We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay with a family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Tigard
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This is a great hotel, within walking distance of the mall, and close to the highway. Close to Portland attractions. appreciate the free parking. The free breakfast was great. Rooms are comfy, staff is helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WiMomwithteens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,325)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,165 - 1,171 of 1,325 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2012

This one is a great bargain, it's price is reasonable, you get a suite with two large rooms, it is next to a large shopping mall, next to the expressway so that you can get to city easily. It is also suitable for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbhijitRayNoida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wil L, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

AbhijitRayNoida,
Thank you so much for your feedback.

It's our pleasure to have you as our guest and we are happy you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you with us again soon! Take care and enjoy the rest of your summer.

Respectfully,
Jina Ellison
Director of Sales
503-644-4000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Rooms: very spacious and convenient. We've stayed at this property many times before, and this is the first time that we got a room that was poorly maintained and dated in decor (Room 844). The glass brick wall between the bathroom and the bedroom made it so that it was light in the bedroom whenever the lights were on in the bathroom--not good if one person is still sleeping. If you ask for a room in the north tower, you don't have to hear the atrium noise that you get in other sections of the hotel.

Cleanliness: again, this is the first time we've had this issue at this property. Literally everything in the room was stained: the shower curtain (blood?), grout, carpet, sheets, bedspread. There was definitely a "yuck factor." I think the housekeeping staff did a reasonable job cleaning, but these things simply needed to be replaced. One of my pet peeves in hotels is when used room service trays languish in the halls, and that tended to happen in this hotel. Who wants to walk by dirty dishes and partially eaten food?

Hotel staff: wonderful. Every one of them was bright, friendly, professional, and eager to please. One of the breakfast staff ran up to my 7 year old daughter, gave her a cookie, and shouted, "Look! It's a real princess! Welcome, princess!"

Food: the breakfast buffet had a good amount of choices of cafeteria-quality food. The hotel was full during most of our stay, so the breakfast area was really crowded and hectic. This also resulted in times when several food items ran out. We did not attend the manager's reception, but we saw that there was a small selection of wine, beer, soft drinks, and snacks such as cheese nachos. It must have been OK, as there were always swarms of people there.

Location: excellent. We were there for a family trip to Portland, and this hotel was a good base. In the evenings after dinner, we could pop over the Washington Square mall for an hour of shopping. If you are traveling for business and need to get into downtown Portland (or anywhere outside of Beaverton/Tigard) at morning rush hour, though, this is not a good place to stay.

Pool: the pool is well maintained, and there is a jacuzzi. It is not the largest pool I've ever seen for a hotel of this size, but seemed to be adequate when we were there.

Parking: free. The front portion of the lot was always completely full, but if you park in the back there is wide open spaces (in the shade!) that are fairly convenient. Did I mention that it is FREE?

Kid-friendliness: this is an awesome place to stay with kids. You can put the child to bed in the living room portion of the suite on the hide-a-bed, and retreat into the bedroom with lights and TV on. The free breakfast is easy and more economical than feeding a family at a service restaurant. Our daughter loves the pool. The best thing for families about this property is the large amount of space in the rooms. Just be sure to ask for a room not in the atrium section if you plan on having your child sleep in the living room area--there is a large glass window next to the front door which allows in a lot of noise. This wouldn't be an issue if everyone is going to sleep in the back bedroom.

Sleep quality: my husband had a hard time sleeping on the really uncomfortable bed, and my daughter's sofa sleeper mattress had lumpy springs that I could actually see as well as feel. The sheets, blankets, and bedspread were stained. It's hard for me to sleep in a bed I don't trust is clean. When our child turned on the lights in the bathroom, we had light in our bedroom through the glass brick wall. We actually cut our trip short a night because of the poor sleep quality. This is the first time we've had this issue at this hotel.

Value: you really can't find a better value, especially for family travel.

Room Tip: North tower rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marinbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I stayed 3 nights at the Embassy Suites Washington Square. We had an upgrade spa suite. The room was at the very end of the long hall. The walk was difficult carrying luggage, but worth it when the nights were so quiet. I had room service the first night. I had the wilted spinach salad. It was great. The next night we had dinner down in the restaurant and I had the same salad. The room was spacious and because the spa tub was not in the bathroom, we had a large walk in shower instead of a tub shower combo. Even though we never used the spa, it was worth the upgrade to get the big shower. We have stayed at this hotel several times and have never had a problem. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmy92495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The Embassy Suites at Washington Square is an older property showing its age but the full-service breakfast and evening reception make it tolerable. The rooms are large yet basic; the location is within walking distance to Washington Square mall which makes up for the lack of decor and ambience at this hotel.

Basically, its an oldie but goodie thanks to location, breakfast buffet and the in-house hotel staff who do their best to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.

Room Tip: The elevators have a mind of their own...so be warned!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1blkhny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wil L, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

1blkhny_va-
Thank you so much for taking time to provide feedback on your recent stay.

As you have experienced our location several times it has been a few years since our most recent update. We are under consideration and review for an update but do not have a set date at this time. Please do check back or inquire for progress. In regard to the elevator, we immediately alerted our engineering team of your feedback. They have since had the elevators inspected and issues corrected. We have a schedule for maintenance on all equipment however it seems the elevators have had quite a workout requiring the maintenance to occur prior to the scheduled date. Thank you again for bringing this to our attention.

I do welcome you to give us a call prior to your next visit so we are able to update you on any changes. We appreciate your loyalty and time with your feedback. Through your comments we are able to make the necessary changes providing the best in quality accommodations and service.

Respectfully,
Jina Ellison
Director of Sales
503-644-4000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Cannot believe I spent $45 for dinner (room service) and it was A.W.F.U.L. and I barely ate it and was still hungry! Go to Taco Bell. You'll be much better off. I ordered the stuffed salmon because the staff person who answered the room service phone suggested it. YUCK. Very little flavor and a weird texture and I stopped eating it because I was afraid if it was bad I would get sick. Rice was tasteless and undercooked. They also recommended the Apple Cobbler and that was the worst! Pie filling with pastry on top and it was VERY dry. The best part of the meal was the bread and even it was oily.

Hotel room was okay. Looking a bit tired and in need of refreshing. Carpet had holes and the walls were badly scratched.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iluvjeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wil L, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Thank you for providing your feedback on your room service experience at our hotel. I am so sorry that your selection was not the quality expected and we are taking your comments into consideration. We look for reviews to provide insight, so I really appreciate your feedback. The next time you are in the area we would love for you to stay with us again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Stayed one night at the Embassy Suites Portland - Washington Square, and I would go back. Spacious outer room with couch. Clean, comfortable, and quiet. Beautiful atrium. Excellent breakfast included. Not too far from downtown Portland, and includes parking, as opposed to downtown hotels. The pool is a small kiddy pool. Fitness center has treadmills, eliptical trainer, and free weights. Our room came with double beds, which seemed a little smaller than the queen size we normally get. The only real complaint is that there is an extra charge to use internet in the room.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldStylePilsner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tigard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square

Address: 9000 SW Washington Square Rd, Tigard, OR 97223-4426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Tigard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Tigard
Price Range: $127 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square 3*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The impressive Embassy Suites Portland Washington Square hotel in Tigard, Oregon is next to the Washington Square mall and only a short drive from downtown Portland. A complimentary full cooked-to-order breakfast is served each morning and in the evening guests are invited to the Evening Reception featuring complimentary drinks and light snacks. Guests enjoy the convenience of being near Portland and other area attractions such as Washington County vineyards, the Oregon Zoo, and Children's Museum. The hotel is also located near many Portland business corporate offices, perfect for business travelers and is equipped with over 24,000 square feet of meeting and event space to host business meetings and large events and receptions. Business facilities include a business center, meeting and conference rooms, printing and copying services, audio/visual equipment rental and banquet rooms. The 100% non-smoking, all-suite hotel boasts beautifully decorated spacious two-room guest suites. Each suite features a private bedroom and separate living room with a large well-lit work/dining table. The suites are designed with comfort in mind and include two cable televisions, two telephones, Internet access, refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. The hotel has an on-property Crossroads Restaurant & Bar serving a menu of fresh Northwest entrees for lunch and dinner. Room Service is also offered daily to guests. Guests of the Tigard hotel have access to recreational facilities including the indoor pool and fitness center. Complimentary shuttle service to nearby sites is also provided for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, HotelPower, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Hotel Portland
Embassy Suites Tigard
Tigard Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing