We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced, Poor service & Run Down”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Quality Inn Tigard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn Tigard
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Tigard
Federal Way, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Overpriced, Poor service & Run Down”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

We were assigned this hotel by a travel agency for a soccer tournament. The prices were jacked up to almost twice the regular rate. Hotel was in need of a lot of repairs. Very dated. Way overpriced for the amenities offered. The pastries for breakfast were still frozen. They knew they were having multiple sports teams ad should have prepared. They tried to send us to an overflow room that was an even worse breakfast fare then their regular. Staff was not very friendly or accomodating. Have done a lot of traveling for kid's sports events probably our worst experience.

Room Tip: Skip this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityInnPDXTigard, Director of Sales at Quality Inn Tigard, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
I have to say, first of all, that getting 2 poor reviews for one weekend is very disappointing to us! While we had more than 300 guests in the hotel on this weekend, each and every one of them matter to us. We care about what our guests have to say.

The thing that has always set us apart from the other hotels has been our staff, our reviews have been impeccable since our new management team has been in place for over a year now. However, we clearly need to address the laxness of some of our staff in maintaining our high standards.

During the weekends in July, our rates are higher than at other times of the year. However, the group WAS given a discount from our regular rates. One needs to look at the following when comparing rates:

1. Time of Year
2. Time of Week
3. Number of people in the room
4. Type of room

Unless all of these things are compared, it can appear that rates are high. However, we have always been considered a good value by our guests - both in terms of price and our amenities.

We hope that you will come back and give us another try! Thank you for your comments, they are appreciated.

Sincerely,

Lauren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    50
    45
    23
    36
See reviews for
71
37
12
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, WA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stayed here during a soccer tournament; everything was below par...rooms decor, amenities, breakfast (dismal). Stepped out of bed barefoot
to find dried up gum on the carpet. Water pressure in shower poor, TV a million years old, decor dated and tired. The last straw, ecoli outbreak for Portland reservoir made water undrinkable during our stay and it took the hotel the better part of a day after the water district warned folks to make bottled water available . Look and short of it: way overpriced room and there are better options in this area. The staff is nice .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKGRedmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityInnPDXTigard, Director of Sales at Quality Inn Tigard, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you for your candid review of our hotel. It's true - we are not the newest hotel in Tigard! We are following a strict upgrade schedule and have completed purchasing new Sealy beds, new carpet in the hallways and lobby, and a larger breakfast room. While our TVs are only 2 years old, they are the older technology. Our upgrade schedule includes 32" plasma TVs and new room furniture soon.

We were full during this weekend, and our staff took immediate precautions to ensure the safety of all of our guest's breakfasts first. This was the first (and hopefully last) time there has ever been an alert of our water. There was an issue, and it was immediately addressed.

We are glad you enjoyed the staff! This is where we CAN excel and make a difference to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us,

Lauren
Sales Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
118 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

We found this place by chance turning off the I5 late one evening after a long day's drive. Check in was friendly and helpful. We took 2 rooms, one for our 2 boys (ages 20) and an ADA room for my husband (who is a manual wheelchair user) and I. The front desk staff recommended a local restaurant for dinner, which turned out to be great, and was very helpful in every way.

There are not enough wheelchair parking spots: we saw only 2, and they were both full.

We were exhausted after a long day of driving so pretty much went out for dinner and then straight to bed. We were given rooms at the AAA rate, quite reasonable, we thought, and breakfast was included. We were on the first floor just across from the breakfast room, and since breakfast started at 6:30 I thought we'd be woken up by people coming and going. To my surprise it was very quiet. There was no view to speak of from our room, just bushes and a parking lot beyond that. It was nice to have a king bed.

The bathroom was not what I would call fully accessible but we asked for and received a bath seat to allow my husband to shower and we were able to manage just fine.

The breakfast was adequate, about what you would expect. Very limited choice of healthy foods (e.g. whole wheat breads, fruit). On the plus side, it was staffed and the server was very friendly and helpful to the people making waffles, needing cream, etc.

On the whole there was absolutely nothing to complain about, but it was not an outstanding experience either.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamuca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Here
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

The staff was very friendly. The breakfast was the usual: boiled eggs, fresh waffles, English muffins, bagels and cream cheese, yogurt, milk, orange juice, coffee, oranges, hot oatmeal, scrambled eggs, and cereal. Even though we went right as breakfast was ending, there was still plenty of everything available. The attendant kept the tables clean and was helpful.

The view from our room on the fourth floor was really nice as it looked out over treetops. As it's spring, everything is bright green and we saw a lot of birds right out our window. The bed was very comfortable and, even though we didn't turn it on, the television was very large.

Information for someone in a wheelchair: the bathrooms are very difficult to use. There is one short bar by the toilet on a short wall. They have no roll-in showers and the bathtub is constructed in such a way that a transfer bench (we brought our own) is not really usable as the back slants (for the comfort of those who like a nice soak!) so far forward that the bench has to sit against the toilet and then you'd have to step over it to get into the tub. There is no handheld shower. If you can stand, then there are a lot of bars in the shower to help you. There isn't a lot of room inside the room to maneuver. There are also only two disabled parking spots for four floors of rooms.

Room Tip: The higher up you go, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2_Casual_Travelers11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemet, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

With A bit more attention to detail by cleaning staff and supervisors, this hotel could be outstanding: Clean the dried splashed coffee off the bathroom wall, pick up a few hairs off the floor from behind the bathroom door, and add a second bar of soap in the shower/bath with the single soap bar, and this place is very nice. The staff were very courteous and helpful, though they did not did not know the rules of their running promotion [which my wife and are
The Tigard location is a bit off the main I-5 thoroughfare (5 minutes from downtown Portland), but worth
it. Hot breakfast was "hot" there were waffles and hot gravy to put on biscuits; eggs were hard-boiled, so lots of carbs and no other protein. It is what it is... Goodfor price but average until stadf managers can assure to oversee iprovements...

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChapsDiConti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

My friend spent 6 days in your hotel in March after surgery at OHSU and I was with her every day. ALL the staff goes BEYOND the call of duty, they are so very helpful and friendly, anything you need, they are right there to help. Her room was very nice and quiet, extremely clean, nice newer comfy mattress and nice bedding, lots of fluffy pillows. There is a laundry area, exercise room, micro/fridge in room + extra fridge and freezer space if needed. She loved the breakfast every morning. Your hotel is very quiet and the view out the back is into a beautiful wooded area. I have recommended your hotel to all my friends. We just had an event at OHSU over two days so several couples stayed here and all of them were very happy with your hotel. Truly old fashioned service that is hard to find these days. THANK YOU for taking such good care of your hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OregonGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
295 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

I've stayed at this Quality Inn a couple of times and it's always been the same: super convenient right off the I-5, only about 15 minutes south of downtown Portland (barring traffic), the staff are always very friendly and helpful, the wi-fi is free and works great, the hotel is quiet and rarely crowded, the rooms are clean and have everything I need. When I need a good stopover hotel passing through Portland, this is always my choice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valkyrie_Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tigard
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Southwest
Comfort Suites Southwest
#54 of 139 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland - Tigard
3.2 mi away
Motel 6 Portland - Tigard West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hospitality Inn
Hospitality Inn
#87 of 139 in Portland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
2.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square
1.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Portland - Tigard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Tigard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Tigard

Property: Quality Inn Tigard
Address: 11460 SW Pacific Hwy, Tigard, OR 97223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Tigard
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Tigard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Tigard 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn® in Tigard is ideally located right off of I-5 & SR-217. This recently-renovated 115-room hotel is built to minimize both interior and exterior noise with solid concrete and steel beam construction. Our rooms feature comfortable Serta© pillow top mattresses. Nestled off Pacific Hwy with a wooded backdrop, the Quality Inn provides a heart-warming and serene respite centered in the metropolitan Portland area. Come take a refreshing dip in our outdoor pool or enjoy surfing the web from your room with free wi-fi. Multiple restaurants are adjacent to the hotel, including Blitz, the popular brew pub that's got everyone talking (free deliveries to hotel). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Tigard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Tigard
Tigard Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing