-).

Oh and the pool is just a dipping pool, about 8x8 or 10x10, I'm guessing. Only Lilliputians could swim in it. But I was GLAD, since I don't use motel pools anyway. It just made me laugh every time I looked at it. I wondered why they bother....I guess for those who want to kill time tanning, and need a place to cool off. And that's also a thoughtful gesture....

Will stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
: ) You rocketed straight into my top ten favorite reviews, Teresa - while I've never thought of us as a Just-A-Bed hotel, it seems like an affectionate term the way you present it, so I'll take it... particularly since you threw in AWESOME. : ))

Yes, Dairy Queen is loading equipment in now, and should be open next month (yay Peanut Buster Parfaits!) (errr... I mean plain hamburger patties and a salad).

Thank you for pointing out that we treat our 15 pet rooms with the same care as our 62 non-pet rooms - as one who travels with dog(s), I hate paying extra to be in a room that missed the last two renovations because it's a designated pet room. When we do have (rare) damage to a room because of a canine guest, we take the room out of service until it's right again for both humans and pups.

Please feel welcome to message with me with what would make breakfast better for you - we already have additional items not required by the brand (biscuits & gravy, extra bread and yogurt selections, cheese to make breakfast sandwiches with, Stash teas), but are always open to adding something that will upgrade us from average to wow.

The "pool" is actually a spa, so, yes, not much room for swimming in there (assuming your constitution would put up with you swimming in 104 degrees) and lousy for cooling off, but glad it made you laugh. : )

Thank you again for taking the time and care to write, and for the smile this morning, Teresa. It's appreciated and we'll see you next time through!

All the best,
Loree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We had driven all day. When we got to the hotel we were met with a wonderful smile. The lovely lady let us know there was soup and cookies. Then she printed out directions to the McMenamins where we were headed to meet some friends. The hotel was very peaceful. Walking distance to the outlet mall. Top that all off with a fabulous breakfast and it was very fine.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YogaFoodFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Mindy's smile lights up the room, doesn't it? Most glad we were a respite for you at the end of a long day and a good start to the next... and we are always delighted to direct guests to our friends at Edgefield - I hope you got a chance to walk through the gardens, they've done a beautiful job with the land there.

Hope to see you the next time you're through this way, and thank you for the good words!

All the best,
Loree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Second time here and they have a good breakfast as well. good beds and slept well. If you want a quiet room get it on top floor and on the back side the front is good to i have been on both sides. The airport might scare you but they dont make a lot of noise at night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Slept and fed well would be the plan, Gary - glad you found it so. Thank you for mentioning the elephant in the room - the airport does make some nervous (and delight some - we get a good number of requests to be on the airport side to watch the small planes), but complaints about noise are few and far between, and I've only had two specific to the airport in eight years. Good exterior walls :).

We look forward to seeing you again your next time through, and thank you kindly for making the time to write.

Best,
Loree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hotel is not impressive as you drive up. A rectangle, 3 floors, looks like a million others. But inside all is updated. Latest furniture, bedding, carpet. Fridge, micro, ample plug-ins for electronics. Good lamps and pillows. Guest computer in lobby. Free breakfast is above average too. AND in late afternoons soup and cookies served. 1:00 PM ckout which is unheard of. Not one but two daily newspapers. Pleasant desk folks too. So much better than other medium priced places we've stayed. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tootsie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
You made my morning by mentioning the plug-ins... we had a terrible situation in the room with available outlets until the renovation. I thought the fix of outlets on the lamp bases was brilliant, and significantly more elegant than stringing orange extension cords all over the room : ).

I love our 1:00 checkout - most guests can't take advantage of it, but it's sure nice to be able to sleep in, and to not have to wolf down breakfast and pack to get out by 11:00 when you have the freedom of day to linger.

Thank you for staying with us, and for making the time to write. We hope to see you back next time you're south!

Best,
Loree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troutdale
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Cascade Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portland East-Troutdale
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn Gresham
Quality Inn Gresham
#1 of 11 in Gresham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Camas Hotel
Camas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Camas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Parkersville Inn & Suites
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland East
Hampton Inn Portland East
#15 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway

Property: Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway
Address: 1000 Northwest Graham Road, Troutdale, OR 97060-9549 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Portland - East)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Troutdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Troutdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway! Our hotel is located 10 miles east of Portland International Airport at the gateway to the Columbia River Gorge National Scenic area featuring majestic Multnomah Falls. Activities and wonders abound in this land of rugged cliffs, sweeping vistas and cascading waterfalls. Start your morning out right with our complimentary hot breakfast including meat and eggs, biscuits and gravy, fresh waffles, plus a great selection of breads, cereals, muffins, yogurt, juice, and fruit. Spend your day hiking the Gorge, enjoying great food and shopping in Troutdale and on the river, or just relax and enjoy the day with a stroll by the Sandy River. Spend your evening wine tasting at McMenamin's Edgefield, featuring three restaurants with an onsite distillery, winery and a brewery. All of our guest rooms include a microwave, refrigerator, coffee-maker, and iron and board. We are a pet friendly facility and will be happy to give you directions to the best places to take the pup for a romp. Our pet friendly rooms are maintained to the same high standards as our pet free rooms. To keep you connected we offer free wireless high-speed Internet access and a business center in the lobby. Looking forward to having you in the house soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portland - East Hotel Troutdale
Holiday Inn Express Troutdale
Holiday Inn Troutdale
Troutdale Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing