We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cascade dog sled club”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Portland East-Troutdale
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Troutdale
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We rented a room for 2 nights. Coldn't recomend higher! Staff was wonderful very friendly and helpful. Rooms we're clean. everything was very nice, didn't care for the hot selections for breakfast (turkey ham and powdered eggs).

Room Tip: Easy to miss the turn, turn in at Sherri's.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kellyro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Portland East-Troutdale
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 134 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2012

These guys may be the most friendly hotel staff I've encountered. From my first phone call to when I drop off the key cards they were cheerful and helpful - everyone including the maintenance guys and maids. A++ for that!

Our room was reasonably clean with comfortable beds. The only problem I had was the old rusty iron, which the hotel promptly replaced when I asked for another one.

The breakfast was the only real negative here. The pancake tasted rubbery and the cheese omelette tasted processed. Might want to pass on this breakfast if you can afford the time to eat at a better place. I was actually looking forward to the waffles, but apparently the chain got rid of it because it was creating too much of a mess. Now they have an automatic pancake machine.

***TIP: the hotel entrance is difficult to spot. Look for the Shari's restaurant and make a right at its sign. If you miss this you'll have to go all the way around again because it's on a one way street!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank crengo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed one night on our way to the Oregon coast. It is close to a premium outlet mall (not a very good one), and is minutes from the Columbia Gorge. The breakfas was pretty good, and the staff were great.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thundanutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Very friendly staff. good, clean hotel. Lots of parking. right off of I-84 East of Portland. Excellent place for doing tourist stuff like Columbia River Gorge, or even jumping off to a Mt. Hood trip.

close to a few restaurants and fast food places, gas stations as well.

Breakfast, room value, and quietness all about average, no better or worse than other Holiday Inn Express hotels, althought the staff is definitely a notch above.

Room Tip: Truck stops are in the area, but are far away enough to not be noisy in the hotel. It sits a little...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Midwestbiztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

As I walked into my room I was surprising amazed with the cleanliness and modern design. The included breakfast was awesome omlettes, scrabbled eggs. Bacon, ham and a machine that makes fresh pancakes. This was a great place to stay. The pool not being in operation for the four nights we were there was a disappointment.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J-n29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Made it to Portland after 13 hours on the road and stayed here. The room was adequate and the pool and hot tub felt good after all day in the car.

The breakfast was not so great, I had better at other HIE. Okay for a single night but would probably look elsewhere in the area if passing through again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland East-Troutdale, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Dear Scott H,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. I am pleased that you liked your room accommodation and our pool facility. I am sorry that breakfast did not live up to your expectations. Our hotel is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Thoroughly impressed! Greeted with a big smile by a professional, friendly and helpful front desk clerk. Soup and cookies in the lobby upon arrival. Spotlessly cleaned room, beautifully decorated with granite counter tops, dark wood furnishings, flat screen TV. Two very comfortable beds. This was day six in a hotel on a cross country road trip. The rooms averaged from $80-$95 per night, with two small, well-behaved dogs. Without a doubt, this hotel was 100% better than all other hotels in every regard! I'm sold on Comfort Inn from this one visit alone. Very pleased. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troutdale
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Cascade Inn & Suites
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn Gresham
Quality Inn Gresham
#1 of 11 in Gresham
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland East
Hampton Inn Portland East
#19 of 144 in Portland
508 reviews
2.9 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#5 of 11 in Gresham
94 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Parkersville Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Portland East-Troutdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portland East-Troutdale

Address: 477 NW Phoenix Dr, Troutdale, OR 97060-9564 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Troutdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Troutdale
Price Range: $118 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Portland East-Troutdale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off I-84 and within minutes from downtown Portland, The Columbia River Gorge, Portland International Airport, Multnomah Falls, The Sandy River and Bonneville Dam. Outdoor enthusiasts will appreciate the wide variety of hiking, biking, camping, hunting and fishing. Experience luxurious accommodations and a plethora of amenities such as a complimentary hot breakfast buffet featuring signature hot items served daily, indoor pool, whirlpool, business center, fitness area, wireless high speed internet access and meeting space that can comfortable accommodate up to 100 people. Historic Troutdale is nestled off the Sandy River and within a short distance from Gresham, Oregon. Located at the gateway of the Columbia Gorge, we are centrally located between Vancouver, Mt. Hood, The Dalles, Hood River, as well as the Oregon Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portland East-Troutdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Troutdale
Troutdale Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing