We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quant but overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
McMenamins Edgefield
Certificate of Excellence
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“quant but overpriced”
Reviewed August 27, 2010

No doubt this place has character--from the artwork on the walls to the funky rooms, its full of it. Catch a concert or event and sit on the porch--awesome. Its also full of ants (they are STILL crawling out of my laptop when it warms up) and smells (fish? Sterno? who knows what?). I'm all for friendly and casual but it took THREE hours and THREE trips to the front desk to get a roll away bed that we requested at the time of our reservation. Add that to an out of the way location and this is just plain overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aichilik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    171
    69
    51
    31
See reviews for
112
273
25
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2010

I really enjoy the McMenamins properties, they have a historic bent to them and there is always something to do.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pkoonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2010

Ordinarily, I would not choose a place like Edgefield - communal bathrooms are not my style. However, I stayed here to celebrate a friend's birthday and really enjoyed the overall experience. Yes, like some others have noted, it's loud...but I still slept well at night. Breakfast at The Black Rabbit restaurant was tasty, the pool was fun, and we had great servers for the birthday dinner. Give it a try for a fun change of pace!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howdyapril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morden, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

LOVED this place and will return. It was hot when we were there and despite the no A/C, it was a small inconvenience for the charm and unique atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retiremeinGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2010

My husband and I stayed 3 nights for our daughter's wedding. Service at front desk and restaurants was very slow. Food was cold. Too many customers and not enough staff. The soaking pool was wonderful!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marymartha8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2010

We stayed at the Edgefield for our friend's wedding and had upgraded to one of the king suites (214) with it's own bathroom (we're not the communal kind of folks). While spacious, clean and interesting it lacked some of the key things that I think are neccessities- and we would ahve paid more for. Most noticeable- an iron & hairdryer. Given how many special events take place here, am surprised these are not better stocked.

Saying all of that, I would NEVER stay here again unless it was guaranteed that I wouldn't hear the cacophony of slamming doors from people leaving their rooms to go to the communal bathroom and then the slamming of the bathroom doors - all starting around 6:15 in the morning. Needless to say, I was hoping for a sleep in, a leisurley morning enjoying breakfast and the grounds- but instead we were so miserable from the slamming that we got in the car, drove back to the coast where we live and took a nap.

We did love the ambiance, great gift shop, bar downstairs but just don't stay in 214. That's all I can say.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheepssleeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Grove, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2010

There are few things about Edgefield that is not extraordinary. The Salts Bath at Rubys, the incredible plants, the friendly and helpful staff all combine to make the visit a memory that will be talked about in our family for generations.

Stayed June 2010
Helpful?
Thank Larryljones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troutdale
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cascade Inn & Suites
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portland East-Troutdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn Gresham
Quality Inn Gresham
#1 of 11 in Gresham
201 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland East
Hampton Inn Portland East
#15 of 141 in Portland
474 reviews
3.4 mi away
Camas Hotel
Camas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Camas
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McMenamins Edgefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McMenamins Edgefield

Property: McMenamins Edgefield
Address: 2126 SW Halsey St, Troutdale, OR 97060-1026
Location: United States > Oregon > Troutdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Troutdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — McMenamins Edgefield 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your McMenamins Edgefield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcmenamins Edgefield Or

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing