We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stumbled onto a great place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of McMenamins Edgefield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
McMenamins Edgefield
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Stumbled onto a great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We were traveling through Portland and looking for something unique and found the McMenamins Edgefield, what a great place to explore! We ate lunch at the pub and had a glass of wine in the Rabbit lounge. What a great find, this place has so many different areas that you could stay for hours just wandering around looking, there are great places to eat, a par 3 golf course, the winery, distillery, hotel, orchard, garden, etc... We were fascinated by all the things to look at and do. There was also a hotel here also, but be forewarned this location used to be a poor county farm .... so it's not a 5 star luxury resort.... but it is a unique experience and very well kept. Lots of fun

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rbrown5305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    165
    68
    49
    31
See reviews for
106
264
24
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northbrook, IL
Level Contributor
119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

After spending three days/nights here for a wedding celebration, it's clear that most of the other reviews don't do justice to the place. It is absolutely unique in our experience . . . but with limitations you should be aware of before signing up. This is a sprawling, airy setting with pleasant surprises at every turn: an amazing soaking pool, spa, vineyards, vegetable gardens, fruit orchards, gold course, outdoor pub, brewery, winery, glass-blowing . . . the list goes on. Name-class music comes through weekly; there a daily outdoor screenings of top movies. A whisky-bar, too, in a setting that's right out of "The Hobbit" . . . and more. The wall / door decorations are all original and handpainted . . . a collection of quirky art that would make for a separate street fair. We wandered the corridors taking it all in. Downside? This is a re-purposed poor farm / old folks home: not all rooms have baths (dorm style for those without), lots of creaky wood floors, no air conditioning, lots of stairways. Grounds can be noisome into late evening, depending on the bass-level of outdoor concerts. But service and amenities were pretty much right on. Food is good, not exceptional. Only flaw that bothered us was wait staff: one surly lady seemed to deliberately delay a simple breakfast order when we requested a speedy turnaround to make another appointment; one lunch never got delivered to us . . . we simply finished our drinks and left after no food arrived after 40 minutes; waitress vanished as well.

Room Tip: Be aware of communal toilets/showers for many rooms . . . if you want in-room flushing, ask for it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TightLine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraga, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

This a good alternative to Portland Downtown Hotels. It is a nice place to chill and get away from it all. While it is a very creative transformation of a former "County poor Farm" for elderly and mentally challenged folk, it does need work. Most of the rooms share common Men and Women bathrooms, so be sure to ask if this bothers you. We stayed in the bottom floor of the Administrator's House, which had it's own bath, but it really needs to be remodeled, very dingy! Bedding and towels need upgrading. Extremely dark throughout, need to upgrade lighting. Very interesting framed pieces and artwork painted directly on doors and walls, which remind you the spirits of yesterday are not far away. The porches on three sides of the main building are a great place to relax in numerous rocking chairs which emphasizes the relaxed atmosphere of the property. There is a wonderful herb garden, fun for all ages, mulitiple spots to enjoy the many choices of beer and wine, several craft shops with live artists doing their thing and a small pitch and putt golf course. The Little Red Shed, is a whimical favorite hang out, where spirits and cigars are offered. It is something right out of fairy tale and stands almost hidden in a beautiful stand of trees. The grove has soft string lights at night, with a fine fire pit and free live music in summer. It leads the way to the Summer Concert Venue, which seems to have an impressive line up of music, We saw Pink Martini, which turned out to be an wonderful intimate concert with great sound. The restaurants all need work, and are very sporatic. We were here for three days and ate at the Black Rabbit Restaurant mulitiple times. Service being the main complaint, some food quite good and some aweful. The Power Station is totally understaffed, looking like a hurricane hit it by 8:30pm. There is also Ruby Spa on the premises with quite nice facilities.

Room Tip: Most room share baths...this is a fun place with many atrributes,but the "Average rating"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ggtandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camas, Washington
Level Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We had a recent visit for a B-day celebration and what a beautiful place! There is so much history , fantastic amenities & gorgeous outdoor space to enjoy...you don't even need to leave the property. Very unique, lush & peaceful place. There is something there for everyone to enjoy, whether it be relaxing at the spa, golf or watching a movie! My favorite thing about this place is that the whole property is "Pet Free"! That means that you can enjoy all the grounds without worrying about having to listen to someones dog barking or (God forbid) step in something! LOL! We love that!! ♥

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaMacAttack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser Valley
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

My family stumbled upon the McMenamins' properties via first eating in their Portland restaurants. We saw the brochure for Edgefield at the Crystal Ballroom in downtown Portland, and decided to stop for a beer there enroute to the beautiful Multnomah Falls east of town. This property was once a retirement home, and the McMenamins group restored the beautiful lodge and surrounding buildings. We decided we would like to try a stay there, so booked in for two of the hotel's packages (they pair wine and food with the stay). Now Edgefield wouldn't be everyone's cup of tea; there are NO TELEVISION SETS! Even in the gastronomic pubs scattered on the property! So no CNN or SportsNet blaring the latest games or newscasts of the latest scandals or car crashes. We found it very relaxing - we didn't realize how nice it was to be without all that white noise going on! The food and service was 5-star, both in the main restaurant, the Black Rabbit, and in the other pubs. There is a winery, a microbrewery, and a distillery on the property, as well as a spa and a little putting golf course. They really thought of everything for face-to-face family fun. There are even artisans such as glass-blowers on the property. The winery tasting room manages to be both efficient and intimate, and the sommelier personable and knowledgeable. The outdoor mineral pool was a delight! The guest rooms are decorated with the images of their former tenants, as well as having their history described on the walls of the rooms - this gives the place a funky sense of history. There is no air conditioning in them, either, but our room was cool even in 30 Celsius weather, and we had a window fan. It felt like staying at Grandma's with the old-fashioned bed comforter and antique furniture. Also, we discovered no end of eclectic reading material in the library lounges - from Victorian boys' adventure tales to Greek philosophers. So if you need your TV, video games, and other modern distractions, don't stay here. But if you like good food, peaceful surroundings, craft beer and small-batch spirits and wines, this place will refresh your soul. Grab a pint of cold Ruby Ale or a glass of Hogshead Whiskey, plant yourself in an Adirondack chair on one of the breezy porches or balconies, and relax.

Room Tip: The packages only come with queen beds, so if you need a king, you wouldn't be able to book for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank morkula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen C, Manager at McMenamins Edgefield, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your detailed and lovely review. I hope we see you again and again.
Owen Craig
Edgefield Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Our family goes to Edgefield every Chirstmas for a few days. The room rates are great and it's a wonderful place to make home for a weekend. We sit in our slippers playing games in a common area, take a walk in the snow through the grounds, catch a flick at the cinema, dine at one of the restaurants and bars, sip wine in the winery, hit the spa... so much to do! You can have a vacation close to town without even leaving the property.

The beds aren't the most comfortable, so I'd suggest at least bringing your favorite pillow along!

Room Tip: All the rooms have a story. I suggest coming back and getting to know a new room each time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennphonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen C, Manager at McMenamins Edgefield, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Hi Jennphonic,
Thanks for your review and for staying with us. We are in the process of replacing all mattresses, 90 % of them are new, but we have some that we're still updating.
Thanks again, glad you enjoyed your time.
Owen Craig
Edgefield Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Friends from Washington drove down and met me here (I'm from SF Bay Area) and we stayed for four nights, then went away to camp around Mt. Hood, and I came back for another night while my friends left for WA. I love this place. Love the art work, found a salmon sandwich in the Power Station restaurant that I had every day, love the gardens, love wandering around and looking for art. Everyone on staff was so unfailingly helpful and kind, from freezing cold packs for my cooler for me, to offering to help with jumper cables when my battery died while we were off camping, to helping with outlets in the bar so I could use my computer, to getting replacement box fans for the ones that died in the women's hostel. It's a magical, fabulous place.

Walking to the bathrooms wasn't a big deal, it's a lot nicer than having to walk to a bathroom in a campground! Oddly enough, given that none of the rooms have bathrooms, there was never a time when there was not a free bathroom/shower. I was very impressed with the quality of the workmanship in the bathrooms, and really, everywhere. The tile, glass doors, fixtures are all of the best quality, and the contractor's work is excellent. There is nothing remotely funky about how well this place is run. Everyone is provided with terry bathmats, towels, and a robe (or ask for one).

I was staying in the hostel (my friends were in the "haunted" room, which they report was 100% a normal room) and it was ungodly hot up there in the late afternoon thanks to a July heatwave. The only lower bunk available when I got there was in the back corner where there is no window and no natural light or air travels around the corner. It was a steambox, but luckily, I was the only one fooling around with the box fans to pull cool air in and move it around the corner, and -- thank my contractor ex for my knowledge on this -- I had the place so cooled down by midnight that all of us were using a blanket with our sheets and only one fan ran, on low, in the window, so the hostel was quiet all night as well.

My second stay in the hostel, there were two women who wouldn't talk to me about cooling, who wanted exclusively to have one fan blow on them personally all night long. That isn't how to move cool air around - that's only blowing hot air around. So, the hostel was hot and the fans were nnoyingly loud all night long. If I ran the zoo, I'd put signs up next to the window to educate people how to move cool air into a room and around inside it, and how to close the windows in the early morning to keep the cool air in. But maybe that's too much, I don't know.

Room Tip: The price was right on the hostel. I usually camp while traveling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Javacat_Calif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troutdale
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
McMenamins Kennedy School
#34 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Camas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Camas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McMenamins Edgefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McMenamins Edgefield

Property: McMenamins Edgefield
Address: 2126 SW Halsey Street, Troutdale, OR 97060
Location: United States > Oregon > Troutdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Troutdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — McMenamins Edgefield 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your McMenamins Edgefield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcmenamins Edgefield Or

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing