We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An older hotel, but a really nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Troutdale
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, MI
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“An older hotel, but a really nice stay”
Reviewed June 30, 2011

This hotel has great staff at it. The rooms seemed more dated than I anticipated, but we loved having 3 large beds for our family with teens. It was very clean and the location was perfect for travelling the Columbia River Gorge. Breakfast was great. First time I'd seen an automated pancake maker! They have guest laundry which came in very handy for us.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GRtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this review, January 15, 2012
We're glad you like us, thank you! You'll be delighted to hear that we are beginning a full renovation of the guest rooms (floors, beds, furniture, televisions, and counter tops) and public spaces as we speak. We have scheduled the renovation carefully to ensure guests are not disrupted in the process, and everything will be shiny and new shortly. As our staff was already shiny, we're keeping them. :)

Look forward to seeing you soon,
Loree

Loree Harrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    74
    22
    5
    3
See reviews for
59
84
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2011

All staff I talked to were very friendly and our small pekingnese was welcomed. The rooms were immaculate and the coolest thing was the unique folding of the towels. I used to manage motels so appreciate the little things.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tldurgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loree_Harrell, Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this review, January 15, 2012
A good pekingese is always welcome. :) So glad you enjoyed our hotel, and, yes, we work very hard to keep the rooms spotless. Hope to see you again soon!

Best to you,
Loree

Loree Harrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickinson, North Dakota
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Rooms were nothing special, had a roomsaver coupon for 59.99 stayed one night she only had one smoking room left, so she charged me 10 bucks more for that and on top of that it was another 10 bucks for taxes. So for 80 dollars i could of went to the Clarion on Airport Way or the Best Western up the road, which have real nice rooms. Wont do this again..ds

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJL1000011000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
I'm sorry your stay with us didn't meet your expectations. Our rooms were fully renovated this spring and we don't have smoking rooms any more, but it's likely that the ten dollar additional on the coupon was because it was the weekend. It would be nice if we didn't have to charge that occupancy tax (like all taxes :) ), but all hotels in the area have to charge that same 13.45%. No sales tax, though! Thank you for the high marks on cleanliness, sir.

All the best,
Loree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2010

Well worth drive away from City of Portland, in the Gorge area. Was pnly going to stay 1 night, but for the cost stayed 2 nights while sight seeing.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rmkoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
That right there's what we like to hear. :) Thank you for staying over - we're in a good spot for being out in the beauty of the Gorge or in the heart of downtown Portland in 30 minutes either way, aren't we? Glad we could give you a comfortable place to come back to you.

Best to you,
Loree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2010

The good: The staff were great, very friendly and helpful. The size of the room (1 king, 2 full beds, frig, microwave) was great since we had 3 kids with us.

The bad: The a/c in the room was located in one window right next to the two full size beds. To keep the other side of the room cool, we had to keep it really cold and it was blowing right on the kids' beds. There were some fit & finish things like the sink near the bathroom was clogged, the shower head was loose, the hotel internet didn't work (we were right next to the elevators so that is probably why)

The fair: the food (a lof of choices, but not great quality. The bacon was thin and greasy, the biscuits were a bit dry, but they had yogurt, cereal, good coffee, so-so eggs, some whole grain breads, but could be more.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomwalch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2010

we stayed in the king family suite. a king bed separated by a partial wall from two twin beds. worked good for a family.........me and my wife slept in king; kids got their own beds. Nice after a long, long drive. Positives: large room,good internet, comfortable beds, good shower, warm jacuzzi tub, decent breakfast, quiet room. Negatives: room air /heater unit is beside the "kids " beds. The room was essentially the size of two rooms but no a/c on our side. Had to freeze the one side out to cool the second side. not adequate for the size of room. fridge did not work. carpet was stained. Bathroom walls and door were not very clean in room 411. Rate of about 125 a night in March seemed high for a hiway motor inn.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leoburk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, IN
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2009

I always love a HIE! As expected, the bedding was especially nice and clean. The mattress was a little bouncy tho. No real complaints about anything, however. The manager checked me in when I arrived and was very friendly. And they had fresh baked cookies and clam chowder in the lobby in the early evening!

The location is very convenient, just 10 miles from the airport and right off I84. It would be an excellent place to stay if you are planning on touring the Columbia River Gorge.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 596Smokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troutdale
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Cascade Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portland East-Troutdale
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn Gresham
Quality Inn Gresham
#1 of 11 in Gresham
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Parkersville Inn & Suites
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland East
Hampton Inn Portland East
#14 of 142 in Portland
487 reviews
2.8 mi away
Camas Hotel
Camas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Camas
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway

Property: Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway
Address: 1000 Northwest Graham Road, Troutdale, OR 97060-9549 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Portland - East)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Troutdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Troutdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway! Our hotel is located 10 miles east of Portland International Airport at the gateway to the Columbia River Gorge National Scenic area featuring majestic Multnomah Falls. Activities and wonders abound in this land of rugged cliffs, sweeping vistas and cascading waterfalls. Start your morning out right with our complimentary hot breakfast including meat and eggs, biscuits and gravy, fresh waffles, plus a great selection of breads, cereals, muffins, yogurt, juice, and fruit. Spend your day hiking the Gorge, enjoying great food and shopping in Troutdale and on the river, or just relax and enjoy the day with a stroll by the Sandy River. Spend your evening wine tasting at McMenamin's Edgefield, featuring three restaurants with an onsite distillery, winery and a brewery. All of our guest rooms include a microwave, refrigerator, coffee-maker, and iron and board. We are a pet friendly facility and will be happy to give you directions to the best places to take the pup for a romp. Our pet friendly rooms are maintained to the same high standards as our pet free rooms. To keep you connected we offer free wireless high-speed Internet access and a business center in the lobby. Looking forward to having you in the house soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portland - East Hotel Troutdale
Holiday Inn Express Troutdale
Holiday Inn Troutdale
Troutdale Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing