We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cape Meares Lighthouse and Wildlife Refuge
Ranked #1 of 23 things to do in Tillamook
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Amazing”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Amazing views and very short hike. Kid friendly and great experience. Several viewpoints and good for all ages.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarpenterKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    400
    169
    40
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairport, New York
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Lovely trail to scenic lighthouse”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Hot day so the shady trail with scenic overlooks was refreshingly lovely, views of cliffs and sea birds, ocean rocks and then the cute lighthouse - a place not to be missed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank GrammaTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA state
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“First time in a light house!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The lighthouse walk wasn't much to get to, and the tour of the lighthouse was fun. The site and view were amazing! Fun for the family with kids.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank the_proms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearfield, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Worth the drive - Visit the Lighthouse & Octopus tree at the same stop”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and I came here a few years ago for our anniversary. This time we brought our children (17, 14, 11) with us. It was as good the second time as it was the first. I am not sure why one of the reviewers indicated difficult walkways. From the parking lot, it is a straight shot down to the lighthouse (coming back up is a little workout as it is up-hill). There are great ocean views from the lighthouse. While we were there this time we saw a whale (a nice and unexpected treat). After visiting the lighthouse, take the time to walk the other direction to see the Octopus Tree. It is not a long hike, and the tree is pretty neat to see in person. At the parking lot, the kids also had fun “playing” with the squirrels who were very friendly and not afraid of people. The signage along the roads to get to the lighthouse was a bit confusing as it made it sound as if the road was closed. The closed road is just the other side of the lighthouse turnoff and is part of the old Cape Mears Loop.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Sweeping ocean views & informative tour”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

A short loop walking path from takes you from the parking lot to the historic lighthouse, with coastal views along the way. The lighthouse and adjoining gift shop are run by volunteers--very pleasant and eager to share history and park information. I enjoyed walking up the spiral staircase and hearing the stories shared by the volunteer. From the parking lot, it's another short walk to the Octopus Tree and glorious views of the spectacular Oregon coastline. From the viewing platform at the parking area, 2 other volunteers were answering questions and helping visitors spot birds nesting on the rocks near the water.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Meares Lighthouse and Wildlife Refuge also viewed

Tillamook, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Cape Meares Lighthouse and Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing