We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular scenery, real escapism!”
Review of Timberline Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Timberline Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed in the Timberline for 1 night in September 2011. The hotel itself is quaint, with some wonderful features inside, the artwork is lovely and it just has a real historical feel to it.

We only stayed one night and didn't venture up the slopes to ski. We did, however, explore the grounds. In September, there is still great opportunity to ski as Mt. Hood still has a lot of snow. The facilities did seem briliant and the staff were very friendly. I went for a walk at 6am one morning and it was so serene, peaceful and absolutely beautiful. The room was very clean and quiet.

The breakfast was absolutely amazing and everything was provided for. The staff were efficient and very helpful and friendly.

We arrived late enough the night before and ate in the bar. I can't speak for the all day menu but it was quite limited at 9pm...so perhaps check this before you go, just to be sure.

Finally, you need to ask at reception to see the HERE'S JOHNNY axe from The Shining!!!

Loved this place, I would love to go back and stay for longer.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare_N82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,080)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

906 - 912 of 1,080 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2011

The lodge is beautiful and everyone knows the views are fantastic. Even my 8 year old daughter appreciated the beauty and history of the place; she couldn't get enough of wandering about looking at all the original art work. My six year old son made his own photo journal of the lodge on the droid. As people have said, it is expensive. However, with a little planning, you can spend a little less.

The food isn't great and it's pricey, however, kids are welcome in all restaurants, even the bars, which is nice. Pizza in the Blue Ox bar is only $10 for a 10". While they didn't tell us and we only found out after the fact, the breakfast buffet in the Cascade dining room has a $10 (not sure if kid price)option just for the continental buffet, which includes, cold cereals, oatmeal, good fresh fruit, artisan cheeses, musliex (which I can't spell), etc. It would have been totally sufficient. The regular buffet, for about $15 ($8 for kids), is similar to what you get for free at a Hampton Inn, pancakes, make your own waffle, warmed scrambled eggs, etc. Our favorite place to eat was the bar restaurant on the second floor, the Rams Head Bar. Skip the entrees though. They are overpriced and small. Go for sandwiches, the baked potato, and fondu. Make sure you get kid's menus. We didn't try the ski lodge restaurants; I'm sure they are standard ski slope fare. If you have kids, bring your own snacks (you probably already do this anyway)!! The online dinner menu for the Cascade Dining room show entree from 20-30 dollars, but the menu there was filled with entrees from 40-50 dollars. I'm not sure what that is all about.

We never had good tea or coffee. If you like good coffee, bring your own! Bring a coffee pot or french press and hot pot as well, as they aren't in every room. There IS complimentary coffee/tea in the upstairs lobby until about 9:30. That all being said, the hot chocolate absolutely delicious. We didn't try any cocktails, but they looked great.

The outdoor pool is heated, but not warm. The hot tub is nice though, albeit very crowded and full of kids. Don't go looking for a quiet hot tub experience on the weekend; my husband said that the sauna was a nice experience.

Checkin is at 4:00. Usually if you arrive at a hotel by 1:00 or so, you're good. Not so here, we had to wait for 2 hours to get our room. No problem if you plan for it or if you don't have tired children. I will call ahead next time to be ready for a bit of hanging out before we get our room. If you want a complimentary late checkout, which gives you an extra hour until noon, request it first thing on the morning of your checkout. They only give out so many each day. Late checkout until 1:00 cost $25.

There is a fun game room with a shuffle board and ping pong and apparently movies on weekend nights. I saw lots of games available at the front desk as well.

There is no sledding around the lodge, but plenty of space to play in the snow. We dug a fantastic tunnel and then happily threw ourselves down a snowy hill for hours. If you aren't a climber, this is a great opportunity to get up to a really high elevation with no effort at all. Even hiking to 6000 ft would be tough on the kids, so I was glad for them to get to be so high and enjoy the views of the mountains we usually play around to the south.

You have to pay for parking. We paid $9 for a three day pass. There is a season pass for $22. I'm not sure if this is needed in the summer months. The day pass is only for day trippers.

We bought chains for our VW Passat at Les Schwaab, but never needed them. FYI, you can buy them in the fall or winter and if you never use them, they can be returned after April 1st. Much of the time, the snow pack really does require chains, but we were there after a warm spell.

We had queen/twin room, one child in a twin and one on the floor. The beds are VERY soft. There is a small tv and they provide decent shampoo, soap, lotion, and a handmade bar of soap-a sweet touch. The rooms stay very warm without the heat on. We needed the window open for fresh air, but there are no screens. If you have very little one's, you might want to ask for a ground floor room. The rooms are small but adorable. I loved the wool blankets on the beds and the view of Mt. Hood while laying in bed was a treasure. The are earplugs in the top bureau drawer. These are much needed as the building is old and was not built in an era where quiet hotel rooms were so highly valued.

I hope this isn't too whiny, it's actually meant to inform and help you plan. We adored the place, if not the food. I'm sure the $50 dollar dinner plates in the main restaurant (same local a It is expensive, so bring snacks and budget to spend a bit more than you think you will. If you don't have to budget, well then, lucky you!

It is a fantastic place to go with kids, especially if you ski or board (obviously!). We have dreams of spending a Christmas there and we all want to to learn to ski now!

Pack up your snow gear and make a weekend of it!

Room Tip: Request a room with the view you want, Mt Jefferson side or Mt hood side, but either way the view wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wanderingmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Besides the location of Timberline Lodge...at Mt Hood ... the interior of the lodge is filled with amazing artwork done in the 1930s as part of the WPA. All the furnishings in the lodge represent the original ones made 75 years ago. We enjoyed staying overnight so that we had time to browse through the lodge, and take walks along the trails.
We sipped drinks in the Rams Head Lounge on the third floor with a great view of Mt. Hood. Our room was small, but comfortable. It had pine paneled walls, wrought iron fittings on the doors and lamp stands, along with an old fashioned dial phone! The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was divided, with the sink and toilet in one room and the shower in another. The shower room was spacious, with large fluffy towels provided. Our stay was in early September, and it was hot, even at night. No air conditioning, but the windows could be opened. During the night we heard creaks and a very loud snorer in the room next door. Even though the lodge is beautifully restored, it is 75 years old and noises are expected.
We had a lovely dinner (a bit expensive, but worth it) in the Cascade Room, and ate there again for breakfast, where a choice of a small or large buffet was offered.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytravelduo4244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Wow, you can see forever from your seat in the cafe, upper floor. If you can see past the mound of whipped cream on your cocoa. We enjoyed a long walk up the mountain in the autumn leaves. This is a treasure, and the longer you look, the more you notice. Plenty of historic detail, art, and displays, plus a great menu, and nice (small) rooms. This is a very special place and the drive to it is also. Near the Maryhill Museum with Columbia River Gorge views, so make a long day of it!

Room Tip: Leave your room and explore the many lounge areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsDDO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Have always wanted to see Timberline lodge. We were fortunate in that we had two days to really experience the craftsmanship of the carvings, stonework, paintings, and creativity that went into building it. Because it was during the week and the off season, we had the opportunity to meet some great people, and have lots of time and space to ourselves. A bonus was the surprise clear weather. Every morning we would wake up to spectacular views of Mount Hood outside our bedroom window. From the front of the lodge, and from the Cascade dining room we could see Jefferson, Broken Top, Sisters . . . We knew that there could be a bit of noise from other rooms, but everyone was respectful, and it really wasn't much of an issue. One word of advice: if you are interested in a tour during the off season, you may want to check ahead of time. They are not always offered. Other thing is to bring some snacks. The food was fine in the dining room and bar, but for hiking snacks that you can probably usually get in the day lodge, you are a bit out of luck. Great stay, and a definite positive check on the bucket list!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BananaFofana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Four (4) people in a King Size Suite with fireplace was pricey but what a memory.
This lodge building is an engineer's delight.
Pray for good weather to see mountains afar.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheWayItWasThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

If you enjoy staying in lodges with character and an amazing history, this is your place! Truly impressive.

We lucked out going when the ski lifts were closed for their annual service, so the lodge was relatively quiet. It was a wonderful place to recharge after spending a few weeks traveling.

The hiking opportunities are very good. We walked part of the PCT through the Mt. Hood Wilderness and it was beautiful - still plenty of wildflowers under the morning frost.

Beware the lodge was constructed before modern soundproofing, but we didn't have an issue. Our "neighbors" all respected the posted quiet time period.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josiebeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timberline Lodge
3.3 mi away
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn
#1 of 2 in Government Camp
547 reviews
8.8 mi away
Cooper Spur Mountain Resort
24.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Whispering Woods Resort
12.3 mi away
Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection
15.9 mi away
Sandy Salmon Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timberline Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timberline Lodge

Address: 27500 E Timberline Rd, Timberline Lodge, OR 97028-9709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Timberline Lodge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Timberline Lodge
Price Range: $147 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Timberline Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Declared a National Historic Landmark in 1977, Timberline Lodge is one of Oregon's most popular tourist attractions. Considered an architectural wonder, it's still being used for its original intent-a magnificent ski lodge and mountain retreat for all to enjoy. Timberline Lodge is filled with amazing spaces. The main headhouse features three fireplaces at the base of a 90 foot chimney. The outdoor patios offer the most stunning views in Oregon. The outdoor pool is heated and open year round. Each room in Timberline Lodge has a unique rustic elegance, yet a modern and comfortable feel. All rooms have period furnishings, artwork and decor. Rooms range from premier fireplace rooms to European style bunk rooms. Timberline offers the longest ski season in North America. The winter season begins early to mid-November and continues through Memorial Day. Our Palmer Express high-speed quad lift allows us to operate later into the summer season than anyone else (usually through Labor Day). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Timberline Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timberline Hotel Timberline Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing