We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mar Clair Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tillamook
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mar Clair Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Tillamook
Forks
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We spent one night at this motel. The people in the office were friendly and helpful. We were wondering if the first floor room we had at some point would have flooded during a bad winter storm. One minus was no way of cooling the room off other than leaving the small bathroom window open. Plenty of hot water for showering. The supplied soap at least was not made in China. The room and bathroom definitely were clean. The motel is well within walking distance (easy) to restaurants. We don't care about dated, but are looking for clean, with friendly staff and this motel definitely fit those criteria. We would definitely recommend as good value for the money.As other shave said, it definitely depends upon what one is looking for in acomodations.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    18
    9
    9
    5
See reviews for
16
18
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Depoe Bay, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

I spent a weekend at the Mar Clair and was impressed by a few things and disappointed by a few.
As stated in other reviews this is a much older motel that had a remodel a number of years ago. The look and feel is that of an older budget motel. The room I had was comfortable and spotless clean! I had a cable TV on an older style tv, and no problem getting free WiFi on my laptop and phone. The bed was a little soft for me but comfortable, pillows are small and extra soft so if your like me and like bigger pillows, be sure to ask for extras. Some reviews said walls were thin but I did not notice that, I never heard my neighbors at all. The best part for me was the shower, hot water for days and lots of pressure! I did however miss a few amenities. The biggest was no coffee pot in the room, yes they had free coffee and breakfast in the lobby but I am just one of those people that prefers not to see anyone before a cup or two of coffee ;)
It seems so rare to see a motel without a small fridge, coffee pot and a hair dryer that it just seems odd that these are missing from what otherwise would have been a 5 star rating from me. Overall for the price you cannot go wrong with the Mar Clair.

Room Tip: Stay on the "upper level" and you will have a nice easy walk to the convenience store and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzzPwg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes, Washington
Level Contributor
200 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

This motel is dated and has the musty smell of so many older coastal buildings. BUT, during our stay dealt with at least four different front desk folk and they were all friendly and easy going, cept one and he was ok, professiinal but dry. The room was spotless. The bathroom was hideously dated but gowed bright and clean. Bed wasnt plush but not uncomfortable. Tried to leave a tip during stay when we wanted housekeeping to refresh our linens. I even told her it was for her. She was obviously hispanic and i guess she disnt understand. So she was so honest she didnt even take it. Breakfast is pathetic, pastries, canned fruit and coffee. Thats it. So depending on what ur looking for now u'll know if its for u or not. Honest, friendliness and cleanliness are most important to me and they rise to that standard easily.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank posibility409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

A good value,clean,old school motel.Friendly staff with good restaurants within walking distance.
I'll stay here again when traveling through Tillamook.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chevyimpala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, Michigan
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

We were given a suite at the same price as a regular room! It was magnificent! It was like staying in an apartment! Five separate rooms and a second tv in the bedroom! We will always remember this motel as one of the best places we have EVER stayed!

Room Tip: Did not have a pool or fitness center. The restaurant next door, "The Pacific" had delicio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverton, Wyoming
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Its not a five star hotel, but it was a great place to stay over night. The swimming pool and hot tub were both well kept, and even though the rooms were a tiny bit dated, they were clean and everything worked. The front desk clerk was very friendly and the hotel is located right in Tillamook. A great hotel to stay at and very friendly.

Room Tip: Didnt eat at the resturant, but heard great things!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rupert, Idaho
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

We were extermely happy with this room. It is nothing fancy but it will meet your needs. The front desk was very helpful and very friendly. It is very reasonably priced and the room was very spacious. When we return to this area we will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dairygoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tillamook
1.1 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Tillamook
1.3 mi away
The Ashley Inn of Tillamook
7.8 mi away
Garibaldi House Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Garibaldi
Econo Lodge Garibaldi
#3 of 3 in Garibaldi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.4 mi away
Western Royal Inn
Western Royal Inn
#2 of 3 in Tillamook
3.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
11.7 mi away
Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel
Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel
#3 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mar Clair Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar Clair Motel

Property: Mar Clair Motel
Address: 11 Main Ave, Tillamook, OR 97141-2315
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Tillamook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Tillamook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
Mar Clair Hotel Tillamook
Mar Clair Motel Tillamook, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing