We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great tacos, good price...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sanchez Taqueria

Sanchez Taqueria
Ranked #54 of 153 Restaurants in Tigard
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
96 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“great tacos, good price...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

While we spent 2 weeks in Oregon, we visited this place at least 3 times. Good prices, great tacos. We got the orders to go and they were ready super fast.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank godh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    14
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not the best Mex food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

My wife drove by and said it was "packed" for lunch. So we went for dinner. Her Marguerita was super salty and weak. They replaced it with a beer, no charge. Much appreciated. My tamale was all masa and very little meat. Enchilada was weak on filling and flavor and my tostada was mainly beans. Couldn't taste the meat. All were dry. The garnish of cabbage, cilantro was nice, but couldn't add enough flavor. My wife's dish was a bit better, but lacked much flavor. Maybe this is what authentic Mex food is supposed to taste like. If so, then it is authentic. Floor was pretty dirty too. We won't return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Davis23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
“Wonderful surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

I had heard good reviews, but had not tried it. We placed a to go order Saturday night. The food was fantastic, especially the fish tacos. They use a nice piece of baked fish, not deep fried. The salsas were great. The refried beans were excellent. The order was accurate. The price was extremely reasonable. It was a great experience. I can't wait to go back.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank A F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tualatin
Level Contributor
253 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“A really nice taqueria”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Good place for a nice lunch. Not really a place for a romantic evening. It's got a large selection of choices (tacos, of course, but much more) which you order at the counter and are then served at your table. I've had a burrito (large and authentic), tacos, and the tamales, and even a macaroon cookie. Yes, it is a bakery, too, and the bakery scents are everywhere! With so many a la carte selections it's easy to go small or go large depending on appetite which has made this a great go-to place for groups from work.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank almyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
119 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Can't judge a book by its cover!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Despite what some consider a relatively modest exterior, which has nothing to do with the quality or taste of the food, I enjoy this conveniently located place for a late breakfast (or early lunch) for a number of good reasons; the order desk is located at the entryway, so you enter, place your order and take a seat. I am invariably greeted with courtesy and enthusiasm, food preparation is reasonably prompt, the ingredients are fresh, the tacos and burritos are tasty, and it fits into my budget for lunch. For example, I had two chicken tacos and a beverage this January morning for only $6.
The air is scented with the aroma of fresh bread. Conversation doesn't have to compete with street or kitchen noises. In discussion, a friend commented that he'd passed it every morning on the way to work, but didn't consider the exterior attractive or inviting enough to draw him in. What has that to do with the taste or freshness of the food? The interior is pleasant, and the staff seems to enjoy their work. I think it's a comfortable place to eat my simple meal and ponder the path of my day, and I recommend it to others who appreciate the same features.
As I eased out of the parking space this morning to rejoin the northbound traffic on Hwy 99, I wondered if I'd reviewed Sanchez Tagueria already and realized I'd overlooked doing so. That was an oversight. Let me recommend it as worth a visit if you're in the area, and I'm well aware there are other Mexican eateries and fast-food vendors nearby.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sixgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sanchez Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing