We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good, some not so good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Portland - Tigard
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Tigard
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We had a relative at OHSU recovering from cancer surgery and stayed here two times within the last couple of weeks. First time, got a great rate from Hotwire and that's how we discovered the place. Location was convenient. The room was clean, roomy, and had a homey feel. The man at the front desk recommended a great Chinese restaurant that delivered to the room. They made sure we got a ground floor room due to my bad knees

Second time, we decided to bring our dogs and made the reservation directly with the hotel. As a result, the room rate was higher than our first visit. In talking to the person on the phone, she said there would be a $25 dog fee which seemed okay for the two small beagles I clearly told her we'd be bringing. Upon arriving, we found the fee was $25 per dog so the person on the phone was neither truthful nor knowledgeable about that. They also assigned an upstairs room which didn't make sense considering people need to walk the dogs and the aforementioned bad knees from a recent repeat customer.

Jessica was able to move us to a downstairs room--thank you! It was a nice room that was accessible to the extent I needed. I appreciated the grab bars in the shower but didn't see how the shower/tub situation would work for somebody in a wheelchair, for instance. The shower head was awful and it took quite a while to regulate the water temperature. King bed was comfortable and we got a good night's sleep. This is a very peaceful and quiet location. Comments about parking are valid and you can end up some distance from your room. Jessica followed up with a phone call to make sure the room was okay.

There are many good things about this place but in all honesty, we've never paid anything close to $50 for the dogs anywhere else we've stayed. For what we paid in total this night, we could have gotten a place with a hot breakfast in the morning. Although everyone was very nice during both stays and Jessica definitely went out of her way to do what she could, we probably won't stay here again. When guests check in, there should never be "surprises" that cost them more money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieDancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Portland - Tigard, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Annie - I appreciate you taking the time to write such a detailed review. Please accept my apologies that you were not informed of the correct pet fee when you called to reserve your room. This has been addressed with our front desk staff and your feedback will be very helpful moving forward. As well, I am sorry that you were not given a ground floor room upon checking in; however, I am glad that Jessica was able to find a room that would be more convenient for you. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 141 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

stayed here for 3 months on temp work assignment. The room and bedroom was large enough and fairly updated. very quiet. only inconvenience is that you cannot walk to any coffee shops or restaurants. Several times they forgot to clean my room on the scheduled cleaning day, but once i called and ask them to do it, it was done. i have no real complaints. It met its job of being a basic, clean hotel room for an "extended stay". kitchen items were lacking though (no can opener,) but otherwise fine. wifi was great.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrea4peace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Made the reservation based on location and it was within walking distance of family so that was good. And the bed was comfortable. That's about the only good thing I can say. I should have known when we arrived and the "lobby" was a small office with a counter - that's it. We requested a room with a king bed which we got but the comforter was disgusting - dirty, stained. I immediately called the office and was told to "come down and pick up another one". Really??? I have to go get something so basic? Went back to the office - no bedspreads available only another blanket. The room was actually supposed to be Handicapped accesible but so many of the things a wheelchair-bound person would need that I don't know how they can say that. The hook on the back of the bathroom door was missing, the shower head was so poor my husband actually went out to Lowe's and bought and installed another one (which he removed when we left). The carpet was dingy and stained. There was only one small trashcan in the entire place (in the bathroom). We had to take trash out with us to discard since there is no room service. Overall it was a good thing we only stayed there for the nights since if we had to spend more than a few hours awake in there we would have definitely moved. Also, parking is awful! Extended stay means everyone comes with cars. The side of the building where we were had 22 rooms and only 4 regular parking spaces. It also had 4 handicapped spaces. So 8 spaces total?? I wouldn't recommend staying there unless you are working at one of the businesses across the street. There are plenty of regular hotels that offer better amenities - chose one of them.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SoCalEncinitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I usually prefer Hilton and Marriot chains so I was a little hesitant, but we needed a one night quick stay at the last minute and everything I would usually pick was too expensive or too far away. So we took a chance and were pleasantly surprised. The room was small but comfortable and if we had been staying longer has some great amenities for a longer stay. Check in was fast and friendly. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. There was a little dinette and kitchen area that we didn't use but that would be handy if you were staying longer and needed to make a meal. There are no restaurants close so that would be needed. The closet area was out in the open, but was large so if you were a business traveler staying longer this would be sufficient space. The room was quiet and we slept well. The only issue we experienced was that the parking close to our room was all taken so we had to walk a ways. Overall a great stay for a great price!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeAlwaysWAnder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

After having a stem cell transplant at OHSU, this hotel was recommended by nurses at the hospital. The ADA room was not ADA compliant, even though manager said it was. From the ADA manual he seat height of a water closet above the finish floor shall be 17 inches (430 mm) minimum and 19 inches (485 mm) maximum measured to the top of the seat. Seats shall not be sprung to return to a lifted position.
The toilet in our room was a childs toilet and we were told all rooms had that size toilet. Even with a 6" extender on the toilet it was still too small. Office advised us that we would have to call 911 for help. Due to their substandard toilet. Bathroom sink was not usable, which means had to wash in kitchen sink, totally unacceptable for someone with no immune system. Standing water in bathroom sink is a germ factory. shelves were coming loose from the wall. Will never visit any hotel in this chain again. Extremely unhealthy place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 506Martha9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Portland - Tigard, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. The situation you described regarding the issues with the toilet and your sink are truly regrettable. While we were able to clear the sink and refund you for the entire stay, I am very sorry this did not remedy your experience.

We will use your comments to try to continually improve on each and every valued guests stay. We are very sorry for your experience. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me at lko@extendedstay.com. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The ESA hotel in Tigard, OR is excellent... Gayle is a great manager, she has a very caring staff, who provide clean rooms with a full efficient kitchen. Great coffee, (other beverages) breakfast bars & fruit in the morning to get us started on our day. We look for ESA's every trip we make.

Room Tip: If a larger room is needed, ask for the ones on the end of the buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESA T, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Portland - Tigard, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2014

Thank you very much for your review. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Never been to Portland before and no one told me I was staying way far from the center of town. Did not understand why this hotel was in a professional park away from restaurants, stores, attractions , etc. Run too cheaply and it shows .

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mjccooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Portland - Tigard, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. I sincerely apologize that you were unhappy with the location of the hotel. Many of the guests that stay with us love the fact that it is off the beaten path and the grounds are park like. I am sorry it was inconvenient for you and not what you were looking for.

Your comments were reviewed by the staff, and we thank you for your honest opinions. If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me at lko@extendedstay.com. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tigard
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Tigard - Portland Southwest
2.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square
2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland - Tigard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Southwest
Comfort Suites Southwest
#63 of 146 in Portland
172 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Portland Lake Oswego
2.1 mi away
Motel 6 Portland - Tigard West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Portland - Tigard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Portland - Tigard

Address: 13009 SW 68th Pkwy, Tigard, OR 97223-8369 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Tigard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Tigard
Price Range: $79 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Portland - Tigard 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Homestead Tigard / Lake Oswego. Our hotel is designed especially for longer stays with studio suite rooms featuring a fully-equipped kitchen. Our studio suite rooms provide the comfort and convenience our guests value most including a bedroom area, fully equipped kitchen, dining and desk area. We invite you to view floor plans and take a virtual tour of our Studio Suite and our Deluxe Studio Suite rooms below. Note that the actual room layout may vary slightly depending on bed type. Cash is accepted as a form of payment for those guests paying by a weekly or monthly rate. A valid credit card must be kept on file for incidentals. Cash is not accepted as a method of payment for guests paying the daily rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Extended Stay, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Extended Stay America - Portland - Tigard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Studio Suites Tigard / Lake Oswego Hotel Tigard
Extended Stay America Tigard
Homestead Suites Tigard
Homestead Tigard
Tigard Homestead Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing