We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tillamook Cheese Factory
Open today: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Review Highlights
Educational

Been visiting this place since I was a child. The recent remodel is very nice. My only complaint... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Luv2sing4U
,
Kalispell, Montana
via mobile
tillamook cheese

We stop to see the new building it very nice the gift shop is gone to bad the old one was great and... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
rlhouser01
,
Maple Valley, Washington
Read all 3,042 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Tillamook
from $100.00
More Info
from $250.00
More Info
Reviews (3,042)
Filter reviews
3,042 results
Traveler rating
1,309
1,065
458
150
60
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,309
1,065
458
150
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ice cream self guided tour cheese samples tillamook cheese gift shop squeaky cheese free samples production line dairy products new building waffle cone yogurt fun stop tomato soup for sale oregon coast free tour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 3,042 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We are big fans of Tillamook Creamery products (we get them in California). Have wanted to visit the plant. We got there early and it was not busy. Nice self-guided tour - which I think is a misnomer. You do not need a guide. The signs and windows on the cheese line remind me of the U.S. Mint. Lets you see the process of producing, cutting, packaging cheddar cheese. In the visit you get to sample some. There is also a gift shop of very nice, but not cheap items. Then, there is also ice cream to purchase as well as a restaurant. The meals are large. It is self service and the room is a little noisy but there is also an outside eating area which is more subdued. I have read other reviews saying that the food was expensive. For the portions it does not seem that expensive. The ticket may be to share a main dish and especially a side of cheese flies.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Maconthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Loved the cheese samples. It was super crowded on the rainy day we went mid week. The tour is a set of about 15 windows overlooking the factory floor below. Interesting panels described what you were seeing. We needed something to do on a rainy day during our day trip to the coast from Portland. Otherwise i don’t know if I would drive the 90 minutes from Portland for this

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank lhs624PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

To me the food was the best part of visiting the factory. Seeing the factory machines was interesting, but the food was great. You MUST GET THE FRIED CHEESE CURDS, unbelievably good. We tried the Pimento Burger, pizza, and grilled cheese... all good.

Pro Tip: Go for dinner, not lunch. The crowds can get crazy mid day, but if you go the last 1-2 hours that they are open there's hardly anyone there.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank jacksonpcannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We appreciated the informative self-guided tour and loved the ability to view multiple steps in the viewing area. We weren’t actually able to see the cheese making process, though.

We were blown away by the gift shop - so many options! We did notice the trend of many gift shops this time of year (end of summer) running out of many sizes of popular items, so we weren’t able to purchase several items we otherwise would have.

The dining hall was great as well. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We loved the cheese curds and the “pepperolli.” The cheese fries were alright but not something I’d order again. Try the Marionberry bar for dessert! Amazing.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank TravellingStudent16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I always wanted to go here, and i was a little let down. There isnt much to the "tour". You just walk down a hallway and view the factory from above. Cool to see, but There was maybe a half an hour you could spend there and then you are done. Food was expensive. Good place for ice cream though. Parking is crazy, even on a Tuesday.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank Zoezoerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews