We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High standards as always” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Tigard
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“High standards as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at the Embassy Suites, Tigard on August 20th, 2012. The suite was spacious and clean. It's nice to have the free WiFi for Hilton Honors members. The free parking area was spacious. Dinner was very good and a good value. As always, cooked-to-order breakfasts are wonderful - with selections of yoghurt, juices, etc. We look to find Embassy Suites on our travels.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    326
    126
    48
    31
See reviews for
363
191
36
261
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, Utah
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I first stayed at this hotel about 6 years ago and it's only gone down a little as it starts to show it's wear with signs of age. The rooms are still roomy and the bedding seemed crisp. Good wifi connection speeds and free for elite HHonors members. A good selection of HD programming on the TV made the stay comfortable. The breakfast was very crowded and not super well coordinated. They had to open a ballroom to accommodate overflow seating, but not a terrible issue. The hotel seemed packed and yet the service was still up to par. The proximity to the mall is great, and it's an easy trip to Portland. I would still after all the years choose to stay here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trngdir76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

we stayed for 2 nights in this hotel while shopping at Portland. Great location, close to almost everything. From the time that we checked in to check out time, staff was great.As usual, hot breakfast in the morning is the way to start the morning.Our room is very comfortable and clean. Usual standard for Embassy suites but what set this place from the rest is the great service we got from the staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vira55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We loved our stay at the Embassy Suites in Washington Sq. The staff upon arrival was friendly and very helpful. Our room was so comfortable, it felt like home . This was our very first stay at an Embassy Suites and we really liked it. From the full hot cooked breakfast to the managers cocktails and appetizers party each evening. A really special treat. The staff even drove us to the subway each day and came and got us upon return from our touring downtown.

Room Tip: Would highly recommend this hotel. All around they deserve high awards!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ahtram56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed here in September. Hotel is like any other Embassy Suite with the atrium in the middle. Little outdated, needs to be renovated. Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was the usual - made to order omelette and pastries. Nothing special. However, the one thing that excited me the most was free wifi for hilton honors members. Any catagory, don't need to be Gold level. I know it may not be a big deal but if you read the reviews the one biggest complain is paying for internet. Well, this hotel will give you a login password if you ask them when checking in. All you need is an Hhonors membership which is free. For my daughter and myself this made our day. Nice service on their part. Wish all Hilton hotels did that. Convenient location beside the Washington mall. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gadheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
167 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I have stayed in a number of Embassy Suites, and this one is quite nice but in need of a little sprucing up. Like all Embassy Suites, it provides an evening manager's reception as well as cooked to order breakfasts. All good, but on one of the mornings they were so busy that there were lines for breakfast and seating areas were all consumed. To their credit, they had the area adequately staffed and they turned over tables in short order while keeping the area clean.

Sprucing up means that the internal hallway carpets looked like they could stand a good cleaning and the TV's in our room were both fuzzy CRT's with remotes that were quite balky.

As a HiltonHonors member, there were no extra perks. I was particularly offended that they charge $9.95 per day for in room Wi-fi. There were guest computers in their business center, but they were exceedingly slow dinosaurs.

Being next to Washington Square Mall, it was convenient to shopping and restaurants. We made several trips to downtown Portland, and it was quite easy to do that. On the whole it felt crowded to me - small atrium, parking with narrow spaces ..... some in nooks and crannies, and surrounded by busy side streets.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oskarduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

I live in hotels and just spent two weeks here. Hotel is a bit out of town but in a convenient location. PROS: quiet, free parking, good free breakfast and evening reception drinks and snacks, large comfortable suites, clean, friendly attentive staff. CONS: same food every day, only two laundry machines for entire hotel, TV sets are old with no HDMI input, windows don't open and room can get stuffy, pool and hot tub heavily used by kids, wi-fi overpriced. Will stay here again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tigard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square
Address: 9000 SW Washington Square Rd, Tigard, OR 97223-4426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Tigard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tigard
#2 Business Hotel in Tigard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square 3*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The impressive Embassy Suites Portland Washington Square hotel in Tigard, Oregon is next to the Washington Square mall and only a short drive from downtown Portland. A complimentary full cooked-to-order breakfast is served each morning and in the evening guests are invited to the Evening Reception featuring complimentary drinks and light snacks. Guests enjoy the convenience of being near Portland and other area attractions such as Washington County vineyards, the Oregon Zoo, and Children's Museum. The hotel is also located near many Portland business corporate offices, perfect for business travelers and is equipped with over 24,000 square feet of meeting and event space to host business meetings and large events and receptions. Business facilities include a business center, meeting and conference rooms, printing and copying services, audio/visual equipment rental and banquet rooms. The 100% non-smoking, all-suite hotel boasts beautifully decorated spacious two-room guest suites. Each suite features a private bedroom and separate living room with a large well-lit work/dining table. The suites are designed with comfort in mind and include two cable televisions, two telephones, Internet access, refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. The hotel has an on-property Crossroads Restaurant & Bar serving a menu of fresh Northwest entrees for lunch and dinner. Room Service is also offered daily to guests. Guests of the Tigard hotel have access to recreational facilities including the indoor pool and fitness center. Complimentary shuttle service to nearby sites is also provided for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Hotel Portland
Embassy Suites Tigard
Tigard Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing