We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Artisan Cheeses”

Blue Heron French Cheese Company
Ranked #1 of 52 Restaurants in Tillamook
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Blue Heron French Cheese Company offers a gourmet tasting experience and fun for the whole family. Enjoy free samples of gourmet cheese (including our famous Blue Heron Brie), taste the region's finest wines, and wander thru the one-of-a-kind gift store. Try the Blue Heron Deli with fresh baked bread and homemade soups and salads. Outside your family will enjoy visiting with the animals at our petting farm and relaxing in our picnic area. Open seven day a week, year round.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
280 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Wonderful Artisan Cheeses”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

A must stop in Tillamook this cheese factory makes some wonderful cheeses and you can taste them all before you buy a bunch, which you certainly will.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank csimmamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    87
    34
    9
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Saucy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

lots of dips and sauces to try here. plus a wine tasting bar. also a petting zoo outside. a free tour but it is not a factory or anything. just a tasting tour.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minden, NV
Level Contributor
543 reviews
354 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
“Best cheese tasting in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

After a disappointing tour at the Tillamook cheese factory, I really had to convince the hubby to stop at Blue Heron. We are SO glad we did. Tasted several kinds of cheese and were so impressed that we bought some. Didn't need any wine, but the selection was impressive. Everyone was friendly, helpful and cheerful. We only stayed about 30 minutes - but really enjoyed it. One of the staff gave us a great tip about buying sausages across the street at Debbie D's Sausages. We have allergies - so we didn't stop at the petting area , but it seemed very popular.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Worth the visit!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

It's a nice counterpoint to Tillamook cheese factory. Not sure if they make anything themselves. More of a store than anything else, though they do serve food as well. They have a ton of samples, and some interesting and hard to find cheeses. Plus, lots of interesting Oregon food souvenirs.
When it was crowded, which was often, the service was incrediboly slow, and the lines were ridiculously long.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dougmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Road Trip - Caffeine & Goodies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

We were just passing through Tillamook and I was in need of some caffeine! It looked like a fun place from the road and I am so happy we stopped in. There was a little something for everybody. They had a small petting zoo area. There were guinea hens running around. They had picture cut-outs of a donkey, cow & another one. There were picnic tables, flower areas and some kind of old piece of machinery. The building looked like an old farm house :) Inside I was happily greeted by an espresso machine :) my husband quickly found the wine tasting area :) Next we stopped by the cheese tasting area and there was a nice girl that helped us try out two brie cheeses we ended up taking with us. The rind on the brie wasn't even noticable. Usually it is not even palatable to me. We had the pepper & garlic/herb brie that was so good! There were also many other little tasting areas with pretzel sticks to try berry syrups & sauces, dips and more. There was a restaurant area, but it was after 5 by the time we stopped by so it was closed. There were all kinds of different gifts and treats. This was such an great unexpected stop! We really enjoyed ourselves and it was nice to get out of the car.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chelsi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Heron French Cheese Company also viewed

 
Pacific City, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Blue Heron French Cheese Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing