We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Get-Away”
Review of Timberline Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Timberline Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Romantic, cozy & quaint room with breath taking views, fire place and a complimentary bottle of wine & cookies to celebrate our anniversary. I also highly recommend the Palmer snowcat ride! Knowing it was our anniversary the snowcat operator offered us a complimentary bottle of wine, wine glasses, specialty cheeses and hors d'oeuvre's. The hotel staff were professional, courteous and friendly! What a perfect way to celebrate our 22nd wedding anniversary! Check out the attached photos of the sunrise and sunset's at beautiful Mount Hood, Timberline Lodge, Oregon!

Room Tip: We loved room #110 in front of the lodge with three windows and a beautiful sunrise. And you can Se...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlene N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,036)
There are newer reviews for Timberline Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

668 - 674 of 1,036 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2013

Just got back from an extended weekend at Timberline Lodge. We booked a 3rd floor room with a queen/double combo. The room is very of-its-time, which is a great part of the charm. We had a beautiful view of the mountain, but honestly, we were there for the skiing/riding and the ambience. Traveling with a 13 year old, you get used to the focus being on the quality of a hotel's wi-fi (which was just fine, by the way), but my 13 year old enjoyed an evening playing shuffleboard and talking with us and other guests (what??). When a couple of guests came into the game room and started playing a duet on the piano, I started to wonder if I was in one of those PBS dramas about the 1920s. It was surprisingly nice.

The staff is relaxed and friendly, the skiing was awesome (even in sub-optimal conditions for Timberline) and the whole experience was something I'd like to repeat again and again.

Tip: my son rents his snowboard boots (feet keep growing) and it was the best rental experience we'd ever had anywhere at any ski resort.

Room Tip: During the winter, the second floor and below is often under the snow level. It will be dark. :)
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank judysj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I arrived into Portland with snow so the drive up to Timberline Lodge on Mt. Hood was especially cool. My friend and I got upgraded to the Roosevelt Room at the lodge which had a wonderful wood burning fireplace and seating area plus wonderful views of the mountain and ski slopes from two exposures.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for an upgrade to a room with a fireplace. And be sure to put the space heater in th...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrdcs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I used to go to Canada, Europe, and Japan to ski. After skiing at Mt Hood and after staying at the Timberline Lodge, I made Timberline Lodge my Christmas and Spring Skiing destination. Outstanding Oregonian people (peaceful, friendly, kind and adventurers), inexpensive hotel/lodge and lift tickets, short lift-lines, well groomed runs (Miles and miles), just right temperature even for night skiing, and above all the Timberline Lodge itself best price, great food, entertainment, fantastic bar Ram's Head Bar, hospitable, kind, friendly staff, best breakfast (don’t forget to ask for Timber-Toast for breakfast, check their Wine Vault), vegetarian friendly menus, best beer (draft), and locally made Root beer (yumm). The most beautiful view of the Mt Hood both day and night, most beautiful view of Sunrise at Mt Hood from Ram’s Head Bar, great New Year Eve celebration with elegant band, dance, exquisite dinner, dance and majestic firework view from Raven’s Nest, are just a few of many reason’s I decided to keep coming back to Timberline Lodge with large number of my friends and family, every year.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daryush2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

The Timberline Lodge is located at a spectacular location at the foot of Mt. Hood. But, unfortunately, it is your typical national park lodge: run down, noisy, bad service, and overpriced. We had to request to be moved because our corner room was right next to the very busy and noisy pool/hot tub area. If noise bothers you, be sure and request a room that is not near the pool/hot tub.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scott29inSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My husband and I came to the Timberline on our honeymoon. We loved it then and have loved it every year for 20 years! In fact we are here right now. The staff has always, ALWAYS been so accommodating, welcoming and just plain wonderful! We especially appreciate Scott Skellenger who has been so very helpful in making every visit special. This year we even have a fire place room which is huge and beautiful.

The Cascade Dining Room has the best food we eat during the year. Always a new and interesting menu; generous portions in a romantic and peaceful setting. The desserts are insane! In fact Scott welcomed us to our room with a hot, out of the oven chocolate chip cookie topped with vanilla ice cream in a cast iron skillet!

Can't wait to come back next year; this is my favorite place we go every year and we go quite a bit.

Room Tip: Mountain side is beautiful but so is the south side. Beautiful views everywhere here. They have an...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haynie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a Queen room, it was very tidy and had a wonderful view of mt. Hood! We had a steak dinner in the cascade dining room where the food and the service was second to none. And then came back for a buffet breakfast that was reasonably priced with a very nice selection of breakfast items. They have a special "active" menu that has gluten free and vegan items, too.
I do recommend checking out the pool and hot tub, nothing's cooler than drinking wine outside in a hot tub while it's dumping snow! The lifts weren't open, but they're offering a deal where of you stay now on a weekday they give you two free ski passes to use later this season.
I will never forget my vacation here, and I recommend it to anyone who wants to stay at a very unique and special location.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Autumnness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timberline Lodge
3.3 mi away
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn
#1 of 2 in Government Camp
527 reviews
24.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
12.4 mi away
Whispering Woods Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Cooper Spur Mountain Resort
14.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Portland
Comfort Inn Portland
#62 of 144 in Portland
155 reviews
12.3 mi away
Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timberline Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timberline Lodge

Address: 27500 E Timberline Rd, Timberline Lodge, OR 97028-9709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Timberline Lodge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Timberline Lodge
Price Range: $144 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Timberline Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Declared a National Historic Landmark in 1977, Timberline Lodge is one of Oregon's most popular tourist attractions. Considered an architectural wonder, it's still being used for its original intent-a magnificent ski lodge and mountain retreat for all to enjoy. Timberline Lodge is filled with amazing spaces. The main headhouse features three fireplaces at the base of a 90 foot chimney. The outdoor patios offer the most stunning views in Oregon. The outdoor pool is heated and open year round. Each room in Timberline Lodge has a unique rustic elegance, yet a modern and comfortable feel. All rooms have period furnishings, artwork and decor. Rooms range from premier fireplace rooms to European style bunk rooms. Timberline offers the longest ski season in North America. The winter season begins early to mid-November and continues through Memorial Day. Our Palmer Express high-speed quad lift allows us to operate later into the summer season than anyone else (usually through Labor Day). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Timberline Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timberline Hotel Timberline Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing