We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vegan for beginners” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Native Foods Cafe

Native Foods Cafe
Ranked #11 of 153 Restaurants in Tigard
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: 503-968-9999
Portland, Oregon, USA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Vegan for beginners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

I second one of the other reviews here, this restaurant is a perfect place to introduce vegan food. Had one of the wraps with crispy "chicken", which was served with a side of a very potent and flavorful salsa. I'm normally not a big fan of vegetarian food or fake chicken, but this place is different. On the slightly expensive side for lunch, but well worth the trip. Good beer selection, too. Will definitely be back! Nice outdoor patio.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mthoodskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    34
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hanford, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Healthy, Great, Fresh!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

Whole eating is quite the challenge these days. But this new restaurant has mastered local, organic, fresh and highly healthy foods! It's a great place, where anything on the menu is good for you!
Both of out meals were fantastic, the service was great and we dined happily under a heater on the patio. I would recommended this place to anyone who is vegetarian, gluten-free, vegan, health conscious or anyone who wants a good meal...the way it's supposed to be made!
I want one in my hometown!!!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kidsnt0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
303 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“So much better than I expected for vegan fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

We stopped in here while out shopping, looking for light fare. As we stood outside perusing the menu some folks came out and told us the food was delicious so we gave it a try. You enter, and order at the front. The cashier explains anything you need to know, as does the menu. The two dishes we had were definitely very good. I had the Kale, avocado,slaw salad and my daughter had the Gyro. Everything is made fresh, including the meat substitutes which are made on site. Most, if not all, is gluten free. The beverages are very refreshing, and oh my, let me mention the carrot cupcake. Dense, rich, moist, yummy. Though I am not vegan, or even vegetarian, I can appreciate the deliciousness of nicely prepared food. I love that there is this option in a shopping center for those who prefer this type of diet. I will go again and I recommend trying it. The menu is pretty extensive.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank barbdpayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

What a great change of pace from the usual establishments. Great food and selection-haven't had a bad or even so-so dish yet. My friend and I were able to split a dish and were full. Staff is friendly and helpful. You need to try this restaurant!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank G D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic Introduction to Vegan Eating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

My first vegan meal was at this restaurant on our first day in Portland. What a pleasant surprise to say the least. The food is fresh, the desserts are to die for, and the staff was exemplary. Our waiter remembered us 12 days later when we came back in the night before our flight back home. Anyone would like to eat here. I'm glad they have locations in Chicagoland, too. Give it a try.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Native Foods Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Native Foods Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing