We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place To Stay In The Portland Area!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland - Tigard
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Tigard
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
164 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Great Place To Stay In The Portland Area!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed here for 8 nights (Sept. 4 - 12, 2013) and thought it was a good place.
You can call Toll Free: (800) 624-6884 for reservations.
We hope to stay here again when we are in the Portland area.

The beds are very comfortable with lots of small bed pillows. They also provide one long round pillow across the bed.

We were told by one of he employees that they were going to start the conversion to a Double Tree Hotel that week. The location is 2 blocks off the SW Greenburg Road exit of Hwy 217.

They serve a nice little hot breakfast in the morning, 7-10 am. Jacob does a great job keeping the tables and counter clean for the guests. He also presents a friendly attitude which, added to a cheerful beginning of the day for us. They also have the USA Newspaper available for free at the front desk.

In the afternoon, they have some fresh cookies on the front desk and coffee available on a table across the way. The front desk staff are friendly and very helpful. There is a computer available in the front lobby area, if you need to check on something or print your Boarding Pass.

They have Wi-Fi in the hotel, so you can work from your room. They also have Free HBO.
The location is within walking distance of the large Washington Square shopping center and Mall. They do have a shuttle bus that can take you over to the Mall.

We did have to ask for additional bath towels and asked them to refill the soap dispenser in the bath. They don't have bar soap provided in the bath. If you need some, ask for some at the front desk. They are very "GREEN" minded in Portland.

A/C Units are under the window, you can control the fan speed (2 speeds) and temp.
They do have an indoor pool and spa.

Rates a Return: Absolutely!
Discounts: If you stay 7 nights.

Room Tip: I don't think you can get a bad room location but, the even number rooms face the courtyard in B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Engineer_Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    138
    63
    37
    15
See reviews for
150
91
25
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I have stayed in quite a few Phoenix Inns, I will never stay in this one again. It was decent, I'm glad I was there alone rather than with my family. The hallways smelled strongly of some sort of air freshener or potpourri, it smelled as though they were covering something up, the non-smoking room smelled like an ashtray. I will say the rooms were clean and the bed was cozy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsJBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I travel a lot and so have inevitably stayed in hotels that have switched over to non-smoking. However, I've never encountered anything this bad. We signed an agreement that we would not smoke and agreed to pay a $150 fine if we did. So imagine our surprise when we opened the door to the room and were blown back by the smoke smell. The desk staff told us, "Huh. Someone else must have smoked in that room at some point." Clearly, no effort was made to change out carpeting, draperies and wallpaper. In fact, my eyes are burning. Never again, will we stay here or any Phoenix Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oshanno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Oregon
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

When I booked a mystery Hotwire hotel, I was a bit nervous when I saw that Phoenix Inn was the property. After being a loyal Phoenix Inn customer for several years, a bad experience at the Lake Oswego property had kept me away for over a year. The Tigard property had been the one place where I'd always enjoyed a stay with a clean room, comfortable beds and excellent customer service. Unfortunately, some of that has changed for the worse.

The location is excellent; easy off I5, next to Washington Square Mall, with The Cheesecake Factory and other good eateries nearby. The property itself isn't much to see, but has an indoor pool (small, but clean), included continental breakfast (adequate and a nice inclusion), and ample parking.

The problems we ran into on this visit related to unresponsive, disinterested front desk staff and lack of basic property upkeep.

The free coffee in the lobby was cold; two nights in a row. Front desk staff were told about the issue and we were told 'I know' or 'I'll let you know when it's hot' without asking our name or room number. The usual fresh baked cookies, were not there either. These were little things, but disappointing none the less. The response to it by staff - more than the issues themselves.

The breakfast room (which we were directed to go through to get to our room), had visible stains on the carpet. Admittedly, things get dirty, but it really didn't make us want to eat there.

Visible hand prints in the elevators were ignored for the two days we were there. Again, a little thing, but it speaks to the general disinterest in the upkeep of the property.

In our room's bathroom the wallpaper around the shower was peeling. The tub was dirt stained. I've used eraser-type cleaning pads to remove these stains in my own tub, so seeing them in our tub at the Phoenix just showed a lack of attention to the issue. A dispenser with shampoo and soap, but no conditioner.

Our refrigerator in the room made a loud ticking noise most of the night, and the AC in the room had a fan that went on and off all night (no matter what setting we chose).

The beds are comfortable, and I enjoyed the soft pillows. The TV in the room was a 40" LCD, and HBO was a nice perk. A love seat, two queen beds, table with two chairs, coffee table, and a bench for suitcases were all appreciated.

Despite being on the 3rd (out of 4 floors), and near the elevator, our room was quiet when the fridge and/or the AC were not chattering.

I wish the front desk staff cared a bit more about the comfort of the guests. I wish they were more responsive to the upkeep of the property and the 'little things' that in the past set Phoenix Inns apart.

As it stands this property is just average. If you get a room at the right price, you might like it, but with so many other options at this price point which have better customer service, I'll be looking to actively pursue other options for my future Portland area stays.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4th floor at the back of the property for the most quiet accommodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tartallini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband and I loved our stay 1st night out in awhile and decided to try out somewhere by the mall. It made shopping so much easier and we were able to walk to dinner across the street. Great recommendation from the front desk for dinner. Rooms were clean and comfy. It was quite the busy weekend from the looks of it but the noise was only in the main areas, our room was quiet. Breakfast was yummy, was able to take food upstairs and have breakfast in bed. Such a treat! Will defininently stay again. A+ all around.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wallawalla2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We've been long time customers,and have always had a pleasant stay here. This year, their rates went up $40 (from same time last year). When I was trying to book, no discounts were given, as they had been given in the past, and the attitude was that it didn't matter to them if we stayed with them or not. Too bad, because we were always impressed before this. There are other hotels for far less money who are willing to price match,and they are equally rated. We will be staying somewhere else from now on. Review of stay at this hotel as far as cleanliness, sleep quality, location and room service were based on last August, 2012. Customer service and value is based on August 2013 while trying to book room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeKay237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Large rooms, convient access to the freeways & shopping. Front Desk staff very pleasant. The Gym consisnts of one Treadmill, Elipitical, and Recumbant bike with minimal dumbells, the local streets are busy and narrow with inconsistent sidewalks so jogging is out. There are some trails with a few miles if you know where to go (Fanno Creek Trail).

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room ask for Room 324 or another on the same side of the floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tigard
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square
4.0 mi away
Grand Hotel At Bridgeport
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Southwest
Comfort Suites Southwest
#52 of 139 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland/Lake Oswego
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn Tigard
Quality Inn Tigard
#5 of 9 in Tigard
3.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwind Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland - Tigard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland - Tigard

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland - Tigard
Address: 9575 SW Locust Street, Tigard, OR 97223-6677 (Formerly Phoenix Inn Suites Tigard)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Tigard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Tigard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland - Tigard 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel conveniently located 15 min from downtown Portland with comfortable guest rooms, indoor pool, onsite restaurant, complimentary WiFi, in-room microwave and refrigerator, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland - Tigard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Inn Suites Tigard Hotel Tigard
Phoenix Hotel Tigard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing