We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not too bad” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Portland East-Troutdale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Portland East-Troutdale
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Troutdale
South Mississippi
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not too bad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

All of the staff was friendly except for the little Australian boy. Dominique is an absolute professional. My room was really nice. It even had a phone for the toilet. LOL! Very quiet. My only complaint is the breakfast. It was worse than sucked. The GM should have to eat it if he is going to serve it to his customers. NASTY

Room Tip: Remember, upgrades are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBigDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    42
    19
    14
    13
See reviews for
39
27
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
cleveland oh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great location. Right at beginning of Columbia River Gorge. Friendly staff. Very clean rooms.
Great breakfast. Alot of walkable dinner options and the outlet mall next door was fabulous.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gigizabuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tacoma
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We rented a room for 2 nights. Coldn't recomend higher! Staff was wonderful very friendly and helpful. Rooms we're clean. everything was very nice, didn't care for the hot selections for breakfast (turkey ham and powdered eggs).

Room Tip: Easy to miss the turn, turn in at Sherri's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellyro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

These guys may be the most friendly hotel staff I've encountered. From my first phone call to when I drop off the key cards they were cheerful and helpful - everyone including the maintenance guys and maids. A++ for that!

Our room was reasonably clean with comfortable beds. The only problem I had was the old rusty iron, which the hotel promptly replaced when I asked for another one.

The breakfast was the only real negative here. The pancake tasted rubbery and the cheese omelette tasted processed. Might want to pass on this breakfast if you can afford the time to eat at a better place. I was actually looking forward to the waffles, but apparently the chain got rid of it because it was creating too much of a mess. Now they have an automatic pancake machine.

***TIP: the hotel entrance is difficult to spot. Look for the Shari's restaurant and make a right at its sign. If you miss this you'll have to go all the way around again because it's on a one way street!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank crengo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed one night on our way to the Oregon coast. It is close to a premium outlet mall (not a very good one), and is minutes from the Columbia Gorge. The breakfas was pretty good, and the staff were great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thundanutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
98 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Very friendly staff. good, clean hotel. Lots of parking. right off of I-84 East of Portland. Excellent place for doing tourist stuff like Columbia River Gorge, or even jumping off to a Mt. Hood trip.

close to a few restaurants and fast food places, gas stations as well.

Breakfast, room value, and quietness all about average, no better or worse than other Holiday Inn Express hotels, althought the staff is definitely a notch above.

Room Tip: Truck stops are in the area, but are far away enough to not be noisy in the hotel. It sits a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Midwestbiztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

As I walked into my room I was surprising amazed with the cleanliness and modern design. The included breakfast was awesome omlettes, scrabbled eggs. Bacon, ham and a machine that makes fresh pancakes. This was a great place to stay. The pool not being in operation for the four nights we were there was a disappointment.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J-n29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troutdale
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cascade Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn Gresham
Quality Inn Gresham
#1 of 11 in Gresham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Camas Hotel
Camas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Camas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland East
Hampton Inn Portland East
#12 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
2.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Gresham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Portland East-Troutdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portland East-Troutdale

Property: Holiday Inn Express Portland East-Troutdale
Address: 477 NW Phoenix Drive, Troutdale, OR 97060 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Troutdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Troutdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Portland East-Troutdale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off I-84 and within minutes from downtown Portland, The Columbia River Gorge, Portland International Airport, Multnomah Falls, The Sandy River and Bonneville Dam. Outdoor enthusiasts will appreciate the wide variety of hiking, biking, camping, hunting and fishing. Experience luxurious accommodations and a plethora of amenities such as a complimentary hot breakfast buffet featuring signature hot items served daily, indoor pool, whirlpool, business center, fitness area, wireless high speed internet access and meeting space that can comfortable accommodate up to 100 people. Historic Troutdale is nestled off the Sandy River and within a short distance from Gresham, Oregon. Located at the gateway of the Columbia Gorge, we are centrally located between Vancouver, Mt. Hood, The Dalles, Hood River, as well as the Oregon Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portland East-Troutdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Troutdale
Troutdale Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing