We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made tax seminar SO much better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Tigard
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 11, 2010

Two of us traveled over 350 miles to attend an IRS sponsored tax preparation seminar - a potentially deadly boring three days. However, the staff at the Embassy Suites in Tigard made us feel like very welcome guests. From check in to check out, everyone working there was polite, considerate, conscientious and concerned for our comfort. The double bed suite was spacious and well appointed, clean and well maintained. Equipped with a mall refrigerator, sink, microwave and two-pod coffee pot (and none of that "take this and you will pay thru your nose junk inside the fridge!), two TVs - one in sitting area and the other in the bedroom, lots of drawer and hanging space, a hair dryer, ironing board and iron - and very comfortable beds. Internet access is not free, unless you have a Hiltons Honor card - very easy to sign up for. Only issue is they had the heat set to 75 and it took a bit to find the thermostat (hidden behind the door). Not much of a view - we looked into the Target parking lot - but from the 8th floor you could see a panoramic of the mountains and city. This hotel is a short walk from the huge Washington Square shopping center (which we did not visit). The meeting rooms were large with everything needed for convenience (except comfy chairs - but at least they kept us awake!). Included is a full breakfast including omelets made to order. The atrium dining area is decorated with a fountain and lots of greenery, Never had to wait long for an elevator (there are three which look out into the atrium). Did not eat at the on-site Crossroads restaurant, instead choosing to sample some of Portland's delightful restaurants, but heard from others the food was OK, if a bit pricy for what you got. All in all the hotel ambiance made up for the rather yawning seminar.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,187 - 1,193 of 1,275 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2010

If you're looking for quality, excellent staff seeing to your every needs, soundproof sleep with a free evening social wind down this is it. This is a good choice for the business traveler which is what brought me to this hotel. However, there were two items that could be improved. The height of the toilets in the suites are the lowest I have ever encountered, uncomfortably low particularly for those of us past our prime. The other is the 6:30 a.m. free breakfast. I prefer a 6:00 a.m. start and 5:30 a.m. is even better when you want to begin your business day early or need to catch an early flight. But the rest you get with the very comfortable beds and extremely quiet rooms does help you regenerate.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WisconsinRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

Second time my family stayed at this hotel. Value is great, especially with complimentary breakfast and manager's reception. Rooms were a little tired and need updating, especially the bathroom. Electrical outlets to power electronics are difficult to find. Kid liked the pool. Overall a good hotel which we will stay in again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honolulutraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

What is nice about the Embassy Suites brand is that you know what you are going to get, wherever you may go. The service was great and the room was clean. The location was close to the freeway (but not too close) and there were several restaurants nearby. There happened to be a soccer tournament in town and the hotel was full. As a result, breakfast was very busy, but we were able to find a table and had decent food. There was an indoor pool, and a lot of water was tracked from the pool area to the lobby where the elevators were. Not sure they can do much about this...

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

After reading the reviews we decided to take a chance anyway because it was an Embassy Suites; we were very pleased with our stay. The room was quiet, spacious, clean, and very comfortable. There was a manager's special after 5:30 pm where we could have gotten a meal for a third of the price we paid at the restaurant (not the same offerings, however). The complimentary breakfast was great, with many choices. We were also pleased with the amount of parking spaces available.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VEFlowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

Not being from the area and traveling on business, I thought this hotel was kind of hard to get to. But it does set off the major roads which helps to keep it a bit quieter.

The staff was excellent. The morning chefs were very cordial and another staff member even turned on the soda machine so I could refill my soda after hours.

The evening manager's reception and morning breakfast were very good and provided more variety then I've seen at other Embassy Suites.

The rooms were dated, but other then that they were okay.

I paid $119/night (not including taxes) and for that price I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meskens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Wow. Where do you begin with this hotel. There are so many problems it is hard to know where to start.

I have stayed at Embassy Suites all over the US and not encountered a hotel is this poor of condition. First, let me say that when we checked in the staff were very nice. Did not have any problems with the staff.

Now the hotel. The hotel is worn and needs to be refurbished. Carpet is very worn and everything feels really used. The room is a good size but the bed was very lumpy and the linens were thread-bare.

Since there were 3 of us, we had to use the sofa bed. Do not even think of doing that. As others have said, this is not really a bed. Rather it is a bunch of sharp bars with some very poor padding. We had to take turns sleeping on the sofa bed because we knew that the person on that bed would not get any sleep.

The hotel was completely booked. There were tennis and soccer tournaments. First, the pool was full of some 40 to 50 people. Too many in my opinion. There is no way the filtering system could support that many people in such a small pool. Walking by the pool the next day, it did not look clean. We did NOT go in the pool. Second, all of the children and teenagers seemed to run around all night. (Where were the parents?!) Again, didn't get much sleep. Third, the design of the rooms contributes to the lack of sleep. There is a glass window next to every door. This is very thin glass. Seems every time someone coughs, sneezes or shuts a door in the hotel, you can hear it in the living room of the suite.

We came home exhausted.

Breakfast was good and fast and they had everyone in the hotel helping to serve it - even the hotel manager. Did not attend the managers reception so I don't know how that was.

If you need to stay in the area, I am sure there is a much better hotel with better beds and linens and peace and quiet that will allow you to actually sleep. We won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelerfromSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tigard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Comfort Suites Southwest
#56 of 144 in Portland
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square

Address: 9000 SW Washington Square Rd, Tigard, OR 97223-4426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Tigard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Tigard
Price Range: $132 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square 3*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The impressive Embassy Suites Portland Washington Square hotel in Tigard, Oregon is next to the Washington Square mall and only a short drive from downtown Portland. A complimentary full cooked-to-order breakfast is served each morning and in the evening guests are invited to the Evening Reception featuring complimentary drinks and light snacks. Guests enjoy the convenience of being near Portland and other area attractions such as Washington County vineyards, the Oregon Zoo, and Children's Museum. The hotel is also located near many Portland business corporate offices, perfect for business travelers and is equipped with over 24,000 square feet of meeting and event space to host business meetings and large events and receptions. Business facilities include a business center, meeting and conference rooms, printing and copying services, audio/visual equipment rental and banquet rooms. The 100% non-smoking, all-suite hotel boasts beautifully decorated spacious two-room guest suites. Each suite features a private bedroom and separate living room with a large well-lit work/dining table. The suites are designed with comfort in mind and include two cable televisions, two telephones, Internet access, refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. The hotel has an on-property Crossroads Restaurant & Bar serving a menu of fresh Northwest entrees for lunch and dinner. Room Service is also offered daily to guests. Guests of the Tigard hotel have access to recreational facilities including the indoor pool and fitness center. Complimentary shuttle service to nearby sites is also provided for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Hotel Portland
Embassy Suites Tigard
Tigard Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing