We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusual, memorable surroundings.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
McMenamins Edgefield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2014

This is the old Oregon-area housing for the indigent, so the updated rooms are not fancy. But the restaurants, bar, grounds, and artwork are worth the stay. The price is rather high, but you'll likely find your stay an interesting memory. Take an evening walk around the flower and vegetable gardens, smile at all the bunnies you'll witness, and relax with a good meal and drink.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a room with private bath, and if feasible stay in a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ernie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (679)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 679 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2014

As we have enjoyed McMenamins properties in the past, we decided to stay at Edgefield for one night at the end of our Oregon/Washington vacation. This was to be the highlight of our trip, "it's the best", we heard more than once, but it wasn't, our room was a huge disappointment.
Edgefield was impressive in other ways, we really enjoyed the wine tasting room with Julia the wine hostess, she was very pleasant and personable and a master at her job. We liked the soaking pool although we though we might have smelled chlorine in the water, it's been salt water at other McMenamins with soaking pools. We went to the Black Rabbit Restaurant for dinner, (we asked for a booth and were told they were all taken so we were seated at a table surrounded by at least 6 empty booths....) The salmon we had for dinner at the was absolutely the best ever, truly amazing, the cucumbers were scrumptious and different, the wine list was immense. Enjoying this so far, we thought.
The room, however, left us vowing to never come back. We are used to the bathrooms down the hall, we have no problem with that but on our floor at Edgefield, there were just two women's shower/toilet stalls for about 18 guest rooms, the Ladies Lounge was busy. Our room was big and spacious, but unlike the other four McMenamins we have stayed in, our room did not have a sink. There were two glasses in the room for water, but no sink and no water, it was back to the bathroom to fill the glass, there was an empty plastic ice bucket in the room but there was no ice machine, the bartenders are the source for ice and only when the bars are open. Our room did not have any sort of cooling/air conditioner and the only way to get cool air was to open a window which let in outside noise and bugs. And, like the other properties, there were no hair dryers in the rooms or in the bathroom, had to borrow one from the front desk. The worst part of this room was the bed, it was OLD, soft and very saggy, easily the WORST bed I have ever attempted to sleep in at any hotel ever, it was BAD. It was lumpy, creaky, we heard a spring pop as we laid there attempting to sleep, our back aches getting feeling worse by the minute. The sheets were not fitted and were too small, they came loose at the first turn, we stuck to them because of the heat. The bed was so uncomfortable and the room so hot, I ended up sleeping on the floor with just a blanket, my husband tossed and turned all night, we were miserable and exhausted the next day.
At check out, we were not asked if we had enjoyed our stay, if everything was ok, or if there were any problems, the clerk quietly and quickly took our money and that was that. I figured if she wasn't interested in our experience, then I would write about it here. Edgefield rooms are just bigger than other McMenamins, other wise they are more bare bones, they have fewer features instead of more and are definitely not worth the price.
My advise is to go to Edgefield and enjoy the wine tasting, the restaurant, check out the art, the grounds, the history and the building, then stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank analise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen C, Manager at McMenamins Edgefield, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Thank you for your kind words about our staff and our beautiful grounds. I'm so sorry your bed was uncomfortable. I've already emailed you personally regarding the bed. That bed is actually brand new, replaced in the last 6 months and so am not sure why it was uncomfortable. We'll definitely be looking into it as perhaps our vendor sent us a faulty new bed. We definitely don't want our guests to sleep on the floor. Due to the historical nature of our building we don't have sinks in all of our rooms, but do in some, guests who stay relatively often will request a room with a sink and so we certainly do what we can to make that happen.
Thanks again, I look forward to your response.
Owen Craig
McMenamins Edgefield
Hotel Manager
503.669.8610

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

If you are in the area -- you must stop here. Just the "Poor House" and grounds alone are worth a visit. It's gorgeous. And make sure you really look around inside the building - all the art work is amazing, plus all the little extra hidden art on the pipes and other places is really neat. the gift shop -- a must do. You can get their wine, beer and distillery items (still kicking myself for not buying more!). And we had dinner at the Black Rabbit. Probably the best salmon i've ever had - and a really awesome wine flight. (and Cider!). I really hope to get back there sometime and spend the night!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzib1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Staying at Edgefield is a unique experience. The rooms are clean and comfortable with good amenities, but this is an historic building so you need to keep that in mind. Most rooms do not have bathrooms. There is no TV or phone in the room. They do have free Wifi. Bring a set of ear plugs if you are a light sleeper - the walls are thin and the floors above creak.
A great place to stay if you like old historic buildings with great history.
The property also boast multiple restaurants, a brewery, a distillery and a winery. The spa and soaking pool alone are well worth the trip!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

This place is amazing! Literally everything you could want in one visit. They have a spa, restaurants, multiple bars, soaking pool, golf course etc. Be sure to read up on the history before you go! Don't be alarmed by the progression of white robed folks migrating north carrying drinks...they are headed to the soaking pool!

Room Tip: Some rooms have private baths. If this is important to you request it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I'll just put this out there first - I'm not a camper. Or a hosteler. I want my own bathroom! And maybe a TV....but really don't want to walk down the hall with my stuff to a communal bathroom. If you're good with that, definitely stay, because:

This is a very cool re-purposed historic building with huge rambling grounds where you can find wine-tasting, distillery, brewery, spa, really cool outdoor spa pool, firepits, small golf course, many cool little stand-alone bars and a decent restaurant. It really is a great place for a group (work, wedding, reunion, etc) because you can all go off and do different things, keep running into each other, hang out by the firepit..and never have to drive! They create art in every little piece of the building so it's like a funky museum where you keep noticing new touches.

There are a few rooms with en-suite baths, and mine was large, but it is more of a 'roughing it' location - and I was there for a work meeting so it wasn't for me. But the unique Oregon laid back resort-like location and activities were great!

I'm actually looking forward to trying another McMenamin's location for a non-work stay (and making sure I get a room with a bathroom ;))

Room Tip: Make sure you check to see what's outside your room window - if it's a hangout place there m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shezswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

One of the premier destinations here in the northwest for a one stop vacation. Two full up restaurants, a distillery, brewery and winery on site. Additionally a complete poolroom, spa, a nine hole putting course and my favorite a hot salt water soaking pool. Just can't beat this kind of amenities.

Room Tip: You can have your choice of a room with a bathroom or without. Without a bathroom saves you money an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troutdale
McMenamins Kennedy School
#34 of 146 in Portland
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#47 of 146 in Portland
304 reviews
The Society Hotel
#1 of 25 in Portland
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McMenamins Edgefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McMenamins Edgefield

Address: 2126 SW Halsey St, Troutdale, OR 97060-1026
Location: United States > Oregon > Troutdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Troutdale
Price Range: $42 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — McMenamins Edgefield 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your McMenamins Edgefield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcmenamins Edgefield Or

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing