We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy room and a value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland - Tigard
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Tigard
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfy room and a value”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Stayed here to visit family living in Beaverton. Great place to stay; the bed was comfortable and the room was clean. They don't have flat screen t.v.s and the cable was old fashioned but overall a great place to stay. The continental breakfast was good and had variety. The hotel is close to a mall and restaurants, Red Lobster, TGIFridays, Gustav's and Cheesecake Factory. Starbucks is right across the street. The pool and hot tub were clean and worked great. The workout room was the area of issue for me. The room is very small and doesn't have good ventilation. The bike and elliptical machines were in need of maintenance and the the only machine that did work was the treadmill. There were free weights but not very many. Overall great place to stay but needs a new workout room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ree707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    138
    63
    37
    15
See reviews for
150
91
25
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Yelm, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Beds are soft, room is clean and air conditioner was on so room was ready to relax in!! It is within walking distance of the Washington Square Mall.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sasha Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel twice. Once in July 2007 and again in April 2012. It was not as nice this time around as I had recalled from the prior stay. However, the location in the Portland area is great. Next to Washington Square Mall and tons of restaurants!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alysia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here for our "girls weekend" to Portland, as this place was fairly centrally located to all the areas we wanted to visit. There were three of us, and we booked two rooms. Upon arrival, we requested a double queen room for the one with two of us in it. They woman at check-in said they were completely full that night, but agreed to move us to a double the next day for the remainder of our stay. Of the two stars I gave this place, one is for that helpful employee, the other for the free breakfast. Unfortunately, I can give no stars to the hotel itself. I used to live in Portland, and I remember passing by this place many times as a child while it was under construction. Well, I'm now in my 30s, and I seriously doubt any updates or remodeling have been done since it was originally constructed. The carpets are dark and very dated, and are also absolutely filthy (your feet will turn black if you walk around barefoot very much). There was only one light controlled by a light switch in the entire room--a horrible fluorescent panel style light reminiscent of early 80s office buildings. This light gives everything a gross greenish tinge. There is very dated blue/green wallpaper throughout the rooms, including in the shower area (ours was peeling badly, with extensive mold visible under it). The room overall had a very dark and depressing feeling. One of our two rooms had an older style thermostat, with just a "hotter/colder" knob. This seemed to work fine, but the one with the programmable thermostat was a disaster. We set it for 69 degrees, and for the fan to run continuously. During the day, the cold air would run constantly, making the room quite chilly at times (definitely below 69). Then, as night fell, it would mysteriously shut off, and wouldn't come on again--even when we'd shut if off and turn it back on. This random cycle meant the room was sweltering at night, and very cold during the day. One night, the faucet in one of the rooms broke when turned on, and water started going everywhere, unable to be shut off. The front desk was called, and we were informed that maintenance was off duty, but someone would be right up. A very friendly person from reception showed up and fixed the problem, noting "this particular issue happens a lot, so all the staff knows how to fix it". Bottom line, even though the employees are friendly and the breakfast is nice, it still can't make up for the face that this place is an outdated, run-down dump of a motel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunnyd_0807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed here for eight nights. Very comfortable bed and sheets (down-filled). The bathroom was dated and the shower did not drain well, by the time I got done with my shower the water had covered my ankles. The toilet also had issues flushing properly. Good complimentary breakfast. Booked through hotwire and got a very good price $60/night. Can't complain much because of the price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank parakeet1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

This hotel is right across the street from Washington Square Mall, and lots of amenities close. The hotel is not fancy, but is very comfortable and in a terrific location. This is a very good area to stay near Portland, short drive to Woodburn Company Stores, close to Portland. I would stay again if the price was right. Breakfast was not fancy, but something to fill you up and get you started for the day.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank busylady111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creswell, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I booked our room through hotwire unknown hotels, and was kind of nervous after reading other reviews. This hotel is currently remodeling/updating their insides, so some areas are torn apart. After reading other reviews, we were expecting this. The hotel was right across from Washington Square Mall, which was great for getting dinner. We travel with a toddler and there was the closet area that was perfect sized area to set up his pack and play. We moved the two chairs from the table to his area so we could still watch TV and stay up late without disturbing him. Our room was very large and had two queen beds, a couch, a table with the two chairs, two sinks and a big counter outside the bathroom and a standard bathroom. The beds weren't too hard or too soft. Breakfast was good, they had waffles, breakfast burrito makings, cereal, cinnamon rolls and pastries, as well as coffee and juices. I'd probably stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tigard
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square
4.0 mi away
Grand Hotel At Bridgeport
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Southwest
Comfort Suites Southwest
#52 of 139 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland/Lake Oswego
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn Tigard
Quality Inn Tigard
#5 of 9 in Tigard
3.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwind Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland - Tigard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland - Tigard

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland - Tigard
Address: 9575 SW Locust Street, Tigard, OR 97223-6677 (Formerly Phoenix Inn Suites Tigard)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Tigard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Tigard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland - Tigard 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel conveniently located 15 min from downtown Portland with comfortable guest rooms, indoor pool, onsite restaurant, complimentary WiFi, in-room microwave and refrigerator, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland - Tigard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Inn Suites Tigard Hotel Tigard
Phoenix Hotel Tigard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing