We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed messages on pets”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Troutdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2008

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights as it was between Mt. Hood for skiing and downtown Portland for shopping. The website stated that pets were allowed, but when we arrived, and after checking in, there were signs on the doors "No pets allowed". We decided to be discreet as our dogs are very small, quiet and well behaved. We happened to notice other families with dogs as well.

The hotel was quiet, even though it was close to Interstate 84 and a small airport. Breakfast was the HIE routine - bananas tended to be on the green side and not much in the way of whole grain breads but enough to put a decent meal together.

We reserved a family king suite, which had a king bed, and two double beds, refrigerator, microwave and small counter area. It was very spacious and comfortable for our family of 4 and two dogs. The rate was $115 a night including the breakfast.

The hotel was clean and well located. There is a large outlet mall on the opposite side of the freeway, and a Safeway and Hollywood Video a short distance away. Free Wi-Fi access and a computer in the lobby for guests. Free local newspapers.

My only complaints: one of the bedsheets had a small cigarette hole in it and the hot tub was outside and closed for maintenance. It would only really be usable in the summer months.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bargain_hunter46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 238 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2007

My wife and I stayed in a King Bed Executive on pedestal. The management tried to explain their non-reserved hotel rooms even with credit card. We had no problem with check in, and were confused as to why it was even brought up. The room, bed, pillows were wonderful. We did ask for a non-smoking room and the halls and the air out of the air conditioning unit made the room smell of smoke. The evening food snack bar had clam chowder, and fresh hot cookies, milk and water, coffee, hot coco. The morning had, pan cakes, scrambled eggs, biscuits and sausage gravy, cereals, fresh fruit, drinks, honey buns. A few other things and everything was keep full, and trays were available, just ask. Our room had a jet tub; we didn’t have time to use it but did notice a repaired crack. This was the last of a 7 day trip and was one of the best hotels we stayed at. They had a very friendly staff. We paid 109.95 with our AAA membership.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank MarkLasVegas_Nevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2007

Stayed in Troutdale for access to Columbia River gorge, Mt Hood, and Mt St Helens. King size bed with 6 pillows! 4 firm and 2 soft labeled on the pillow. They had soup one night when we came back from touring around. Room was clean and kept clean all 3 days we stayed.

Stayed: July 2007
1  Thank dsj5777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2007

We reserved the Family Suite 1 king & 2 doubles for 2 nights. When we checked in they tried to charge us $134.95 instead of the quoted price of $124.95. They did the same to my brother in law he did not notice until we brought the price up. When we got to our room we were greeted with a horrid smell of rotten butter or milk. We opened the windows and turned on the A/C but the smell did not buge. I asked a housekeeper for assistance but she didn't speak english, so we had to go to the front desk. The front desk called housekeeping, they came and sprayed febreeze around the room, all this did was mix the two smells which was worse. My husband finally decided to investigate the source of the smell himself as nothing obvious looked dirty. He ended up pulling out the mini fridge and found the source of the smell. We called housekeeping again and they tried to bleach the fridge and cabinet, but the smell persisted. Finally they told us to go have supper and they would replace the cabinet. When we got back they had done what they promised, but they also heavily sprayed the carpet with de-odorizor (the carpet was damp with it) the scent was overwhelming and we all had headaches after a few minutes, this was with both windows wide open the entire time we were at supper. So we went back to the front desk, (where they had only one poor lady on staff, she could barely keep up to the phone and people) she then offered to move us to a new suite style room. Why didn't they do this sooner??? We got there around 3 pm and this was now 8pm. At some point we were told ours was the only family suite??? We were all so let down by the situation and the cold coffee in the breakfast area we decided not to stay after all and found a better deal down the road. The hotel we found had a family suite for less, and a pool, sauna and hot tub (Comfort Suites/ Gresham). The Holiday Inn Express lost all of our family business as we all wanted to be in the same place, to keep in touch. If they would have had more staff at the front desk, they could have offered us a new room sooner to give housekeeping time to solve the problem. Instead they tried to mask the smell and cover up problems. If we hadn't found the smell behind the frige and saturated into the wood cabinet, it probably would still be there.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Senga73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2007

I walked in without a reservation and was able to immediately check in. The service was excellent and the room was spotless! In addition, it has a late check-out: 1:00pm!!

The morning breakfast included biscuits and gravy, eggs, yogurt, cereal, juices, milks, coffee, and cinnamon rolls!!

It's a bit far from downtown Portland. If you don't have your own transportation, you might want to stay somewhere else. However, you might find that renting a car and staying here is STILL less expensive than staying at a downtown Portland hotel that doesn't have the amentities of this one!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TravelWisely79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2007

Friends wanted to see the Columbia Gorge and do some shopping at the outlet malls. We settled on this hotel based on Travelocity reviews. The check-in was pleasant and the room was as advertised. What wasn't advertised was the construction and renovation of the exterior, and all of the windows were covered by dirty plastic, so there was no view and the windows did not open. Front Desk said the work would continue through April 2007 and then renovation of the lobby would start sometime soon after. The days were unusually warm and muggy and the air conditioning unit was loud and noisy and was not working well the first night ,so the sleep was uncomfortable. After telling the front desk the next morning, we were surprised and delighted when we returned the second day to find that the entire unit had been replaced and a brand new quiet, efficient unit kept the room perfectly comfortable. The rooms are basic motel-type room with a few extras, such as a refrigerator and microwave. The well-stocked breakfast had a good assortment of cereals, breads and fruit, plus pre-made cheese omlettes and biscuits and gravy. There is a very small work-out room with three or four pieces of equipment and a hot tub/spa outside near the main parking lot. The location is perfect for exploring the awesome Columbia Gorge if you do not want to stray too far from Portland or the Portland airport. I would stay here again if I wanted to be near the Troutdale Outlet malls or do a park and ride to PDX.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tuddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

As pictures live on in our profile forever, I just want to note that rooms have been renovated twice since the writing of this review and encourage you to take a look at the 2012 / 2013 images. No plastic over the windows either! : )

We hope you will come back and see us soon.
Loree

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2006

We pulled up here around 8pm and we were tired. The lady at the front desk gave us a family room with 2 double beds and a King for great price. We could not find another hotel to match this room for the rest of our trip. We were spoiled with the price and the size. Great clean room. Great continental breakfast. A little close to the airport. But eveything else was good!

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank comingforthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troutdale
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Cascade Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portland East-Troutdale
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn Gresham
Quality Inn Gresham
#1 of 11 in Gresham
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Parkersville Inn & Suites
2.8 mi away
Camas Hotel
Camas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Camas
65 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland East
Hampton Inn Portland East
#23 of 144 in Portland
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway

Address: 1000 Northwest Graham Road, Troutdale, OR 97060-9549 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Portland - East)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Troutdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Troutdale
Price Range: $86 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway! Our hotel is located 10 miles east of Portland International Airport at the gateway to the Columbia River Gorge National Scenic area featuring majestic Multnomah Falls. Activities and wonders abound in this land of rugged cliffs, sweeping vistas and cascading waterfalls. Start your morning out right with our complimentary hot breakfast including meat and eggs, biscuits and gravy, fresh waffles, plus a great selection of breads, cereals, muffins, yogurt, juice, and fruit. Spend your day hiking the Gorge, enjoying great food and shopping in Troutdale and on the river, or just relax and enjoy the day with a stroll by the Sandy River. Spend your evening wine tasting at McMenamin's Edgefield, featuring three restaurants with an onsite distillery, winery and a brewery. All of our guest rooms include a microwave, refrigerator, coffee-maker, and iron and board. We are a pet friendly facility and will be happy to give you directions to the best places to take the pup for a romp. Our pet friendly rooms are maintained to the same high standards as our pet free rooms. To keep you connected we offer free wireless high-speed Internet access and a business center in the lobby. Looking forward to having you in the house soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portland - East Hotel Troutdale
Holiday Inn Express Troutdale
Holiday Inn Troutdale
Troutdale Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing