We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean, but out dated and maintenance issue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Tillamook
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tillamook
Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location, clean, but out dated and maintenance issue”
Reviewed April 26, 2010

The hotel was in a great location in Tillamook. It is right between the Tillamook cheese factory and Blue Heron cheese. Conveniently across the street are a Fred Meyer Dept store and a Denny's. The Shilo restaurant seems to close a bit early at 9PM.
The room was comfortable but dated. It is a mixture of light oak and baby blue. Even though it was obviously late 80's/early 90's it was obvious that the ownership took pride in keeping the rooms clean. It was a bit awkward that the bathroom consisted of a tub/shower and a toilet. The sink was outside, opposite the bathroom door, right next to the hotel room door. If you are modest it may be uncomfortable to prepare for the day out in the open if you have guests with you. My only gripe was the stem in the bath tub that switches the tub faucet to the shower head was missing the piece you grab to pull on. I had to firmly grasp the small diameter stem and pull uncomfortably. I brought this to the attention of the front desk at checkout ant the reply was many rooms have this issue and the maintenance people are aware of it. The front desk person even related how she understood my complaint because she has difficulty pulling on the stem also to make the shower work. I imagine senior citizens may not be able to use the shower if they get a room that has this problem. So keep this in mind when choosing where to stay. BTW...this hotel uses actual room keys. Be careful not to lose yours because the room number is engraved on the key. Whoever finds it will know which room they could have access to.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nommel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    118
    95
    46
    25
See reviews for
134
116
23
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ogden, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2010

The Rooms were clean. Beds were pretty comfortable. They had a small kitchenette with sink, electric stove, fridge, and microwave. 2 seat Dinette. The rooms are looking aged and bit worn but were clean and quiet. Shilo had a pool, spa and fitness center. No continental breakfast, they would like you to dine in the resturant.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bullitt1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2010

This is an adequate hotel with friendly and efficient staff and a decent restaurant for breakfast. Our room was clean and comfortable - until bedtime. Then we discovered that the wall-mounted heating unit rattled and roared like a lawnmower, making sleep impossible. Figuring a room change that late wasn't worth the hassle, we turned the unit off and risked freezing in the dark. The experience leads me to wonder how often management turns on these units to see how they actually perform.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterGrant76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tillamook hotels

bend
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2010

I had a great stay at Shilo Inn at Tillamook, I needed help to stay one more night and the front office gave that help.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustHaveingfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2010

Wonderful treatment , Awesome room Wonderful view of oean , Not overly expencive , Awesome resturant, Quite just wonderful stay!!!!!!!

Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CathyS4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2010

My wife and I stayed two nights, along with our dog. Overall, I recommend with caveats.The room was alright for the price. Have to watch the coffee mugs though- they seal the tops with clear saran wrap. Made a bit of a mess trying to pour coffee while half asleep. Hotel is pet friendly for a fee, which is good. However the hotel grounds are not pet friendly. Had one employee yell at us for dog being on the grass. There are signs every 20 feet to keep pets off everywhere but sidewalk and parking lot. Oh, we did find a 10x10 'pet walk' back in a corner. It was a literal mud hole and had about three inches of standing water while we were there. Ended up taking the dog to a field across the highway. The attached restaurant is roughly equal to Denny's with slightly higher prices. Wait staff was friendly but service was slow even with almost no one in the restaurant. Only other concern is that the exterior hallway door had no lock. And I noticed a homeless guy sleeping in a shed across the street while I was out with the dog.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjzman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2010

We travel to Tillamook from Seattle several times a year. We have stayed at the Shilo exclusively for the last several years. We stayed at the BW once, and it was new then, We inquired about rates with them the next year and they booked the room without my permission and charged my account as a "NO SHOW"!!!! The Shilo was built in the mid 80's and I agree is due for a remodel. Shilo Inns are in the process of doing exactly that throughout their properties. I like having an on-site restarauant so that I do not have to drive again when I am tired, just to go and eat. I was personally greeted by the Hotel Manager and told that My room was ready. The Tillamook Shilo staff is always attentive to our needs and we are treated like family there. Not the newest hotel in Tillamook, Just the second newest. Any BW is always kind of a hit or miss affair. Some are great, some are some really old,weird kind of places. Shilo Inns are a Family run company, and they really take pride in what they do. I reccomend any Shilo run restarauant for their Holiday buffets! Their corparate Chef is very good, and they always put on one of the finest displays you will ever see for the price. We always feel pampered at the Tillamook Shilo (I have never seen a spider inside the building, You can however,smell cows from time to time OUTSIDE!) Cows are one the smells of MONEY:) In Tillamook!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5ptelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tillamook
0.2 mi away
The Ashley Inn of Tillamook
6.8 mi away
Garibaldi House Inn & Suites
6.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Garibaldi
Econo Lodge Garibaldi
#3 of 3 in Garibaldi
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Inn At Cape Kiwanda
Inn At Cape Kiwanda
#1 of 3 in Pacific City
496 reviews
11.6 mi away
Surfside Resort
Surfside Resort
#1 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
783 reviews
0.7 mi away
Western Royal Inn
Western Royal Inn
#2 of 3 in Tillamook
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Tillamook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Tillamook

Property: Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Tillamook
Address: 2515 Main Ave N, Tillamook, OR 97141-9208
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Tillamook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tillamook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Tillamook 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Tillamook is located on the banks of the Wilson River near the famous Tillamook Cheese Factory and within easy driving distance to the Pacific Ocean and Tillamook Bay for fishing and coastal activities. With its close proximity to mountains, rivers and beaches, Tillamook County is a great place to play and the Shilo Inn Suites Hotel is the place to stay! Children 17 and under always stay free with an adult at Shilo Inns. Dogs welcome with nominal fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Tillamook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Tillamook
Tillamook Shilo Inn
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Tillamook Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing