We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very easy stop right off the 84” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Troutdale
Certificate of Excellence
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A very easy stop right off the 84”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

We reserved this room ahead of time with Priorty Club and it was a very easy to find, literally right off the 84! We love HIE for the free breakfasts, great value in rooms and availability. This location has an outside hot tub and we learned they should be getting a pool within 6 months. The room was clean and bed very comfortable. Also had an in-room fridge for our leftovers from dinner.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ang0829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
It doesn't get much easier to get somewhere, does it? :) Breakfast is still wonderful - meat and eggs, biscuits and gravy, lots of fruit and yogurt and that great raisin bread we love - just fresh waffles instead of cinnamon rolls now.

We are most glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon... our rooms are freshly renovated, with the same staff and management. Only the name has changed.

Best,
Loree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    72
    20
    4
    2
See reviews for
58
73
19
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

We had a very nice stay....It is beautiful and extremely clean. The rooms were roomy and and nice looking, staff was helpful and breakfast was great! No complaints here.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Netlyn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
I am so very glad you enjoyed. We work hard to make sure that Clean is one of the things we hear most often (with Helpful and Great right on its heels, of course :) ). Thank you for taking the time to write and we hope to see you again soon!

Best to you,
Loree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Mississippi
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

Last March and August I stayed at this property while I in the area working. I just realized that I had not given credit where credit is due. The first time I stayed here the staff was so friendly. The location for me was excellent. They have a hot tub outside that is heated and perfect. From this point on, each and every time that I'm in the area, this is where I'll be. Please keep up the good work. See ya next time.

Room Tip: Just tell the staff what you need. If they can help you, they will.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBigDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this review, March 17, 2012
Thank you, kind sir! We do truly appreciate you taking the time, and we look forward to seeing you next time you're in town.

Best to you,
LOree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

Not quite what you expect from a holiday inn express but still very nice.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cps774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Glad you enjoyed your time with us - we've fully renovated our rooms (and changed our brand) since you were last here. Hoping we'll get the opportunity to be more than you expect again soon :).

Best to you,
Loree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

The staff was very friendly and helpful with local information. This hotel is close to the Columbia gorge & there is lots to do in the area. The hotel itself is older than most Holiday inns I have stayed at but it was clean and the beds are always comfy @ Holiday inn!!! Room was smaller than I am used to and there is no pool. The out door hot tub was closed (it was February!!) The breakfast was typical holiday inn fare but everything was good and hot with great coffee. Hotel is right across from the Troutdale airport & our corner room was looking out over the airport but I never heard any planes taking off. All in all it was a comfy, quiet stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patty f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
There IS a lot to do around here, isn't there? Thank you, Patty - glad we were good to you on your visit. Can't make the room larger for you, but we have just received all the permitting and permissions for the pool and will be breaking ground soon, so the water will all be inside a building this summer and we won't need to close it for blowing leaves any more :). Guest rooms will also have new floors and furniture and vanities and lighting by May, so hope to see you the next time through!

Best,
Loree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Wisconsin
Level Contributor
327 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

This was the first night of our week's vacation that did not have a preplanned reservation. As a "walkin", we were very pleased with the outcome, as we usually do a little research beforehand, on potential lodging. We've learned to trust the Holiday Inn Express accomodations, and the rates are usually competitive. Due to road construction near the hotel's entrance, finding it was a little challenging. But once inside, we were rewarded by a friendy, knowledgeable, do-anything-I-can-to-help-you, front desk manager. She offered experienced advice about restaurants, tours, and routing for our next day's trip to the Columbia River Gorge. The hotel was clean, comfortable, and quiet; we appreciated the breakfast offerings. Being able to briefly use the customers' computer was extremely helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bosanchubo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
:) Thank you for the smile - we love where we live, and it's always a delight to get someone pointed in the right direction for a great day or wonderful food. Please do come back and see us again soon... we're still all of those good things, plus updated rooms with new everything, (and waffles... who doesn't love waffles?).

All the best to you,
Loree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stopped here as a starting point for a tour of the Columbia Gorge. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and in order. Breakfast was good, and even had a cheese omlet. Great location to start touring after leaving the Portland airport. They have an outdoor pool, but it is pretty small.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
So glad you got to come visit our beautiful Gorge - it's always wonderful when someone comes from so far away to spend time here. Most pleased that you like our hotel and we're jumping the hoops required to trade the spa out for an indoor pool just as fast as the powers-that-be will let us. :)

Hoping to see you again,
Loree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troutdale
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cascade Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portland East-Troutdale
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn Gresham
Quality Inn Gresham
#1 of 11 in Gresham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Camas Hotel
Camas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Camas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Parkersville Inn & Suites
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland East
Hampton Inn Portland East
#12 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway

Property: Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway
Address: 1000 Northwest Graham Road, Troutdale, OR 97060-9549 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Portland - East)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Troutdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Troutdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway! Our hotel is located 10 miles east of Portland International Airport at the gateway to the Columbia River Gorge National Scenic area featuring majestic Multnomah Falls. Activities and wonders abound in this land of rugged cliffs, sweeping vistas and cascading waterfalls. Start your morning out right with our complimentary hot breakfast including meat and eggs, biscuits and gravy, fresh waffles, plus a great selection of breads, cereals, muffins, yogurt, juice, and fruit. Spend your day hiking the Gorge, enjoying great food and shopping in Troutdale and on the river, or just relax and enjoy the day with a stroll by the Sandy River. Spend your evening wine tasting at McMenamin's Edgefield, featuring three restaurants with an onsite distillery, winery and a brewery. All of our guest rooms include a microwave, refrigerator, coffee-maker, and iron and board. We are a pet friendly facility and will be happy to give you directions to the best places to take the pup for a romp. Our pet friendly rooms are maintained to the same high standards as our pet free rooms. To keep you connected we offer free wireless high-speed Internet access and a business center in the lobby. Looking forward to having you in the house soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portland - East Hotel Troutdale
Holiday Inn Express Troutdale
Holiday Inn Troutdale
Troutdale Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing