We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic, unique, massive timbers, big views, great food”
Review of Timberline Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Timberline Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2013

A unique experience in a historic, scenic hotel at the base of snow-clad Mt. Hood. We don't ski, and this is a ski lodge, but it is worth the visit for it's other features. Massive local timber cut by the WPA in the 1930s make up the spectacular construction of the lodge. The fireplace alone is worth the trip. At least one or two fires were always burning, and WPA-made period furniture is pulled up cozily around the fires for the patron's enjoyment. Great food in the restaurants, as well. The breakfast buffet runs $15 but offers a huge selection, with cook-to-order eggs (be sure and ask, they don't volunteer that information). The rooms and beds are so-so, not very modern, but what you'd expect in a hotel of this type. They have 2 gift shops, neither of which was particularly interesting. We did not make use of the bar, but it was very attractive, with a nice view of the snowfield outside the window. Parking was scarce when we were there, but the area had just received 18 inches of snow a couple of days before, so the parking lot was like a glacier. Sea-level dwellers need to take notice that at 6000 feet elevation, very much effort can leave one a bit winded.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor, the old floors squeak and you can hear every step in the room above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harrison9161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, Manager at Timberline Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We are so pleased you were able to enjoy the lodge and all its glory.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,057)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

702 - 708 of 1,057 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have been going up to Timberline Lodge for day trips from Vancouver, WA, but we finally stayed here for the night. We had a room with a view of Mt. Hood that was breathtaking! The bed was extremely comfortable. Because it's an old, historic lodge, they provided ear plugs in the drawers, but they weren't needed. It was sunny when we got there, and we woke up to snow. It was lovely. The roads down the mountain are well maintained, so there was no problem driving home. We'll be back!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank MynBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, Manager at Timberline Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

We look forward to your return. Thank you for such kind words. Travel safely where ever you go.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We did an extensive trip thru Oregon and Washington. The Timberline Lodge was the place we decided to splurge with absolutely no regrets. The restaurant is fabulous. During our one night stay, we had four meals there, all wonderfully delicious - from a casual bowl of chowder to a gourmet evening meal. All of the staff members were friendly and gracious. Our room was a bit small, but cozy. We enjoyed hiking the Pacific Crest Trail, beautiful view. Beautiful memories of the lodge.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patty E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This historic lodge is a must stay! Our room was extremely clean. The lodge is beautiful and well kept. Fantastic views of Mount Hood! the food at the Ramshead's Bar was great !

We stayed at the Lodge for one Night. Hung out at the bar and then hiked the Pacific coast trail which is right outside the lodge.

the staff is very friendly, and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BryanIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed exploring this historic lodge in September. With 2 weddings and people enjoying the lift rides on a sunny day, the parking lot was crowded but as soon as the lift closed we were able to find a spot in front of the lodge. Our room was small, but we expected that so packed a smaller bag for our overnight stay. Pendleton blankets were draped over the beds. The bathroom had a huge shower with lemon verbena products (aromatherapy!) and thick plush white towels. Dinner was eclectic gourmet - unusual but excellent. We had our morning coffee/tea on the second floor patio in the sunshine while we watched the clouds slowly rise from the valley below. Another check off on our bucket list!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Renee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

A relaxing evening at the historic and beautiful Timberline Lodge. There was snow on the ground this mid-October weekend (it turns out the upper ski slopes had opened early this year) and snow was falling as we arrived. We had reserved a fireplace room which was very nice. In the afternoon, as we waited for our room to be ready, we had a nice snack at the Ram's Head Bar - looking out the large window at the snow falling; browsed the gift shops and took in the artwork and handcrafted details of the lodge. Our room was nice with a king bed and a single bed. This was 1 too many beds for us (a couple) but I can understand the extra bed given the number of people who want to stay at Timberline. We had a nice dinner in the Cascade Dining Room and went back to our room to start our fire and relax. The lodges lays the fire out so, basically, all you have to do is light the match and we had a roaring blaze - perfect for a chilly, snowy night. The bed is extra comfortable with both a feather bed top, down comforter and wool blanket. Sunday morning the snow had stopped and clouds had cleared and it was a glorious sunny day with great views of Mt Hood.

Now some advice - the lodge is crowded during the day with tourists just coming to see the handmade craftsmanship of the lodge. But, in the evenings and mornings, the guests have plenty of time to look around without all of the people. Because it is a tourist spot, ski resort and lodging, parking is not always available right at the lodge. The furniture in the rooms is in the same handcrafted style as the original lodge - much of it is original. So, it is not always as comfortable as a modern luxury hotel. But, it is very cozy and the beds are REALLY comfortable.

Overall, a great, relaxing weekend.

Room Tip: Rooms on the mountain side don't always have views of Mt Hood because there are more trees on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrpeanut3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, Manager at Timberline Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. As always we will look for ways to improve our offerings thank you for taking the time to let us know. We hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed at the Timberline Lodge for 1 night in August 2013, in a room with two twin beds and a private bathroom, for $165.85 total. It was great fun, and absolutely worth staying at.

We did have trouble with directions. We used the Timberline Lodge address that was pre-programmed in our Garmin GPS, and it led us up a mountain gravel road near the lodge that we later found out hasn't been used for years except by campers. Another driver motioned for us to turn around, and we saw a few more family-packed cars driving up there after us. So don't turn onto any gravel roads - if you stay on the paved, curvy highway and follow the road signs, the lodge is easy to get to. It would be helpful if there were directions on their website.

Parking wasn't a problem on the day we were there (arriving around 1:30 in the afternoon), but at night the lot looked full and it wasn't clear how well they were enforcing the "hotel guests only" parking lot.

When we first arrived we took the Magic Mile Sky Ride (lots of fun) and looked around the lodge a little bit until check-in time 4:00. If it weren't for the 30-day cancellation policy, we would have considered cancelling our reservation because we thought we'd seen enough, but I'm so glad we decided to stay overnight. There's much to see and it feels like you're in another world. With all the stone walls, ironwork, arched doorways, windows with beautiful mountain views, stained glass, high ceilings, fireplaces, stairways, and many side rooms off the common areas, we felt like we were in someplace really special (it reminded us of Hogwarts) and it was great fun to roam around indoors and outdoors in the evening and early morning. There are restaurants, a game room, museum area, exhibits, the patio where FDR dedicated the Lodge, etc. - but even just looking at the architecture and decorating gives you plenty to see. Be sure to watch the video "The Builders of Timberline" that's continually playing in a room near the lobby - you'll learn the fascinating details of the building of the lodge and the interior design - it makes walking around the lodge even more fun as you pick up on all the details you learned about.

Our room was on the first floor, which is one floor up from the ground floor. We were concerned because we had a lot of heavy luggage and there is no elevator that takes you directly to the first floor. But we found we could get a cart and go from the parking lot into the side "handicap" entrance, take the elevator there up to the ground floor, then roll the cart through a few hallways to the ground floor main lobby, and take the elevator near there to the first floor. I think this elevator also goes to the second floor (but not the third floor (?)).

Our room was in a hallway that felt secluded, even though it was just off a large lounge. It was very clean but small, but we were able to fit an inflatable twin bed on the floor for our son. The twin beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was small (toilet, sink, shower - no tub). There was no microwave or fridge. It was very hot when we first arrived, with no air-conditioning, but in the closet there was a floor fan and a window screen we could use. Our room window opened fully and there were no bars on it, so watch your very young children. If the room had stayed this hot we wouldn't have slept comfortably. Fortunately there was a thunderstorm and hail that evening that cooled the room off a lot (and was a treat to watch).

The outdoor hot tub was not working. The laundry room has only one washer and dryer; they are free to use, but it is out of the way.

So overall there are some good and bad features to this lodge, but it's an incredible place to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank backnforth2nfro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timberline Lodge
3.3 mi away
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn
#1 of 2 in Government Camp
537 reviews
24.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
12.4 mi away
Whispering Woods Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Portland
Comfort Inn Portland
#64 of 144 in Portland
156 reviews
12.3 mi away
Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection
15.9 mi away
Sandy Salmon Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timberline Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timberline Lodge

Address: 27500 E Timberline Rd, Timberline Lodge, OR 97028-9709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Timberline Lodge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Timberline Lodge
Price Range: $138 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Timberline Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Declared a National Historic Landmark in 1977, Timberline Lodge is one of Oregon's most popular tourist attractions. Considered an architectural wonder, it's still being used for its original intent-a magnificent ski lodge and mountain retreat for all to enjoy. Timberline Lodge is filled with amazing spaces. The main headhouse features three fireplaces at the base of a 90 foot chimney. The outdoor patios offer the most stunning views in Oregon. The outdoor pool is heated and open year round. Each room in Timberline Lodge has a unique rustic elegance, yet a modern and comfortable feel. All rooms have period furnishings, artwork and decor. Rooms range from premier fireplace rooms to European style bunk rooms. Timberline offers the longest ski season in North America. The winter season begins early to mid-November and continues through Memorial Day. Our Palmer Express high-speed quad lift allows us to operate later into the summer season than anyone else (usually through Labor Day). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Timberline Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timberline Hotel Timberline Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing