We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cape Lookout State Park CABINS... WOW!!!!!!!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tillamook
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cape Lookout State Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2012

So while the cabins are technically part of the campground and the state park, they are off in a section set back from the beach/bbq area.

When we reserved our cabin online, we were a little confused because there wasn't a ton of information and Oregon has so many State Parks on the coast (which all of them seem to be awesome, by the way!!!). Well we booked Netarts cabin for one night and wished we had booked it for many more. The cabin has 2 rooms and a bathroom.

You walk in and the main living area consists of a futon (to your immediate left), table and 2 chairs (to your immediate right), a t.v. and VCR (possibly DVD player, on this part I am unsure) left in the corner hidden away in an armoire, which I can only assume is for rainy days and to keep the kids entertained. On your right almost across from the door is a fridge, sink and cabinets. I recall there being running water. There is a propane grill outside on the porch, it's not huge but will be hand for up to 4 or 5 people. This grill is well made and has a ignition that works so you don't need a long lighter.

The bedroom has some shelving on the left, and there is a bunk bed with a full bed on bottom and single up top. There are windows throughout. Off of the bedroom (to the right from the front door) is the bathroom. It has a nice shower (no tub) and industrial toilet. The whole unit would be fine for someone with a wheelchair or even an older person. Parking is less than 30 seconds away for a person with no limitations, and only a few minutes for a senior with mobility issues. They had no carts to move our stuff in, but even still it didn't take long and we brought a lot of stuff in. You will need to bring your own sleeping bags, pillows, etc. The units are a minute or two from the day use bbq area and frankly these are the nicest cabins I have ever seen at a state park. I bet they book up quickly. The Yurts in Oregon State Parks are awesome as well, but having your own bathroom and shower as well as fridge and faucet make these amazing. Oh, outside you have a picnic table and fire ring. Netarts cabin is a little close to the nearest cabin but it didn't bother us at all.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank troy mcclure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 108 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2012

We got rained out and had to leave a day early, so choose your site carefully. If it rains and you have one of the dirt campsites as opposed to the grass, you'll be swimming in mud! Close to the beach and it was beautiful on the nice day. Saw a pod of whales swimming around. Was very busy and a lot of traffic drove by our site (C27) but was a nice place. I preferred Cape Disappointment, but would go back to Cape Lookout again with better weather!

Bathrooms were a little bit of a trek from the campsite and we could hear cars throughout the night so I think the main road wasn't that far behind where we were camping.

Nice place though, would recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SC1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

The camp sites were incredible and the beach is so close that you fall asleep to the sound of waves.......incredible!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mamarayeugene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

My husband and I stayed on night here with our boxer. For looking so open, I would agree with other reviews that you have privacy. We booked last minute, so I assumed our spot would be the one no one wanted. Maybe it was, but I thought it was fine. B19 was our spot. The dense shrubbery around our site gave us quite a bit of privacy. There was so many kids riding on their bikes. So many people in general. I guess it was FULL, but you are very aware of how many our there. The washrooms were kinda stinky and damp, you know. There was just so much traffic using them, even if they cleaned them regularly they'd probably still be kinda gross. Didn't use the showers. The beach is exactly how others described. Very easy access to it and you walk over a hump to the beach and it's that beautiful white powder that oregon has. But if the tides in, it would suck, cause there is a lot of huge rocks, THEN powder, but nothing if tide was in. The tide was out when we went, so it was fabulous. I just like Nehalem State park alot more for privacy and beach.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank figgymcfruity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We loved it. I agree with other reviewers some campsites are kind of open and not private and some are very private. Our inlaws were right on the corner of D loop and it was a main thorough fare to get to the beach. Lot's of people, some nice, some annoying. We were right next door and we were very secluded with bushes all around and an awesome space for our son to set up his tent (we were in a small trailer). The best and worst spaces are tent sites. Some of them were beautiful and very private, some open to the whole camp. Otherwise a great campground, great beach, great staff, great time. We will definitely go back.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank surfval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Friendly staff, perfect location, clean facilities. We will defiantly return. Right on the beach and only 10 min from Tillamook. Pick your campsite carefully. Some sites have no privacy and others too much wind. We have no complaints.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Javejunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

This was my second trip with friends to Cape Lookout our first trip was good but once you get a layout of the park it can be much better. Our first tent site was c17 right by the meeting hall. We got stuck singing old hymns for an hour while trying to make polite excuses. The campsite had bushes on two sides but everything else was very open. This last time we went camping there we picked c18 since we scoped it out before. The campsite is pretty much perfect the campsite east of it isn't right next to it and your car blocks out c16. there is a small creek that runs right behind it and you just have to jump over that to get to the trail. Make sure to go to Oceanside and walk as far north as you can(through the cliff wall) and see if you find any starfish!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mt_megz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tillamook
9.4 mi away
The Ashley Inn of Tillamook
9.4 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Tillamook
17.9 mi away
Surfside Resort
Surfside Resort
#1 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Pacific City RV & Camping Resort
22.2 mi away
Paradise Cove RV Resort & Marina
Paradise Cove RV Resort & Marina
#6 of 6 in Rockaway Beach
29 reviews
6.2 mi away
Oceanside Inn
Oceanside Inn
#1 of 4 in Oceanside
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Lookout State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Lookout State Park

Address: 13000 Whiskey Creek Road, Tillamook, OR
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Tillamook
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Tillamook
Also Known As:
Cape Lookout State Park Hotel Tillamook
Cape Lookout State Park Tillamook, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing