We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much to do”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
McMenamins Edgefield
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
184 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“So much to do”
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

This was our 1st time here and we didn't quite make it to all of the bars on the grounds, but we hit enough to have a great time.

We at a catered dinner in the Attic, which was ok food. My favorite spot was the Garcia themed bar. Nice cozy potbelly stove going very small and relaxed atmosphere. The pool hall was also nice bigger but a max of like 90 people so not all of our group could get in since it was already crowded. Its $5/hr for pool balls. They also have darts and shuffelboard.

There is something to look at everywhere you turn. A face drawn on the emergency fire sprinkle pipes or the stained glass. Art is up and down every wall.

We stayed in THE BRIDGE OF THE GODS room. It even has a painting of The Gorge on the inside of The bathroom door. We are right above the winery & have a good view if you look over the parking lot.

The biscuits and gravy were huge! And they have an excellent bloody Mary to get your morning started

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anilif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    171
    69
    51
    31
See reviews for
112
273
25
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
236 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stopped at Edgefield to have a quick bite on our way to Portland Airport to pick someone up, and to catch up on a football game. It appeared to us, the only place to watch live TV was in the pool hall, but after a few minutes, other patrons playing pool got the TV volume turned off. We had a small pizza which had too many olives on it, and for @$10 was a bit pricey. We like going to the various McMenamin's locations, this one being their flagship property.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

A small group of us recently stayed at the McMenamin’s Edgefield Hotel in Troutdale, just outside of Portland, Oregon. This historic place was once a poor farm that subsisted on its own farming. When the depression came the guest rooms were made even smaller, most with bathroom facilities down the hall. During the 40’s it became a nursing home and through the 70’s a wave of artwork upon the door, walls and walkways appeared. In the 80’s the grounds were deserted, but in the early 90’s, the new owners Mike and Brian, renovated every building on the property. They began planting vineyards which required a winery, then a brewery which required a pub, a movie theater, flower and herb gardens, and added many options for the visitor: a glass blower, potter’s shop, restaurants, and a distillery. At Edgefield it is the blending of its artistic features and its history that make this place one that people keep coming back to. It was the locals that had called our attention to it, several years earlier.

The first time we stayed there several years ago, we took a room in the Lodge. It was fortunate that we had been told ahead of time that there were a very limited number of en suite rooms with a bathroom included, the majority of the 100-rooms being dubbed “European-style.” This does not mean European quaint, just rooms without a bathtub or shower, sink or toilet. There are only a few rooms with king size beds with bathrooms. Most are rooms with singles, doubles or queens and a shared bathroom down the hall. The pictures of some rooms on the website are lovely, but few rooms look like that. All are very different. There are also no telephones or televisions in the rooms. One is supposed to keep busy outside of the room, eating, drinking, or otherwise spending money on the premises.

When we arrived this time in the autumn, we were amazed at even more additions, a golf course with driving range, an amphitheater and a spa pool. We were also amazed at how crowded it had become. More parking lots had filled up the landscape, but also seemed that more plants and trees had also been added. The second time we were there was a busy one. But that’s good. A true test of how a place is managed is when experiencing it under pressure. All that is left to discover in the end is who was being tested more. This time we rented the house just to one side of the Lodge, called the Administrator’s Cottage. This is a large house with a downstairs living room, dining room, kitchen and one en suite room. On the second floor are four more rooms that share one bathroom. On the top floor is one large room with a king-size bed and windows on both sides, but also shares that same bathroom downstairs.

We arrived in mid-afternoon because you cannot check in before 3:00 pm. We got the keys, though only two front door keys to the cottage were given for six rooms within, which caused us to coordinate with our group just so we could get in. As we were checking out the cottage, we discovered that three of the five lamps in the living room did not work. We checked all switches, plugs and light bulbs. Shaking the bulbs let us know that the lamps simply needed new light bulbs. We called the front desk and asked for three light bulbs to be sent over. A young man arrived, checked all the lights, just as we had, and said that he would be back with light bulbs. He never returned. Because we had so many people staying in this large house, and we had evening events where we would need the extra light, we called the front desk and again asked for them. They didn’t come. We even had two different people go to the front desk and face to face ask for them again. Not even then did we get a response. We thought about swapping light bulbs from another part of the house, but everyone needed them for their own rooms. So we put purchased candles out and burned them in our living room, which actually lend a much more pleasant atmosphere.

The next afternoon after our business meetings, we arrived back at our rented house and found a wedding party in our private side yard taking pictures. We waited for a little bit giving them some time, but after twenty minutes we felt that the addition of more and more of the wedding party was getting out of hand. We finally had to tell them that a private party had rented the house and yard for our own events and they would need to leave. They were surprised that the whole of the grounds were not theirs to use.Then when we went into the house, we realized that none of rooms in the house had been cleaned. We had to call the front desk to get fresh towels. A housekeeper did arrive, but she only made the beds and did not clean the bathrooms or even empty the trash cans.

That evening there was a large concert at the hotel's outside performance bowl, which sits off to one side of the property. And it is a good thing, because even with that distance the music still carried pretty loudly to our guesthouse. Fortunately it ended about 11:00 pm. In addition, because of their on-site brewery, winery and distillery, there is an unusually high amount of people walking around quite sloshed. It seemed there was some on-site patrol walking around, but that did not dissuade people from the concert, not staying at the hotel, from wondering around adding to the noise and disturbing the sleeping patrons who were staying there.

Even though Edgefield has a lot going for it, we were dismayed at their growth without an equally proportionate attention to service. If you are looking for a quiet get away or a hotel for business it is not here, but if you want a party atmosphere it is.

Room Tip: Recommendations: book way ahead and get a room with a King bed that has a bathroom in the room. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lutea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We attended an party at Edgefield and stayed over one night. It is an interesting property with great venues for parties. The place was essentially a dormitory for the "poor farm" and while it has been modernized and renovated, it retains much of it's original character and style. The paint and fixtures are fun and funky and there are many different places for food and beer. The rooms are not luxurious and our room shared a bathroom at the end of the hall. Not something I would opt for, if I had a choice. But everything worked and it was very clean and functional. The walls are very thin and you can hear every conversation being had in your wing, so light sleepers beware.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BUsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
168 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We were here on a gorgeous day in Oregon, we sat outside and enjoyed their delicious food! Good variety, the beer was great as well. Only problem was that there was a lot of bees outside, kind of attacking our food...a little stressful!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jb2186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
847 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 401 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

First of all, this is an old historical property, so forget all the modern hotel stuff: no TV no phone. Old decor and dark rooms. Some of the hallways even smelled funny. Once you get over that, enjoy the history of this place.

Each room is unique. We stayed at the Professor John Murphy room. It had its own bathroom, not down the hall. Huge king bed room, lots of light.

We enjoyed the Black Rabbit restaurant, the Power House the Winery, golf course, pool hall, used the pool/spa, watched a movie with dinner, watch glass blower work. So many fun things to do, a great place to spend the weekend with friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brown_Samantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
176 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This was our last stop in the Portland area, close to the airport and full of the usual MaMenamin's amenities. The receptionists were friendly and helpful. Our room was on the opposite end of the building from the spa and soaking pool. Therefore, it was quieter than those by the spa - less traffic.

The room was spacious, clean and complimented with the usual whimsical artwork. There was no sink in this room. Our shared bathrooms were steps away from our room. The bathrooms were clean and rather roomy.

My wife enjoyed a visit to the spa while I soaked in the heated pool. The only negative may be the walk from our room through the cool and misty-rained open air in our bathrobes. There are no lockers for the pool area, so take only what you need. Enjoy the soaking pool with a drink from the pool-side bar.

We ate dinner at the main restaurant - Black Rabbit. We were warned that the service would be slow. It was. The meal was very good, though. We followed dinner with a visit to the billiard room and a quick walk of the outbuildings.

The grounds are enormous, with vineyards, golf course and several buildings housing a distillery, a wine tasting room, a second restaurant, theater, a fire-pit for evening gatherings and, of course, the spa and soaking pool.

This was the third of our "McMenamin's property tour" during our stay in the Portland area. Of the three, this one seems a little less cozy - due solely to the expansiveness of the property. We would have liked to explore the area better; but we were at the end of our long weekend. Maybe more time during our next visit. And we will re-visit.

Room Tip: Rooms at the far end from the soaking pool-side seemed quieter due to less foot traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TreadLightAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troutdale
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cascade Inn & Suites
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portland East-Troutdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn Gresham
Quality Inn Gresham
#1 of 11 in Gresham
201 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland East
Hampton Inn Portland East
#15 of 141 in Portland
474 reviews
3.4 mi away
Camas Hotel
Camas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Camas
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McMenamins Edgefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McMenamins Edgefield

Property: McMenamins Edgefield
Address: 2126 SW Halsey St, Troutdale, OR 97060-1026
Location: United States > Oregon > Troutdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Troutdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — McMenamins Edgefield 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your McMenamins Edgefield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcmenamins Edgefield Or

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing