We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, convenient hotel in the central business district.”
Review of The Dalles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Dalles Inn
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in The Dalles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean, convenient hotel in the central business district.”
Reviewed December 7, 2010

I stayed at this hotel a few years ago when it was part of another chain and it was my first choice on this visit. It's clean and relatively quiet (Im a light sleeper and the train running a couple blocks away woke me) for a restful night. Parking is well lit and I felt safe leaving the rental in the lot. The staff I met were very friendly and treated you like an old friend. Wonderful Ale House with many Oregonian beers and ales right next door with an interesting menu. I will certainly stay here again if my travels bring me to The Dalles again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbtraveler29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    214
    66
    21
    9
See reviews for
121
187
41
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oahu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2010

We were heading home after a day of wine tasting and checked this hotel out on the internet. I'm glad we did. The rate was very good, service was friendly and quick, the room was better than expected, clean and quiet for a "downtown" hotel. Several good places to eat within walking distance. We tried the Baldwin Saloon and enjoyed it. If you're looking for a place to stay in The Dalles, this is one to check out.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VanorasCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2010

This is a nice small town motel. The bathroom has been updated and was very clean and the king bed was comfortable. However the heating/cooling unit under the window was noisy and interrupted our sleep when it came on. It was a catch 22 in that when we turned it off (fan for heat), the room became very cold by during the night. We wished that we hadn't bothered with the complimentary continental breakfast as it was carb and sugar heavy; the protein offered was a hard-boiled egg the size of a macadamia nut. The staff were friendly and our over-all experience was good.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McWilliams-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tualatin, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed November 12, 2010

My husband and I came for our first year anniversary in July. The moment we arrived, the front desk staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Once we got to our room, there was a wonderful gift basket. The room and bathroom were very clean and orderly as well as very inviting and comfortable. Later that evening we went out to dinner and on our way back we looked at the marquis (sign) out front of the hotel, and it read, "Happy Anniversary Mr & Mrs Abalos, Happy 4th of July". It was such a surprise and a fun little gift!! We greatly enjoyed our stay and felt that they really went above and beyond what we could've thought! Very thoughtful!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenlynn44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannon Beach, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2010

Friendly staff, basic breakfast, comfortable room although it could use another arm chair.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2010

The breakfast area was fresh and clean but the rest of the hotel looks like it should have had a renovation about 3-5 years ago.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bills_pix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2010

Great location and price. Nice places to eat within walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FireLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Dalles
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites The Dalles
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
#4 of 9 in The Dalles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
17.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Balch Hotel
Balch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dufur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
19.4 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#5 of 8 in Hood River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
17.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dalles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dalles Inn

Property: The Dalles Inn
Address: 112 W 2nd St, The Dalles, OR 97058-1706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > The Dalles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in The Dalles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Dalles Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful hotel in the historic downtown district of The Dalles. Stay in the heart of the Columbia River Gorge with its many outdoor activities. Stroll the charming streets of the historic downtown taking in the history and dining in the local restaurants. Enjoy complimentary continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, fitness center, and seasonal outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Dalles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dalles Hotel The Dalles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing