We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Authentic Enjoyable Experience”

Gustav's German Pub & Grill
Ranked #4 of 159 Restaurants in Tigard
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Gustav's is a favorite for casual dining. Serving lunch and dinner, the menu features a savory array of European and Northwest Specialties to suit any taste and appetite.
Kelowna, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious Authentic Enjoyable Experience”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Started off dinner with a delicious soup "Sauerkraut Bisque" Very creamy, tart, crisp flavor, but not overpowering like you would think with sauerkraut.
The Wiener Schnitzel, was very good, the portions were huge.
We still had room for an outstanding chocolate dessert!!!
Overall experience was great.
The atmosphere was relaxing.
Our server Cameron was awesome, and of course my date was divine!!!
Left my sweater behind, but the amazing staff found it for me.
Thanks guys!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank donnamaynot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    78
    25
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newberg, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Authentic as it gets”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Lunch at Gustav's was an enjoyable experience. The jäger schnitzel was just like what I remember from my time in Germany. The menu was loaded with great options and the service was first rate.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Art S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maricopa, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
482 reviews
365 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“We Had Just An Average Dinner Here”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

On October 19, 2012 we met a family member here for dinner. Our party of four were seated within minutes of our reservation.

For starters we had a cheese fondue that was kind of small for our party of four people. It was ok but small. Beers were ordered for all of us. Each different beer type was serve in a mug with the logo on it. Two of us ordered the Wiener Schnitzel while the rest had Rheinischer Sauerbraten.

Since I had the Sauerbraten, I'll report on that. It arrived on a cool plate that robbed the meal of its heat–that's the reason for my downgrade of this restaurant. Any hot meal should be served that way–HOT. Otherwise full enjoyment will be less. The Sauerbraten was tasty but cooled off fast. There were about three pieces of meat that was soft and really didn't require a knife to cut it.

My wife ordered the Wiener Schnitzel and reported that it was good but also noted it cooled off fast. A hallmark of an excellent restaurant is a hot meal. Maybe the owners will read this and adjust their serving method?

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PropellerJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tasty place!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

the vancouver restaurant has a cooler theming but the restaurant was good. It had real fantastic german food, and great service. Also keep in mind we ate here at about 4:00 so it was early. Would highly recommend to eat here!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Real German food”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I have been to Germany several times and the food here takes authentic. Great for comfort food on a cold rainy day. Good selection of European beers. Sometimes crowded on weekends.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steve-h132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gustav's German Pub & Grill also viewed

 
Lake Oswego, Clackamas County
 

Been to Gustav's German Pub & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing