We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Experience not to be Missed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
McMenamins Edgefield
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
411 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“An Experience not to be Missed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

There is so much to describe about this place it is hard to know where to start. From the wonderful historical building that has been repurposed into a warm and inviting hotel, to the grounds that include its own organic gardens, Par 3 golf course, more small and inviting pubs and bars than you might actually be able to find in one stroll around the property, its own brewpub, winery, and even a micro distillery! Its charming, inviting, unique, and incredibly affordable, on top of all its features, with a private suite coming in at only a $139/night. There is a private spa with fancy heated pool for every season, and with several restaurants to choose from, it makes an experience that you sure as all get out don't want to miss. No wonder people want to get married here and have all sorts of parties on the property!

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are with a shared bathroom, as the facility used to be a communal "poor house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    166
    69
    50
    31
See reviews for
109
266
24
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Albany, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We spent one night at Edgefield to kick off the kids' winter break. We especially enjoyed the soaking pool in the cold outdoors. We had fun eating pub pizza in the movie theater , and a cozy breakfast at the Black Rabbit. We all enjoyed the whimsical paintings on our walls and in public spaces.

Room Tip: Our room (41) was through the Black Rabbit restaurant and over the wine bar. We wondered how we'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oregonfamily_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen C, Manager at McMenamins Edgefield, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you so much for coming and bringing the whole Family. Glad you enjoyed the art work; we recently added several new panels down the wing you stayed in.
See you again!
Owen Craig
Edgefield Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

The Edgefield experience begins as soon as you start driving down the driveway towards the front door. The place is just so amazing. The soaking pool is huge, the rooms are simple and comfortable, the artwork is plentiful, and the opportunities are endless for greatness! Words can't express the true experience.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickleDayker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

This is the 2nd time my husband and I stayed here. We love it. So much to do and so relaxing. Nothing beats the saltwater wading pool. You don't miss not having a TV in your room and sharing the bathrooms is no big deal and better than you think it will be. Very friendly staff. Love this place!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, GA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

What a great property! Where do you even begin? Great rooms, the little red shed, strolling around the property, movies, taking an art walk through the halls, great food options, evening outdoor fires...I could go on, but it's something you'll need to experience yourself!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catalyst_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen C, Manager at McMenamins Edgefield, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for your great review!
Owen Craig
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Idaho
Level Contributor
441 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

We went to Edgefield for our yearly visit , all is well. We visited all the bars , watched a movie and than went to the great outdoor soaking pool! Wonderful !
We even went to the world famous little red shed for a cigar and Whiskey, gosh I love this place !
If you like off beat stuff , this is your place !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen C, Manager at McMenamins Edgefield, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
I love how you consider the Little Red Shed world famous. We 're not going to argue with that. Thank you so much for coming!
Owen Craig
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, Washington
Level Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

I stay here at least twice a year. There is a lot to do here you can watch a movie or just drink beer and walk around the grounds. The golf course is fun. I also like the large soaking tube. There is also a large pool hall in the basement. The food here is very good also, thers is a couple different places to eat on the grounds. I got married here several years ago also there is lots of rooms available for rent is you are planning something special.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the wine cellar, they are quieter then the rest of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troutdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hampton Inn Portland East
#15 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Camas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Camas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McMenamins Edgefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McMenamins Edgefield

Property: McMenamins Edgefield
Address: 2126 SW Halsey Street, Troutdale, OR 97060
Location: United States > Oregon > Troutdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Troutdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — McMenamins Edgefield 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your McMenamins Edgefield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcmenamins Edgefield Or

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing