We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXPENSIVE and Worth it Once at Least”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Timberline Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Timberline Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“EXPENSIVE and Worth it Once at Least”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

No reservation, later in evening and they had rooms! Price is steep and unless you get a fireplace room, the rooms are small. The obvious draw is the location and the ambience of the lodge. Romantic, yes, something to do every weekend, not on a budget! I would return.

Room Tip: Of course ask for a Mountain view. The clerks at the desk were very helpful in looking for rooms an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    279
    83
    56
    20
See reviews for
260
411
35
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon Coast
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Nestled on the "timberline" of Mt. Hood, Oregon, the grand old lodge offers beautifully appointed rooms and the elegance befitting a hotel built in that era. It offers spectacular views and it's own ski lifts on property. Skiing is available all year. For those who don't ski, there are many hiking trails accessable in the summer and fall. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank disneymomOregonCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, OR
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

We spent one night at Timberline Lodge on August 30. Husband just returned from trip to Tennessee and we were on our way to Bend area in central Oregon. By the way, we both live in Oregon on the coast. Even though he is a native Beaver State man from Portland, this was his first stay at the historic lodge so you might think it is no big deal, right? Well, it was for him and a pleasant flashback for me.

As they say, they just don't build them like that anymore. The lodge is made of locally harvested massive hewn beams which support the structure during annual snows. It's the 'real deal' from the New Deal-WPA design and construction from the 1930s. Original paintings, carvings, and design work abound. The rooms are smaller, no surpise, but our 3rd floor queen room had great linens and beds. It was already a bit nippy with cold wind by 9:00 pm and a portion of the massive central fireplace was burning and welcoming.

Beyond the undeniable ambiance of another time, we found the personal service and food equal to the setting. The Ram's Head bar offered better quaility pub food on Tuesday night. We chatted with a couples from Connecticut and New Jersey (whose homes went undamaged by the recent hurricane). Ram's Head offered a full line bar and beers, including those produced just a few miles away. Breakfast in the Cascades dining room is a classy act. We enjoyed their extensive buffet with fresh qualityi offerings including Timberline's custom made sausage. Again the original feel of the place has been largely preserved.

It you go, ask if the pool and hot tub are open and consider a dip in this majestic setting with clean air. There is also a sauna tucked away. Timberline is active during ski season. In truth, it never stops because one can ski/board the icy Palmer glacier all year long. The front desk will answer questions about history and activities. We had them check the road reports for closures due to forest fires along our route, for example. The Lodge is a great base for day hikes from its 6000' elevation. We encountered a group of six who were about 2/3 done with hiking the Pacific Crest Trail from Mexico north and really enjoying the quality of the lodge. On clear days, visitors can see several Cascade range peaks to the south. We were pretty socked in with fog on Wednesday morning so expect to enjoy what the climate delivers that day. All in all, Timberline is still a grand resort to restore body and soul perched alone high on Mt. Hood.

Room Tip: Cozy sized with quality linens and beds. Wood panelled walls and floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaboSisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
181 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

My husband and I are staying at the Timberline Lodge, it is a fantastic step back in time. The lodge was constructed in the 1930s by the WPA. Every aspect of the hotel was built by hand, masons artistically formed the massive fireplace, the massive old growth log beams were made by axe and adze, the furniture handmade, wrought iron formed by blacksmiths, much of the materials were recycled. Women in Portland hand made the rugs, quilts, and curtains. Artisans made murals, wood carvings, and mosaics. The rooms are comfortable and beautically appointed in the period. We highly recommend staying here to experience rich American heritage. The restaurants are fabulous too.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank looski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

We spent one night here to attend my niece's wedding. Our queen room was small but comfortable for two adults. We had a view of Mt Hood from our window--quite beautiful! (ask for this view when making your reservation). The decor throughout the lodge was unique and is well worth a visit even if you don't spend the night. Staff was friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
452 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 494 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

Well, what can I say...poor. I had been looking forward to coming here for months it was a highlight of our trip. In fact we had to drive out of our way from yellowstone to come here it took us two days! I so wanted to like this hotel. Unfortunately everything was poor. From arriving to leaving was just disapointment. The place is packed with tourists you cant get a seat. There are queues for everything. The food is apauling. The buffet lunch was like a rugby scrum with old dears pushing and shoving to get food.
We tried the blue ox bar. We waited in an overcroaded bar. there were not enough talbles. We ordered two simple pizzas we waited an hour for mine to arrive. We decided to share it as by the time my wifes arrived another 15 mins later it would have been cold. After sampling the second pizza we both said in unison this isnt the pizza that was ordered a table next to us overheard and said they hadn't received the correct pizza either. We swapped but it still was not the same pizza. We were never asked if the food was ok or for more drinks; remember we were here for 90 mins! The waitress seemed to concerned with serving a group of very loud very drunk bikers who were shouting and swearing so much we couldn't hold a normal conversation, funnily enough there drinks kept coming! The waitress did nothing but pander to there every whim the rest of the place was forgotten. The table next to us left.

The gift shop roof is under renovation causing some confusion getting to the gift shop. We had wanted to do the mile high ride but it was closed we got there just after 2pm!

In summary an awful time and much disapointed.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JohnSunderlandUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

Our daughter was married here in July and many family and friends stayed at the Lodge for at least 2 nights. The location is beautiful and the wedding was wonderful. The staff, the food and the venue were great. We didn't have any issues and the staff was helpful, friendly and accommodating during our stay. Many of the guests took advantage of the location and went hiking, snowboarding, played in the gameroom, went swimming, etc... We look forward to another visit in the future to enjoy some of the amenities that we missed this trip!

Room Tip: Our daughter and her new husband had a fireplace room - I would go for that next time, it was beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catnmike1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timberline Lodge
3.3 mi away
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn
#1 of 2 in Government Camp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
24.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
12.5 mi away
Whispering Woods Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection
15.9 mi away
Sandy Salmon Bed & Breakfast
13.9 mi away
Mt Hood Village RV Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timberline Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timberline Lodge

Property: Timberline Lodge
Address: 27500 E Timberline Rd, Timberline Lodge, OR 97028-9709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Timberline Lodge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Timberline Lodge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Timberline Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Declared a National Historic Landmark in 1977, Timberline Lodge is one of Oregon's most popular tourist attractions, drawing nearly two million visitors every year. Considered an architectural wonder, it's still being used for its original intent-a magnificent ski lodge and mountain retreat for all to enjoy. Timberline Lodge is filled with amazing spaces that beg enjoyment. The main headhouse lobby features three fireplaces at the base of a 90 foot chimney. The outdoor patios offer the most stunning views in Oregon. The outdoor pool is heated and open year round. With so many places to explore all under one roof, you'll feel as if the Lodge is an extension of your guest room. Each room in Timberline Lodge has a unique rustic elegance, yet a modern and comfortable feel. All rooms have period furnishings, artwork and decor. Enjoy fresh powder feather beds, the year 'round heated pool, spa and sauna. Rooms range from premier fireplace rooms to European style bunk rooms. Regardless of which room suits you best, they all share an authentic sense of place found only in one of the Historic Hotels of America. Timberline offers the longest ski season in North America. The winter season typically begins early to mid-November and continues through Memorial Day. Our Palmer Express high-speed quad lift allows us to operate later into the summer season than anyone else (usually through Labor Day). Many years, we're open for fall skiing as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TravelClick, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Timberline Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timberline Hotel Timberline Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing