We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best steak ever!”

Cousins' Restaurant & Saloon
Ranked #3 of 69 Restaurants in The Dalles
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tygh Valley, Oregon
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best steak ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Last night I had a New York steak that was thick juicy and tender, cooked just right! The server was attentive and had a beautiful smile:) We happened to eat in the saloon and it was a big promo night but that didn't matter, they sold us drinks and appetizers and took good care of us, I was so full there was no room for dessert, darn! I will come back as often as I can. Cant wait to have breakfast here, I've been told it's really really good! You all should try them out and they are close to the free way exit if you are traveling by.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hotgma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    190
    83
    14
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Eat on their back deck and you could be anywhere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

The food was really good, and the service was too. It was very pleasant out on their deck."Saloon" didn't sound kid-friendly, but don't be put off by that. It's family-friendly.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank h22101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is the second time I have stopped to eat here, and the food was as good as the first time. The selection of food choices makes it hard to decide what to order, everything sounds so good. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There is a nice gift shop at the front of the restaurant. I will stop and eat here the next trip to Portland.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CountryBoy1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

The breakfast was a great start to the morning. The staff was friendly and there were plenty of food choices too making this an ideal location to visit before getting to work.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dominic L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Worth the wait”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Exhausted from a long trip, Cousins was the place we stopped to eat. Food took a while to arrive, but worth the wait - and the staff are friendly and available!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Traveler092112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cousins' Restaurant & Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Cousins' Restaurant & Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing