We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent cocktails and great view”
Review of Timberline Lodge

Timberline Lodge
Book In Advance
More Info
$211.10*
and up
Private Tour: Mt Hood and Columbia River Gorge Day Trip from Portland
More Info
$139.00*
and up
Small Group: Columbia River Gorge Waterfalls and Mt Hood Day Tour from Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Ridgway
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent cocktails and great view”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We visited on a sunny Saturday when it seemed half of Oregon also had a similar idea to visit the lodge. We went just to see the lodge and have a toddy in the upstairs bar. We waited a little while for seating to become available and then sat looking at the mountain. Drinks were pricey but well done. We enjoyed just relaxing and taking in the view.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank LazyCatRidgway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    68
    19
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun for all”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

ALthough we were only there for a short while (2 hours) we had a great time. We arrived too late to try our hands at skiing but my husband and son were able to ride the ski lift, stop and throw snowballs (we live in Florida where snowballs are non existent) and ride back down to the lodge. I took the opportunity to stroll through the lodge. The restaurant on the second floor is a bit pricey but the food very good. We will make it a point to visit again when we have more time to explore.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank diane b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida, Usa
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Take the tour!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My mom and I stopped here on a recent girl's trip to Oregon. The lodge was built in the '30s as part of Roosevelt's WPA program and is absolutely stunning. To make sure you fully appreciate this amazing place, take the free tour given by one of the US Forest Service rangers. They have great stories and will point out things that could be easily missed on your own. This is still a working hotel and ski area, so they have a day lodge, a gift shop, a couple of cozy bars and a grand dining room. The Pacific Crest Trail crosses right behind the lodge, giving visitors easy access and an opportunity to hike a part of this historic trail that runs from Mexico to Canada. If you go in the winter and the lodge looks hauntingly familiar, it is because they used Timberline for the outside shots of the hotel in The Shining. This is a must stop!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lavonne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
410 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Great stop on the mt hood scenic route”
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

We were leaving Hood River for Portland and decided to take the scenic route. We hit a few stands on the fruit loop and stopped here for lunch. The lodge is incredible. What amazing construction from the Depression Era. The lobby museum is worth visiting just to watch the videos. We had a nice lunch on the mezzanine of local cheese and meats and then took a little walk outside. The mt views are beautiful. With Jack Nicholson retiring this week it was a timely visit to the site of The Shining.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank NCtravelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aloha, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Amazing depression-ira construction”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Built during the depression by what were considered unskilled labors, Timberline lodge has withstood the test of time in a fairly hostile environment.

Lots of snow and wind, as well as a fairly busy tourist crowd.

If you're in the area, it's a must-see destination.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Udoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Timberline Lodge also viewed

Government Camp, Clackamas County
 
Government Camp, Clackamas County
Timberline Lodge, Clackamas County
 

Been to Timberline Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing