We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A spectacular location and view to accompany our buffet lunch!”
Review of Timberline Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Timberline Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A spectacular location and view to accompany our buffet lunch!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

A Portland native on our flight into Oregon recommended we visit this lodge. What a delight! We visited on a sunny late June afternoon. The drive up to the lodge was magnificent- we viewed snow-covered Mt. Hood periodically along the curvy road. Numerous skiers and skateboarders were ending their runs in the parking lot, on a 68 degree day! We enjoyed a wonderful lunch buffet in the rustic dining room, complete with excellent wine service. The historical displays in the lobby and the extra-friendly staff made us anxious to return for a longer visit soon.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    301
    89
    58
    22
See reviews for
281
442
39
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

I really didn't know what to expect from the Timberline Lodge, a ski lodge that operates almost year round with skiing even in July on the upper slopes of Mount Hood. But I've got to say that the chef really hit it out of the park with a pappardelle draped in a clarified burrer sauce. I would go back again just to eat there. I also found the staff friendly and authentic, people who lived in the vicinity and can talk knowledgeably about the Oregon ethos, not just the usual lame summer students making tuition. The newer skiing facilities are pretty spiffy, too.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RiverdaleMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed here before our son started ski camp. It was a terrific, historical hotel. AMazing architecture, carved banisters and ironwork the result of skilled artisians put to work during the depression. Simply wonderful and fun. You could ski, hike, fish or just relax by the pool or hot tub.

Room Tip: They are pretty small, but they are charming and there are POSTED quiet hours, so everyone is respec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Singlewoman111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

It was quite an experience to stay here. The views were spectacular, the bed was very comfortable, the service was excellent, and the facilities were first rate. The only downside was the walls are paper thin and you can literally hear every word being spoken in the next room. It is an experience to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Qdog56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreno Valley, California
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Timberline Lodge is a must do if you're in Mt. Hood. I initially decided to go to the Timberline Lodge since it was used as the exterior in The Shining. When doing my research I found that National Geographic had posted the drive from Portland to Mt. Hood as one of the top 500 road trips. My friend and I followed the road trip which included several gorgeous waterfalls and made our way to the Timberline Lodge. We had made reservations to stay one night before having to return to Portland for a conference.

The drive to Timberline Lodge was beautiful. We went in July and the mountains were green on the drive up and the top of Mt. Hood was covered in snow. The setting of Timberline Lodge with the peak of Mt. Hood in its "backyard" is a sight to see. The lodge itself was rustic with modern touches. They still use door keys (no swipe key cards) and the door fixtures/jams were the most interesting things I've seen. Our room was rustic with old furniture but new/modern linens.

I enjoyed walking around the lodge looking at the architecture and all the photos of the lodge being constructed, skiing and famous folks that visited. I also found out that the axe that had been used in The Shining was at the hotel - what a treat that was. One of the floors of the lodge had fine dining while another floor had casual dining with huge windows to take in the views. The lodge was so peaceful being out of the hustle and bustle of busy life.

The morning of my departure I enjoyed a cup of coffee relaxing outdoors taking in the views of snow covered Mt. Hood and walking the trails. I only wish I had arrived earlier to enjoy another night.

I highly recommend the Timberline Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, Usa
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

This lodge has very nice rooms and is beautiful! The only negative I would have is that ther is not a whole lot to do if you are not a skier. The lift closed at 2 and we just missed it. It would have been nice to ride that up the mountain and take some great pictures. We are just staying the night, so we will miss it when we head out early in the morning. Overall very happy we visited!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Timberline Lodge is a must-visit, WWII WPA project of exceptional construction, remarkable history and outstanding beauty. Situated high on Mt. Hood, midst year-around ski runs, the views and environment are exceptional. Being on the Historical Register, the lodge retains the glory of yester-year. We enjoyed a queen room with south facing views of the Cascade Mountain Range. The room, while small was exceptionally clean and comfortable. The only downside is, due to its historical status and WWII construction, sound proofing is minimal; however the lodge provides ear plugs even though we found no need for them. Dining room service and food are excellent; we enjoyed an exceptional dinner and terrific breakfast. Timberline Lodge is a romantic destination, and well worth a stop, even if not staying overnight. Oh yes...for those age 71 and above...you can ski for free.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DKFunTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timberline Lodge
3.3 mi away
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn
#1 of 2 in Government Camp
508 reviews
24.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
12.4 mi away
Whispering Woods Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection
15.9 mi away
Sandy Salmon Bed & Breakfast
13.9 mi away
Mt Hood Village RV Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timberline Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timberline Lodge

Property: Timberline Lodge
Address: 27500 E Timberline Rd, Timberline Lodge, OR 97028-9709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Timberline Lodge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Timberline Lodge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Timberline Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Declared a National Historic Landmark in 1977, Timberline Lodge is one of Oregon's most popular tourist attractions, drawing nearly two million visitors every year. Considered an architectural wonder, it's still being used for its original intent-a magnificent ski lodge and mountain retreat for all to enjoy. Timberline Lodge is filled with amazing spaces that beg enjoyment. The main headhouse lobby features three fireplaces at the base of a 90 foot chimney. The outdoor patios offer the most stunning views in Oregon. The outdoor pool is heated and open year round. With so many places to explore all under one roof, you'll feel as if the Lodge is an extension of your guest room. Each room in Timberline Lodge has a unique rustic elegance, yet a modern and comfortable feel. All rooms have period furnishings, artwork and decor. Enjoy fresh powder feather beds, the year 'round heated pool, spa and sauna. Rooms range from premier fireplace rooms to European style bunk rooms. Regardless of which room suits you best, they all share an authentic sense of place found only in one of the Historic Hotels of America. Timberline offers the longest ski season in North America. The winter season typically begins early to mid-November and continues through Memorial Day. Our Palmer Express high-speed quad lift allows us to operate later into the summer season than anyone else (usually through Labor Day). Many years, we're open for fall skiing as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Timberline Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timberline Hotel Timberline Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing