We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It has become our home away from home when visiting The Dalles”
Review of The Dalles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dalles Inn
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in The Dalles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 6, 2011

Thanks again for a wonderful stay. We used the hotel for our daughters wedding in May and had a wonderful experience. Now it's home away from home. We were greeted by the Manager and had a welcoming note in our room with a basket of snacks. It was wonderful after an afternoon of driving. Another great experience and great service.
THANKS Victoria. We'll see you again soon!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gopens_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westoverinns, General Manager at The Dalles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2011

We were so happy to see you guys join us again!! We are always happy to have you guys. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (530)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

466 - 472 of 530 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2011

I booked this hotel for a group of friends - 13 rooms total! Fantastic!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmw2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

2008 stay. Neat, clean, updated (on the inside). Was happy the room was just as pictured. Friendly, nice staff.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank grgtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2011

Interior has been updated and in good condition...however, small rooms, old school TV's and located near a train track that guarantees you won't over sleep!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ross_in_Louisville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2010

We pass through annually and keep looking for that perfect hotel. Our last stay was at Cousins Country.
Parking was close and the lot was vacant on Dec 27th but the room was an elevator ride up to the 3rd floor instead of outside the door like at Cousins Country. The room furnishings are current, tasteful & clean. The window heating unit fan was noisy but it worked to warm up room quickly and was quieter than the Cousins Country unit.
From the website impression we thought the heated pool would be functional but upon check in we were informed that it is only a seasonal pool, closed Sep to May and the water seemed to be as cold as the 40F outside temp.
We had reserved the deluxe king studio but the room was smaller than a standard king room at Cousins Country and the bathroom was cramped. The bath counter was overtaken with a coffee maker and the room's dresser was overtaken with TV while the Cousins Country Inn had quite a bit of countertop space. It did have a micro and fridge which was nice.
The downtown location was convenient to walking to a restaurant but the rain prevented that on our stay. Although this is a friendly, clean hotel it did not give us the heated pool/spa we had hoped for to restore our weary muscles. Given the area hotel prices this hotel offers fair market value and a comfortable night's sleep but not the soaker tub, hot tub, or heated pool experience we were seeking.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandimacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2010

I was very pleased with my stay. The staff were very nice. The room was extremely quiet, which is important to a light sleeper like me. I was surprised at the great breakfast offerings. Excellent selection--even waffles! I visit The Dalles fairly often and will choose this hotel again. Thanks!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KittyGritty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2010

We had a family Memorial service there on 12/16 and the caterers and employees were very helpful. I stayed in room 227 and the pull on the little table between the 2 beds broke off. Thought I'd better mention it.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cgulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Dalles
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
#4 of 9 in The Dalles
298 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites The Dalles
17.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Celilo Inn
Celilo Inn
#2 of 9 in The Dalles
599 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cousin's Country Inn
Cousin's Country Inn
#3 of 9 in The Dalles
577 reviews
0.6 mi away
Super 8 The Dalles OR
Super 8 The Dalles OR
#6 of 9 in The Dalles
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dalles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dalles Inn

Address: 112 W 2nd St, The Dalles, OR 97058-1706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > The Dalles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in The Dalles
Price Range: $73 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Dalles Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful hotel in the historic downtown district of The Dalles. Stay in the heart of the Columbia River Gorge with its many outdoor activities. Stroll the charming streets of the historic downtown taking in the history and dining in the local restaurants. Enjoy complimentary continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, fitness center, and seasonal outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Dalles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dalles Hotel The Dalles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing