We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GOOD GERMAN EXPERIENCE” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gustav's German Pub & Grill

Gustav's German Pub & Grill
Ranked #4 of 153 Restaurants in Tigard
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: German, Bar, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Gustav's is a favorite for casual dining. Serving lunch and dinner, the menu features a savory array of European and Northwest Specialties to suit any taste and appetite.
Tigard, Oregon
Level Contributor
708 reviews
493 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“GOOD GERMAN EXPERIENCE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

If it is German food you are hankering for, this is the place. There are a number of locations throughout the Portland area and all have been consistently good. Very good selection of German beer available, including a sampler for those who cannot make up their minds. Generally have the sausage trio dinner, so I can taste three different kids of brats, and they are always good. Potato cakes are always good as is the red cabbage. Very friendly and relaxing atmosphere. Good service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HARRY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    74
    24
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great happy hour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I really enjoy Gustav's happy hour. Their cheese fondue is excellent. The different sausages are really good. At lunch, they have the trio which is soup, salad and cheese bread. Very tasty.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JanPW59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
164 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Nice little place to grab something at the Portland airport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stopped here for lunch 09/14/13, while waiting for our flight out of Gate C14 at the Portland airport. The menu selection is good.

I ordered the Caesar Salad with chicken - Vey Good!
My Fiancée ordered the Sausage sandwich with fries - Also Very Good!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Engineer_Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Happy Hour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was our first time at Gustav's and I've never been to any of the other locations either. They were open on Labor Day and available for us when we were hungry. The service (Thanks Jena!) was impeccable, by our waitress and the other two gentlemen dressed nicely - manager(s)? We tried a handful of items, including the fondue sampler, sausages, soup (butternut squash), steelhead and meatballs. The fondue was my favorite - delicious! The beer suggestions were also very helpful - I'll be on the lookout for grapefruit hefeweizen in the future. :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank phoenix_heart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food and huge portions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great German food and non-German food, too. The French dip sandwich was huge and could be split between 2 people. The noodles and cheese sauce was very tasty. The staff is very friendly and never rushed us even though the place was packed!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LarrysMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gustav's German Pub & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Gustav's German Pub & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing