We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Grand Historical Ski Lodge”
Review of Timberline Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Timberline Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Our stay at Timberline Lodge couldn't have been more delightful. Sitting by the massive stone fireplace, looking out at Mt. Hood looming above the lodge, made me catch my breath at the beauty of it all. Yes the rooms are smaller than today's and builders then didn't know anything about sound proofing, but still we felt returned to a gentler and more gracious time.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
Thank bosslady897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,036)
There are newer reviews for Timberline Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

794 - 800 of 1,036 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

Actually, they provide the earplugs for you---they are a definite necessity for a light sleeper.

I'll start by saying, that we knew what we were getting with the Timberline. A historic hotel, with small rooms and direct mountain access. It's brilliant to have the PCT just out the back door. Mount Hood has some of the most beautiful alpine meadows I have ever seen and the Mount Hood National Forest is a scenic goldmine. There is hiking for every level, but the payout is worth the effort if you head west past Zig Zag Canyon. The on-site park rangers can point you in the direction of great hikes.

The hotel itself is a magnificent bit of WPA construction. The exposed beams and architecture is fascinating. Plenty of chances to educate yourself on the history throughout the hotel.

We stayed in a queen room. The room was clean, comfortable but definitely small. Really enough room for the bed and the small desk and that's about it! Pack light!

The bathroom has a nice powerful shower, but is also tiny. Gilchrist and Soames toiletries were welcome after a day on the mountain, but the shower is not made for the tall or wide!

We ate in the Cascade Lounge. Delicious veggie chili, local brews and of course, the infamous hot chocolate. All quite good.

The walls are really paper thin. I could easily hear talking or snoring in the next room--regardless of the earplugs.

I think the Timberline is definitely worth an overnight, or at least a day trip to explore the lodge and a meal. If you're playing on the mountain, the access can't be beat, but if you want spaciousness and quiet, you may want to move on.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeltyLilac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This place might be a bit pricey, but it is nice and a fantastic location. The walls are very thin as well as the ceiling...which is why the earplugs are provided in your room. The whirlpool is terrible....don't know why they don't make it nice....

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dkdono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

My husband and I spent a wonderful night here on Sunday October 7. We got in early and had to wait for a room but it gave us time to have lunch in the bar with an awesome view of Mt Hood. We had a great room on the 3rd floor with a great view of MtHood. The staff knew it was our anniversary and they had a bottle of wine waiting for us, along with two yummy cookies. We had the best dinner ever that night in the dinning room, thank you to our server for suggesting the coulette steak.

Room Tip: It was warm in the room, but we did find a fan in the closet.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klmjbowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

What a great place to stay history around every turn. Spend the extra money and have dinner excellent. Don't forget to visit with Bruno and heidi what a treat that this tradition is still kept alive. Breath taking views out every window

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeadvilleGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Loved this place. We wanted to visit for the Shining link, but what an unexpected treat. The history of it is amazing, and it oozes provenance. Arrived on a busy weekend and a little trouble getting served in the Ram's bar - we were largely ignored for some time. Other than that, everything else was great. The crowds thinned after the weekend, and it was much quieter, giving us a chance to soak up the atmosphere.

Cascade dining room staff were great, reception staff also very polite and friendly. Lovely pool, hottub was out of service for repairs. We were disappointed that the Ranger-led tours of the hotel weren't on during our stay - we had to make do with the history video but you can watch this on the tv in your room. Loved loved loved the cute Golden Crested Ground Squirrels that live in the grounds of the hotel - they are so cheeky and entertaining. The views are just stunning, and what a treat to wake up ABOVE the clouds with Mt Jefferson peeking through.

Food was good, though they should offer more vegetarian options as I had to eat the same thing after one day. The meat options looked fab so I'm sure they can make the same effort with non-meat choices. Try the Timber toast for breakfast, then work it off by hiking the Hood. They also do a Murder mystery night which looks a lot of fun.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatieDuncs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I did not stay here. We drove from Welches, OR to see the Lodge and Mt. Hood up close.
My son bragged about the hot chocolate so we went upstairs to get some at the bar. It's 10:30am so no one is hanging around drinking. My 1 year old grandson was with us so we set down while the hot chocolate was being ordered. The surly female "bartender" promptly told us no minors were allowed in the area so someone took the grandson away. She then rudely spoke to us while we were waiting to order, but we eventually got the hot chocolate.
The other workers bees we encountered also seemed to be having a bad day so we left rather quickly.
I'm soooo glad we weren't staying there. It was cold and windy with nothing to do if you weren't skiing or climbing Mt Hood. This was on Oct. 5!
We went back to a small town and had pizza in what was essentially a bar. The sign on their door said " minors allowed for food consumption only until 9:00pm" and gave the Oregon Code reference. Gee what a novel idea.
Too bad Timberline didn't "get it".
We will NOT ever stay there or go there again.
PS - the hot chocolate was good, but way overpriced.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank MerlinTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, General Manager at Timberline Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

I have shared your concerns with my staff. If you do change your mind and come back to visit us I can assure you your previous experience will not be repeated. Thank you for your feedback and helping us improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timberline Lodge
3.3 mi away
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn
#1 of 2 in Government Camp
527 reviews
24.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
12.4 mi away
Whispering Woods Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Cooper Spur Mountain Resort
14.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Portland
Comfort Inn Portland
#62 of 144 in Portland
155 reviews
12.3 mi away
Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timberline Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timberline Lodge

Address: 27500 E Timberline Rd, Timberline Lodge, OR 97028-9709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Timberline Lodge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Timberline Lodge
Price Range: $144 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Timberline Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Declared a National Historic Landmark in 1977, Timberline Lodge is one of Oregon's most popular tourist attractions. Considered an architectural wonder, it's still being used for its original intent-a magnificent ski lodge and mountain retreat for all to enjoy. Timberline Lodge is filled with amazing spaces. The main headhouse features three fireplaces at the base of a 90 foot chimney. The outdoor patios offer the most stunning views in Oregon. The outdoor pool is heated and open year round. Each room in Timberline Lodge has a unique rustic elegance, yet a modern and comfortable feel. All rooms have period furnishings, artwork and decor. Rooms range from premier fireplace rooms to European style bunk rooms. Timberline offers the longest ski season in North America. The winter season begins early to mid-November and continues through Memorial Day. Our Palmer Express high-speed quad lift allows us to operate later into the summer season than anyone else (usually through Labor Day). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Timberline Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timberline Hotel Timberline Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing