We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”
Review of The Dalles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Dalles Inn
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in The Dalles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

I wasn't expecting much for this small town but the room was clean and the front desk friendly. In walking distance to Baldwin saloon. Reasonably priced as well. Did not check out the pool, looked small.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gmickers11661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    218
    71
    21
    9
See reviews for
124
193
43
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rathdrum, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014

First I love this hotel, easy walking access to downtown. And I do love the rooms and also the breakfast room. The manager Victoria is outstanding. She helped me plan a vacation for my daughter and grandkids in Portland at the lake and also one at beach in Lincoln City. Rave reviews from them. They enjoyed their vacation. They give Westover hotels 5 stars. So thank you Victoria and also Renee at the front desk. This hotel would not be the same without you both.We will be back again. Thank you

Room Tip: be sure to ask the front desk, tell them what you are looking for, Quiet, dog friendly floor, childr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david83858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Wonderful location in The Dalles, and although the hotel is clearly dated, it was comfortable and clean and convenient. We walked to two different establishments for food. Continental breakfast was nothing special, but included make your own waffles, cereals, fresh fruit, yogurt, and pastries. We were pleased to have stayed here and probably would again if we returned.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueM53711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

The title of this review pretty much says it all. Rolling into town without reservations and checking around for a place to stay, we checked this place, and were quoted a price of around $85 for a room, so we took it. We were greeted by the extremely friendly (and chatty) desk clerk, who seemed to go out of her way to make sure we got what we wanted and were comfortable.

This seems to be an older downtown place, so we weren't quite sure what to expect, but the room we were given turned out to be very nice, spacious, and in great condition. The mattress and pillows were of excellent quality, and would've been considered nice even in a top-end luxury hotel. There were nicer decorating touches than one would've expected in a hotel of this class (for example, granite countertops in the bathroom), and there was a compact refrigerator that was much larger than the usual one (including an actual usable freezer compartment) along with a microwave.

The hotel has a pretty nice pool that is enclosed on all sides by high glass walls to protect against wind but is open to the sky. There's a small workout room, and while it has only one treadmill and one stationary bike and not much else in the way of equipment, that equipment worked fine. The free breakfast is served in what looks to be a former restaurant space upstairs, and it's a cut above the standard free breakfast in this sort of place, with not just pastries and cold cereal, but also make-your-own waffles, yogurt, fruit, and hard-boiled eggs.

The Dalles is a place where long, loud trains seem to rumble through constantly, so it's pretty much impossible to get away from the noise, but this place was surprisingly quiet, and we heard virtually no train noise in our room. Other reviewers have complained about train noises, so I'm guessing their rooms were in the main hotel, which is closer to the tracks. Our room was in the annex toward the back of the property, so it may be that the added distance from the tracks (with the main building in front acting as a buffer) may make these rooms quieter.

This is definitely a decent place to stay, and we'll certainly stay again if we're ever in the area.

Room Tip: The rooms in the annex in back may be quieter because they aren't as close to the railroad track...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cyberluddite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2014

The service was excellent . I reserved my room online and the front desk had my paperwork and key when I checked in. The breakfast in the morning has all kinds of options. The hotel sits in downtown by restaurants, the Marina and also close to the 10 mile walking/ bike riding trail. It is very clean and safe, the staff is always friendly and knowledgeable about the area and places to hike and visit. I have stayed here numerous times, for business and pleasure. I have tried other hotels , even one of the new more expensive ones, but the service just does not compare to The Dalles Inn.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We were thrilled to find this hotel in centre of town and walking distance to several places to eat. Loved the attention to detail in the room and everything was so clean and well done. Would certainly stay here again. After spending time hiking waterfall trials along the Columbia Gorge it was a great place to stay and relax on our way east and we wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyRose2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrill, Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed here for an overnight visit to The Dalles area. After hiking in the extreme heat during the morning, we called to see if we could check in early to get cleaned up. Renee was very helpful and had our room all ready by the time we got there. She checked us in and gave us information about the street festival that night and the local brew pubs. Thank you to you and the staff for a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krutjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Dalles
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
#3 of 9 in The Dalles
281 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites The Dalles
17.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Balch Hotel
Balch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dufur
237 reviews
2.7 mi away
Celilo Inn
Celilo Inn
#2 of 9 in The Dalles
570 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cousin's Country Inn
Cousin's Country Inn
#4 of 9 in The Dalles
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dalles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dalles Inn

Property: The Dalles Inn
Address: 112 W 2nd St, The Dalles, OR 97058-1706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > The Dalles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in The Dalles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Dalles Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful hotel in the historic downtown district of The Dalles. Stay in the heart of the Columbia River Gorge with its many outdoor activities. Stroll the charming streets of the historic downtown taking in the history and dining in the local restaurants. Enjoy complimentary continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, fitness center, and seasonal outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your The Dalles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dalles Hotel The Dalles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing