We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lodge” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Timberline Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Timberline Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We love staying at the lodge when we go to Mt Hood. Spring mid-week was perfect condition for our two kids to get their first skiing experiences. We got a great deal on lift tickets by staying at the lodge, too.

The rooms can be a bit small and are designed with an older sensibility in mind. They are rustic but very comfortable. The staff at the lodge were helpful and friendly. We really loved the 2 St. Bernard dogs that visit behind the front desk most days.

The lodge has several places to eat, including the "day lodge" as well as the hotel. Unless you pack a cooler before you head up, the lodge establishments are your main options. The Cascade Room is supposed to be their upscale dining options but the prices far outweigh the freshness and quality of the food. Go for the more reasonably priced day lodge fare or the bar food, which is good and MUCH less expensive. They have a nice bar area with gorgeous views of the top of Mt Hood. We had a sunny, clear day and the views of Mt Jefferson were phenominal. There are 2 balcony levels where you can just sit and relax by the giant fireplace. We had a great time exploring all the passages and hallways.

The pool and hot tub are such a great experience after a day of skiing. I don't think I could have skiied on day 2 without the incentive of some time in the hot tub after. The pool and hot tub get a lot of use from kids at the lodge, so I think they keep the hot tub temperature down for that reason, but it is still great and relaxing on sore muscles at the end of the day.

Room Tip: Just be prepared that the rooms are smaller and more rustic than more modern hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    278
    83
    54
    20
See reviews for
257
409
34
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Built during the dark days of the Great Depression, this magnificent and massive wood beam lodge offers an eagle's nest view of Mt. Hood, snow-capped year round. Known by many as the setting for "The Shining" as envisioned by Stanley Kubrick (although The Stanley Hotel in Estes Park, CO was the inspiration for Stephen King, the author of the novel), it is hardly creepy. The Lodge is beautifully decorated and managed with excellent meals and beverages. The skiing and snowboarding, offered year round is a big draw and the Lodge is eminently kid-friendly. The average snowfall is between 25-35 FEET per year. 70 rooms are offered, some very small but most adequate and some with fireplaces. The huge fireplace in the lobby on both the first and lobby floors has three separate oversized apertures. Winter and summer are rather busy but the shoulder seasons are easy to book and not particularly expensive. A great family vacation spot with lots of interesting activities even with young children and even if you don't ski.

Room Tip: Shoulder season is less busy with specials on rooms and the skiing and snowboarding are excellent ye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wilsonjmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the historic lodge for two nights with two of our grandsons. It was their first time skiing and they took full-day lessons two days. The lodge was very comfortable (although the rooms were much warmer than we have at home) and the staff was excellent. The window in our second floor room was mostly covered by snow with a glimpse of the mountain. The boys loved every minute. We are going back for another night and another ski lesson for them this week. The boys especially liked using the pool and the hot tub outside. The game room was inviting for the children.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Fire place room in the grand old lodge was amazing. Everything was great exept one thing. The dinner prices in the dining room are just simply OUTRAGEOUS. Watched one dad with his kids look at the menu and walk out. Food was good, but in no way commanded a $42 for salmon or a 6oz steak. A buffalo hamburger was $28. WHAT? Could not cost more than 4 or 5 bucks for buffalo burger and fries ingrediants. Ridiculous. Brealfast buffet at $15 was teriffic! Even had sliced procutto Beautiful lodge. Hot tub was not hot, fire alarm wet off at 6:00 am. Desk did not credit bill for dinner package

Room Tip: Ask for fireplace king on 2nd or 3rd
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We are a family with two young kids. We came to ski and stay at this historic lodge for one night. Our room had a queen and two twins which was adequate for us. The decor was in keeping with the 1930's lodge look I imagined, but I like it. We had one window with no view due to snow and ice build up. We did use the little niche outside our window as an ice chest to keep our drinks cold. Kids got a kick out of that. Bathroom was small but functional.

That weekend in January 2013 was warm. It felt like spring skiing with 50 ish degrees temperature so the lodge was very warm. We had lunch at the casual Ram's Head. Not too many choices but food wasn't too bad. Dinner in the Cascade dining did not impress us. We were actually disappointed with the food and it was expensive to boot. Breakfast buffet in the cascade dining room the next morning was good though.

Didn't get to use the pool this time. What I didn't care for was lugging the luggages to/from our room. It was quite a maze. However I understand that this is an old historical hotel so some conveniences may not be available. Also our room was near the Rams Head dining room so it was quite noisy with service carts and staff coming and goings.

Overall we would stay here again because of the convenient in/out skiing and ambience of the lodge. Next time we will definitely use the pool and hot tub and make sure my room is away from the dining areas.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bnrmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We loved Timberline! We loved the setting and the view of Mt Hood, the history, and beautiful artwork, and the rugged wood furniture. We also enjoyed formal dinners in the dinning room, and casual dinners at the bar. Just fabulous attention to detail. We got lucky with the weather, it had snowed 9 inches the day before we arrived, and then it was sunny while we were there. Perfect skiing in the Spring time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

When we drove into the parking lot, we smiled. The views of Mt. Jefferson and Mt. Hood were crystal clear. Also, the snow covered half of the first story windows - which were one story up from the parking lot! Once inside, we agreed that the lodge itself is absolutely incredible! The craftmanship and attention to detail kept us oohing and aahing the entire time we were there. The fireplace is MASSIVE! When we went to our room, we had a good laugh: Our "welcome packet" inclded earplugs! What can you expect of a lodge with walls that were built in the 1930's? (We didn't need to use the earplugs though.) Our queen room was small, but comfortable - and decorated with replicas of the original artwork, drapes, etc. The bed that we slept on had a thick featherbed and luxurious bedding. Curling up with a book, seated in front of one of the lodge's main fireplace openings was a perfect way to end the evening. We had dinner in the main dining room. The meal was both delicious and expensive (as we had expected). The staff and the service we received throughout our stay was excellent. Will we go back? Most definitely! Staying at Timberline is more than staying at a ski resort or even a good hotel. It's a chance to experience a small part of history!

Room Tip: Ask for a queen room or a fireplace room. Also, if you want a private bath, ask for that since some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timberline Lodge
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn
BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn
#1 of 2 in Government Camp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
24.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn
12.3 mi away
Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Sandy Salmon Bed & Breakfast
13.9 mi away
Mt Hood Village RV Resort
2.8 mi away
The Lodge at Government Camp
The Lodge at Government Camp
#2 of 5 in Government Camp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timberline Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timberline Lodge

Property: Timberline Lodge
Address: 27500 E Timberline Rd, Timberline Lodge, OR 97028-9709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Timberline Lodge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Timberline Lodge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Timberline Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Declared a National Historic Landmark in 1977, Timberline Lodge is one of Oregon's most popular tourist attractions, drawing nearly two million visitors every year. Considered an architectural wonder, it's still being used for its original intent-a magnificent ski lodge and mountain retreat for all to enjoy. Timberline Lodge is filled with amazing spaces that beg enjoyment. The main headhouse lobby features three fireplaces at the base of a 90 foot chimney. The outdoor patios offer the most stunning views in Oregon. The outdoor pool is heated and open year round. With so many places to explore all under one roof, you'll feel as if the Lodge is an extension of your guest room. Each room in Timberline Lodge has a unique rustic elegance, yet a modern and comfortable feel. All rooms have period furnishings, artwork and decor. Enjoy fresh powder feather beds, the year 'round heated pool, spa and sauna. Rooms range from premier fireplace rooms to European style bunk rooms. Regardless of which room suits you best, they all share an authentic sense of place found only in one of the Historic Hotels of America. Timberline offers the longest ski season in North America. The winter season typically begins early to mid-November and continues through Memorial Day. Our Palmer Express high-speed quad lift allows us to operate later into the summer season than anyone else (usually through Labor Day). Many years, we're open for fall skiing as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Agoda, Jetsetter and Despegar.com so you can book your Timberline Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timberline Hotel Timberline Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing