We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Tigard
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 31, 2011

My husband and I had wanted to eat at the Cheesecake Factory in Washington Square. I suggested we stay overnight at the Embassy Suites and it was the closet hotel to the mall and had a shuttle service as well.

The staff was very friendly. We checked into our room before heading down for the managers evening reception. While we knew we were going to dinner, we had some of their appetizers and drinks before heading down to the mall. The hot breakfast bar with custom made omlets was the best hot breakfast set up of any hotel I have ever stayed at. Breakfast is not my favorite meal of the day, but I really enjoyed all the choices that we had to choose from. I also loved the enclosed attrium that overlooks the reception area. It was nice that we didn't have to go outside to our room as it was raining very hard that day.

We have talked to some friend and we definately want to go and stay there again for a weekend away.

If you can, choose the prepay no refund option when you book a room (I know, you are taking a chance if you have to cancel you can't get it back), but this option saved us about $25. Since we were only staying one night, it was worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dietcoke22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,155 - 1,161 of 1,275 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2011

We have stayed at this Embassy Suites several times. The staff is courteous. Didn't have time to eat at the manager's cocktail hour in the evening or breakfast in the morning, but otherwise clean and easy to get to the mall and downtown Portland. Like the separate bedroom.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the elevators if you don't like heights or walking around the atrium in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheriolson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Have stayed here twice and it is what you would expect of Embassy Suites. Convenient to Beaverton and not too far from downtown. Parking spaces very tight out in front of hotel but there is ample parking in the back as well. Walking distance from decent shopping and restaurants. Heater only seemed to work in bedroom area. Good breakfast of course and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank be32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ysukhun, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor! The breakfast you mentioned is what really sets us apart from other hotels in the area. We are so happy that you were able to enjoy the shopping and restaurants in the area. Next time be sure to check out our complimentary shuttle that can take you to the mall and many restaurants in the area. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts on our hotel and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

I enjoy staying at Embassy Suites as the manager's reception with the free drinks and snacks are so much fun. The free breakfast is another plus and HBO! The comments about all the kids can be a problem there as the staff told me there had been a… lot before I arrived but my Sun-Tues stay was perfect and quiet. The mall there was a huge plus too, being that there wasn't any sales tax I shopped my heart out. I got their complementy shuttle to the light rail so for $2.40 I got to the airport in a little less than an hour. Thank you Embassy Suites for another great stay.

Room Tip: I always ask for a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krista W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ysukhun, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor! The extra amenities you mentioned are really what set us apart from other hotels in the area. We are so happy that you were able to take advantage of our great location and the many wonderful things there are to do around here. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts on our hotel and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We have stayed at this hotel many times while visiting family. It provides a large two room suite to entertain. A breakfast included with room that includes a cooked to order eggs. The indoor pool/hot tub is great when the weather outside is cold and rainy. It has been a home away from home. Shopping at premier mall within walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USA696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

The hotel was large.  Check-in was prompt.  The layout is an interesting shape (triangular atrium).  The charge of breakfast was included in the cost of the room.  This was not continental breakfast with the bare bones...it was a full service breakfast (eggs made to order, fresh fruit, bagels, toast, etc) with a lot of selection for all.  We had booked a bank of rooms for our party of 15+.  Oregon hotels do not have very competitive pricing compared to other states, but the breakfast is a good plus for this hotel.  There are shopping amenities close by and it is close to downtown.  It has a small business centre too.  A downside to our trip would be the rude night staff.  My nephew had an severe allergic reaction at 11 pm and the counter person was not helpful with directions or information to the nearest hospital.  Luckily we had a GPS system that was far more helpful.

Location and breakfast would prompt me to chose this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trave11er123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ysukhun, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2011

Dear Trave11er123,

thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay with our hotel. I am so glad that you liked the cooked-to-order breakfast that we offer! I wanted to apologize for the poor service that you received from our evening Front Desk Agent. We do pride ourselves in our service, so it is disappoining to see that you were not treated as specially as you should have been. I assure you that we will be addressing this with our desk representatives to try and eliminate occurances like this in the future. We hope you will give us another chance soon, thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

I like the hotel but it's getting a bit stale. You notice things like the one elevator that makes noise. I stayed on the top floor and noticed the ceiling needs a paint job. The decor has a '90s feel - just on the fringe of being dated but not quite.
Otherwise the staff were attentive and the breakfast was good. The televisions worked, the bathroom fixtures worked, the door locked - you know the things that you expect to be operational in a hotel room. I didn't use the pool nor eat in the restaurant.
The parking lot is a bit cramped if the hotel is near capacity. I would return to the hotel, nothing would prevent me from that. But I will keep my options open.

Room Tip: I was given a room on the top floor in the 'North Wing' - it was very quiet. Nice sunrise ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edison234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ysukhun, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2011

Dear Edison234,

thank you for taking the time to review our hotel through TripAdvisor. I wanted to inform you that we do have plans for the near future to upgrade several things within the hotel, such as getting a new roof, televisions, bedding/room decor. Our Engineering staff takes a very proactive approach to making sure that our building is in the best condition possible.

I'm so very glad that you enjoyed our breakfast and were treated well by our staff. We pride ourselves in our service and making sure that every one of our guests has a great experience. I appreciate your comments and hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tigard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Comfort Suites Southwest
#56 of 144 in Portland
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square

Address: 9000 SW Washington Square Rd, Tigard, OR 97223-4426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Tigard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Tigard
Price Range: $132 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square 3*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The impressive Embassy Suites Portland Washington Square hotel in Tigard, Oregon is next to the Washington Square mall and only a short drive from downtown Portland. A complimentary full cooked-to-order breakfast is served each morning and in the evening guests are invited to the Evening Reception featuring complimentary drinks and light snacks. Guests enjoy the convenience of being near Portland and other area attractions such as Washington County vineyards, the Oregon Zoo, and Children's Museum. The hotel is also located near many Portland business corporate offices, perfect for business travelers and is equipped with over 24,000 square feet of meeting and event space to host business meetings and large events and receptions. Business facilities include a business center, meeting and conference rooms, printing and copying services, audio/visual equipment rental and banquet rooms. The 100% non-smoking, all-suite hotel boasts beautifully decorated spacious two-room guest suites. Each suite features a private bedroom and separate living room with a large well-lit work/dining table. The suites are designed with comfort in mind and include two cable televisions, two telephones, Internet access, refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. The hotel has an on-property Crossroads Restaurant & Bar serving a menu of fresh Northwest entrees for lunch and dinner. Room Service is also offered daily to guests. Guests of the Tigard hotel have access to recreational facilities including the indoor pool and fitness center. Complimentary shuttle service to nearby sites is also provided for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Hotel Portland
Embassy Suites Tigard
Tigard Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing