We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best great lodges in the country”
Review of Timberline Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Timberline Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2014

I've been going to Timberline Lodge for over 30 years. The service is exceptional, the food is 5-star dinning, and the atmosphere is one of relaxation and adventure!

We stayed over the 4th of July weekend and had a blast. We tried out their new picnic lunch option and it was delicious and appreicated on our lunch break during our 10 mile wilderness hike. Please keep this service, along with the s'mores at night and the star gazing party -which was awesome!!!

Funny story: Last year, we spent the first night of our honeymoon at Timberline and I forgot my wedding dress upon check-out. I realized my mistake one week later. I called in a panic and they were keeping it safe for me. Drove up the following weekend to retrieve my dress and we stayed for dinner.

LOVE. LOVE. LOVE Timberline!

See you this winter

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schaubj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,036)
There are newer reviews for Timberline Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

629 - 635 of 1,036 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2014

Down to every single detail, this hotel was phenomenal. One of the most amazing places we've stayed at in the US. We both wish we could live here full time!!!! If even for one night, do yourself a favor and book a room. The food was great, cocktails even better. The views were majestic. The outdoor heated pool was the best!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boots215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

The grandness of this lodge has always facinated me. From the historical factors to the grand views and location, this lodge is the perfect getaway to see snow year round. The heated pool, the comfortable rooms, the great food and the amazing beers, are just some of the things that the lodge has to offer. You have several runs to ski from as well. They have packages to fit every budget and every age individual. Take your cameras as you would not want to miss some of the amazing views and sceneries that you can take great photos for great memories. The staff was very accomodating with my requests. I asked for a room with a view to celebrate my anniversary and they were able to complete my wish along with a complimentary bottle of wine to accompany our celebrations. Make sure to be prepared with winter clothes and waterproof shoes if you intend to walk on the snow. This place is a must on any bucket list.
If you intend on having meals at the hotel pre-pay for them online. It was cheaper to do that than to wait and pay there.
Also, you must try their oatmeal brew beer from their Mt. Hood brewery. It is AMAZING! So are their many different hot cocoa's.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the mountain. You might get lucky and see the summit.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flyingchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Lodge is majestic and wonderful, very historic. Certainly caters to the snow crowd, but what else should they do? Bar on the 2nd floor was great to relax in. Meals were very good and have good variety. The scenery is fantastic. The ONLY downside was the price. Staff was very helpful and accommodating. Rooms were clean, but small.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank LSUTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Just spent a night at timberline lodge where history and craftsmanship are inspiring. Staff was great but that is not the reason you go here. It was cold and rainy with snow on the ground but worth every minute exploring the lodge. Of course the winter sports fans were enjoying the snow. Could not stop appreciating the craftsmanship and timelessness of this special place.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank scott s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful, comfortable, and affordable! The service & staff were amazing, and very friendly. I really appreciate the privacy and comfort we had, it was like a home away from home. Being right across the street from the Lake was also a huge plus. Beautiful sceneries all around.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The proximity to Mt. Hood and the views are amazing. If you plan to hike or ski this is a great location. You can walk over to the lifts about 100 yards from the lodge. There are hikes that start in the lodge area and are accessible with proper footwear and gear for snow. I agree with the reviewers who say that if your expectation is of a lodge and not a 5 star hotel you will be pleased. The lodge does try to add a few touches like bath robes, spring water and nice bedding. There is an outdoor, heated swimming pool, hot tub and a Sauna. The rooms are older and small. The showers do change temperature. We stayed on the third floor near the kitchen and the smells were bothersome and sour. I expect that in an older hotel each room location has its quirks. The food is expensive and not worth the price. There are restaurants in Government Camp offer good choices at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Not near the kitchens because of the smell.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaW4090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timberline Lodge
3.3 mi away
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn
#1 of 2 in Government Camp
527 reviews
24.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
12.4 mi away
Whispering Woods Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Cooper Spur Mountain Resort
14.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Portland
Comfort Inn Portland
#62 of 144 in Portland
155 reviews
12.3 mi away
Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timberline Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timberline Lodge

Address: 27500 E Timberline Rd, Timberline Lodge, OR 97028-9709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Timberline Lodge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Timberline Lodge
Price Range: $144 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Timberline Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Declared a National Historic Landmark in 1977, Timberline Lodge is one of Oregon's most popular tourist attractions. Considered an architectural wonder, it's still being used for its original intent-a magnificent ski lodge and mountain retreat for all to enjoy. Timberline Lodge is filled with amazing spaces. The main headhouse features three fireplaces at the base of a 90 foot chimney. The outdoor patios offer the most stunning views in Oregon. The outdoor pool is heated and open year round. Each room in Timberline Lodge has a unique rustic elegance, yet a modern and comfortable feel. All rooms have period furnishings, artwork and decor. Rooms range from premier fireplace rooms to European style bunk rooms. Timberline offers the longest ski season in North America. The winter season begins early to mid-November and continues through Memorial Day. Our Palmer Express high-speed quad lift allows us to operate later into the summer season than anyone else (usually through Labor Day). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Timberline Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timberline Hotel Timberline Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing