We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scenic historic Inn, loud halls and smallest rooms for top dollar” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Timberline Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Timberline Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Scenic historic Inn, loud halls and smallest rooms for top dollar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

This place has great history and it is a must see though I don't know if I would recommend a stay. Paid $140 a night and was wakened by rattling windows and paper thin walls. The restaurant which requires reservations was over price but offered great service. The rooms are VERY VERY SMALL, which goes along for the time period. Ask to see the room before deciding to stay! Rest of hotel was beautiful. Mixed reviews because it was so nice overall, but the small rooms and noisy halls are a deal breaker for me.

Room Tip: Ask to see rooms is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    278
    83
    54
    20
See reviews for
257
409
34
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Our first night in Oregon was at this beautiful lodge. The queen room was on the small side for a hotel but this is a historic lodge and it had more than enough room for the two of us. The walls are thin and they do provide earplugs but that's the only downside we experienced and with a white noise app we were just fine. I mentioned it was our anniversary when making the reservation and we were surprised with a small bottle of wine and two giant delicious cookies.

I forgot how much I like getting a real key for a room. Also highly recommend taking the tour of the lodge. I was disappointed the Blue Ox Bar was closed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KC D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Booked one night in June to experience the majesty of Mt Hood and the character of the lodge. We were not disappointed with either. We ordered dinner and drinks in the bar to best view the mountain slopes as the light changed towards sunset and the clouds ebbed up and down from the summit. The food was excellent in the bar and also the next morning in the dining room for breakfast. The only caution is to expect a small room and to make sure you understand that there may be noise when the lodge is busy. The history of lodge construction and past events was interesting and added to the overall stay. This stay was part of a three day trip; Timberline, Hood River, downtown Portland...definitely a winning itinerary.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FREDnTAN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is one of my family's favorite destinations. We have stayed at Timberline Lodge in July when snowboarding and skiing is still going on. And we've stayed numerous times over the Christmas holidays - such a magical place during the most magical time of the year. Timberline Lodge's history is fascinating - read up on it before you visit! The lodge is beautiful but old, and that's part of it's charm. The bathrooms can be very small and funky (every room is laid out differently). As in any hotel, noise can be heard in the halls and from next door neighbors - avoid rooms next to the stairs and elevator. The rooms are clean; the beds comfortable (we've never stayed in the Silcox Hut but it looks fun). The staff is always friendly and accommodating. All of the restaurants serve excellent food (the Christmas Eve/Christmas Day dinners in the Cascade dining room are fantastic - and Santa comes 'down the chimney' on Christmas Eve with gifts for all kids signed up for the special holiday dinner). Skiing and snowboarding is, literally, right out the front door. There is a heated outdoor pool and hot tub, used all year 'round - and a sauna. There is lots to do in and around the lodge - also at Government Camp and along Mt Hood Hwy. Go - you will not be disappointed! (Timberlinelodge.com)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pacnw4043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, UK
Level Contributor
121 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Ok let's start with the positives; the location is wonderful, the views are totally stunning especially from the bar area, the staff are friendly and helpful, the displays regarding the history of the building are interesting, the whole feel of the place is great. So why only 3 stars? Ok so what's the real reason that we stay at any hotel? To sleep right? In that case it might be worth timberline investing some money into buying a new mattress for the room I'm in on the 4th floor. I am writing this review at 6.30 having had the worst nights sleep on my 3 week USA vacation to date and an left with an aching back as my memory of timberline. I can put up with the fact that the room is extremely pokey for $155 a night but not a ridiculously soft mattress. Sorry timberline, this review would have been a 5 prior to bedtime!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rickinblackUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquete, Panama
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We thought it would be fun to see the old lodge, but didn't realize it would be like staying in a dormitory filled with kids partying. This place is all about skiing, so if that isn't your thing, avoid it. The walls, floors and ceilings are too thin; we could hear everything being said in the room next door, and wondered if we had a dance floor above us. We arrived in the afternoon and realized we'd never be able to sleep, so checked out. Incredibly, the man at the desk refunded the cost! Now, that's service with a smile!

Room Tip: We had a room on the back but the view was into the side of a snowy hill, so don't go out of you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cynthiafromhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

This lodge is nothing less than a nice, warm, super cozy cabin in the woods and the hills! We loved it and the fireplace was a perk! But what made our experience all the more worthwhile, was the exceptional customer service. From the manager, to the employee who checked us in to the employee who came to assist us were super friendly, extremely willing to help and genuinely cared about our stay -thumbs up to all of them! This place is highly recommended! We stayed in D2A.
Cant wait to be back! Thanks guys!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FunLov84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timberline Lodge
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn
BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn
#1 of 2 in Government Camp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
24.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn
12.3 mi away
Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Sandy Salmon Bed & Breakfast
13.9 mi away
Mt Hood Village RV Resort
15.5 mi away
No photo provided
Salmon River Inn
#1 of 2 in Brightwood
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timberline Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timberline Lodge

Property: Timberline Lodge
Address: 27500 E Timberline Rd, Timberline Lodge, OR 97028-9709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Timberline Lodge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Timberline Lodge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Timberline Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Declared a National Historic Landmark in 1977, Timberline Lodge is one of Oregon's most popular tourist attractions, drawing nearly two million visitors every year. Considered an architectural wonder, it's still being used for its original intent-a magnificent ski lodge and mountain retreat for all to enjoy. Timberline Lodge is filled with amazing spaces that beg enjoyment. The main headhouse lobby features three fireplaces at the base of a 90 foot chimney. The outdoor patios offer the most stunning views in Oregon. The outdoor pool is heated and open year round. With so many places to explore all under one roof, you'll feel as if the Lodge is an extension of your guest room. Each room in Timberline Lodge has a unique rustic elegance, yet a modern and comfortable feel. All rooms have period furnishings, artwork and decor. Enjoy fresh powder feather beds, the year 'round heated pool, spa and sauna. Rooms range from premier fireplace rooms to European style bunk rooms. Regardless of which room suits you best, they all share an authentic sense of place found only in one of the Historic Hotels of America. Timberline offers the longest ski season in North America. The winter season typically begins early to mid-November and continues through Memorial Day. Our Palmer Express high-speed quad lift allows us to operate later into the summer season than anyone else (usually through Labor Day). Many years, we're open for fall skiing as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Timberline Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timberline Hotel Timberline Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing