We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding national park-type lodge experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Timberline Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Timberline Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding national park-type lodge experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Timberline is an outstanding national park-type lodge that speaks well of years gone by and what was accomplished during the Depression to build such a magnificent lodge. Yes the rooms are small and you might hear noise in the hallway and it's not cheap, but if you enjoy the national park lodge experience that wreaks of history in a spectacular setting - you won't be disappointed with Timberline.

First - the setting on the side of Mt. Hood speaks for itself - beautiful snow-capped peak with great views from the lodge lobby and patio. The view is wonderful and watching skiers and climbers on the upper slopes is pretty cool. Second, the construction is magnificent considering it was largely built by hand using locally available materials during the Depression in a relatively short period of time. The related history displays throughout the lodge are well worth the time to check out. The main lobby is spectacular with soaring ceilings and timbers surrounding a beautiful multi-sided rock fireplace. It is truly an inviting place to sit and read, gaze at Mt. Hood or visit or have a drink. We also enjoyed the outdoor hot tub, pool and sauna.

Our room was small and there were noisy people in the hallway early one morning. But sound proof rooms are not expected in an old historic place like Timberline - so that did not take away from our experience. We'd highly recommend Timberline for those who enjoy the national park-type lodges and don't mind paying a little more for the experience.

The main restaurant is excellent but expensive. You can get a good meal in the bar restaurant at a much lower cost and also get a great view of Mt. Hood.

Room Tip: I'd suggest getting the largest room that you can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    278
    83
    54
    20
See reviews for
257
409
34
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

I've been going to Timberline Lodge for over 30 years. The service is exceptional, the food is 5-star dinning, and the atmosphere is one of relaxation and adventure!

We stayed over the 4th of July weekend and had a blast. We tried out their new picnic lunch option and it was delicious and appreicated on our lunch break during our 10 mile wilderness hike. Please keep this service, along with the s'mores at night and the star gazing party -which was awesome!!!

Funny story: Last year, we spent the first night of our honeymoon at Timberline and I forgot my wedding dress upon check-out. I realized my mistake one week later. I called in a panic and they were keeping it safe for me. Drove up the following weekend to retrieve my dress and we stayed for dinner.

LOVE. LOVE. LOVE Timberline!

See you this winter

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank schaubj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Down to every single detail, this hotel was phenomenal. One of the most amazing places we've stayed at in the US. We both wish we could live here full time!!!! If even for one night, do yourself a favor and book a room. The food was great, cocktails even better. The views were majestic. The outdoor heated pool was the best!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boots215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

The grandness of this lodge has always facinated me. From the historical factors to the grand views and location, this lodge is the perfect getaway to see snow year round. The heated pool, the comfortable rooms, the great food and the amazing beers, are just some of the things that the lodge has to offer. You have several runs to ski from as well. They have packages to fit every budget and every age individual. Take your cameras as you would not want to miss some of the amazing views and sceneries that you can take great photos for great memories. The staff was very accomodating with my requests. I asked for a room with a view to celebrate my anniversary and they were able to complete my wish along with a complimentary bottle of wine to accompany our celebrations. Make sure to be prepared with winter clothes and waterproof shoes if you intend to walk on the snow. This place is a must on any bucket list.
If you intend on having meals at the hotel pre-pay for them online. It was cheaper to do that than to wait and pay there.
Also, you must try their oatmeal brew beer from their Mt. Hood brewery. It is AMAZING! So are their many different hot cocoa's.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the mountain. You might get lucky and see the summit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyingchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denham Springs, Louisiana
Level Contributor
774 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Lodge is majestic and wonderful, very historic. Certainly caters to the snow crowd, but what else should they do? Bar on the 2nd floor was great to relax in. Meals were very good and have good variety. The scenery is fantastic. The ONLY downside was the price. Staff was very helpful and accommodating. Rooms were clean, but small.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank LSUTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
163 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Just spent a night at timberline lodge where history and craftsmanship are inspiring. Staff was great but that is not the reason you go here. It was cold and rainy with snow on the ground but worth every minute exploring the lodge. Of course the winter sports fans were enjoying the snow. Could not stop appreciating the craftsmanship and timelessness of this special place.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank scott s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful, comfortable, and affordable! The service & staff were amazing, and very friendly. I really appreciate the privacy and comfort we had, it was like a home away from home. Being right across the street from the Lake was also a huge plus. Beautiful sceneries all around.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timberline Lodge
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn
BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn
#1 of 2 in Government Camp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
24.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn
12.3 mi away
Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Sandy Salmon Bed & Breakfast
13.9 mi away
Mt Hood Village RV Resort
15.5 mi away
No photo provided
Salmon River Inn
#1 of 2 in Brightwood
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timberline Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timberline Lodge

Property: Timberline Lodge
Address: 27500 E Timberline Rd, Timberline Lodge, OR 97028-9709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Timberline Lodge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Timberline Lodge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Timberline Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Declared a National Historic Landmark in 1977, Timberline Lodge is one of Oregon's most popular tourist attractions, drawing nearly two million visitors every year. Considered an architectural wonder, it's still being used for its original intent-a magnificent ski lodge and mountain retreat for all to enjoy. Timberline Lodge is filled with amazing spaces that beg enjoyment. The main headhouse lobby features three fireplaces at the base of a 90 foot chimney. The outdoor patios offer the most stunning views in Oregon. The outdoor pool is heated and open year round. With so many places to explore all under one roof, you'll feel as if the Lodge is an extension of your guest room. Each room in Timberline Lodge has a unique rustic elegance, yet a modern and comfortable feel. All rooms have period furnishings, artwork and decor. Enjoy fresh powder feather beds, the year 'round heated pool, spa and sauna. Rooms range from premier fireplace rooms to European style bunk rooms. Regardless of which room suits you best, they all share an authentic sense of place found only in one of the Historic Hotels of America. Timberline offers the longest ski season in North America. The winter season typically begins early to mid-November and continues through Memorial Day. Our Palmer Express high-speed quad lift allows us to operate later into the summer season than anyone else (usually through Labor Day). Many years, we're open for fall skiing as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Agoda, Jetsetter and Despegar.com so you can book your Timberline Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timberline Hotel Timberline Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing