We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly place, well maintained”
Review of The Dalles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dalles Inn
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in The Dalles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We visit The Dalles at least once a year, first time we used The Dalles Inn and liked it so much we will return.

Has a nice breakfast room, an exercise room and it is well maintained. If you get the 4th floor you can get a decent view of the downtown and if on the north side, the Columbia River. Only suggestion is the beds are little too firm.

Room Tip: Fourth floor can offer a good view.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ayjake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
There are newer reviews for The Dalles Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 521 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

We arrived at the hotel even thou they say check in is after 3 ;00pm we got in Early which was good because we were on the road for 6 hrs very tired.The air conditioner did not work very well that night (Friday) so we told them about it and they were going to switch us to another room but we would have to be out of ours buy and 11:00 and would not get another one till 3 or so. so they called th Maintance Guy and he came in just to fix the air conditioner which was his day off .Thank youThe beds were very comfy not like most places where they sag into the middle or you lay down and kind of roll to the middle or hard and saggy breakfest was ok Waffels ,ceral that kind of stuff Cherry fest weekend very busy.The price was not bad compared to the other places in town.We would stay there again when we go and probabley the only place we would stay good job Oh buy the way the Girl that works the 11 to 7 shift was cute and hot looking real hot

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank broncobuster2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We have stayed at the Inn three times, and it has become our favorite place. The front desk staff are warm and strive to ensure a pleasant stay. Pets are welcome and they offer a special basket of doggie treats/water dish/bedding. Rooms are clean and the Inn is conveniently located downtown and several great eating establishments are within walking distance, as well some very interesting historical buildings.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deb O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The beds and bedding are comfy, and the rooms are clean. Front desk staff have been very pleasant and helpful. The coffee pot in the lobby was empty and I mentioned to the desk clerk as a courtesy so she would know. I was surprised when she called me in my room a few minutes later to say that a fresh pot was available if I cared for some. Nice touch. Internet service tends to be very slow, which is a problem for those of us who rely on our laptop or mobile device when traveling. Breakfast is the usual hotel offering, but thte dining area is very comfy. The elevator is slow. While the carpet isn't terribly old, the flooring in the whole facility appears dingey and in some places (like the elevator) the floor just plain looks dirty. Street and freeway noise can be an issue. The outdoor pool is small but pleasant. I would like to know why this and so many other hotel/motels throughout Oregon do not have power door openers! Luggage, luggage carts, suit bags, strollers, wheelchairs and/or whatever else we are trying to get into the facility bangs up the door and can add to the frustration of getting in and settled.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the freeway.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gophergulch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

We chose this spot due to its location next to the clock tower ales. Wanted to try on the way home from a trip to the coast.
Rooms were clean, breakfast lacked choices, but the deal breaker was the road noise. We had room 201 and faced an intersection - heard traffic all night. Was a sleepless night in The Dalles. Is possible that noise would be much less on other side of hotel?

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jmouchett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Was surprised how nice the room was as the exterior of the building is older, what do you expect from a town with history dating back to the early 1800's. The staff was pleasant and very helpful. Recommended a great place to eat The Baldwin Saloon. The room was clean and pleasant decor. We were off the street so was nice a quiet. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

When we first pulled in, the building isn't what I was expected. It looks a little older and outdates from the outside but don't judge a book by it's cover. The inside is great and very nice and updated. The staff was super friendly and had great advice on places to eat etc. The beds were comfortable and although we were facing the street on the 2nd floor, the room was fairly quiet. The breakfast bar was nice. I loved the breakfast space, it was nice and large. This wasn't a "hot" breakfast but they had plenty of options that satisified all four family members (kids and adults). I certainly would go back and stay here. We did get a great deal! We gotr $20 off the normal price doing some research and calling the hotel for the managers special. Note: This is a pet friendly hotel, which is fine with us. We were a little overwhelmed by the wet dog that had an overlayed perfume smell when we walked in the door. Not sure it was actual dogs or just an odd airfresher.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask about a manager's special. The breakfast room is on the second floor.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Dalles
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites The Dalles
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
#3 of 9 in The Dalles
291 reviews
17.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
10.8 mi away
Balch Hotel
Balch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dufur
244 reviews
2.7 mi away
Celilo Inn
Celilo Inn
#2 of 9 in The Dalles
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dalles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dalles Inn

Address: 112 W 2nd St, The Dalles, OR 97058-1706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > The Dalles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in The Dalles
Price Range: $86 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Dalles Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful hotel in the historic downtown district of The Dalles. Stay in the heart of the Columbia River Gorge with its many outdoor activities. Stroll the charming streets of the historic downtown taking in the history and dining in the local restaurants. Enjoy complimentary continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, fitness center, and seasonal outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Dalles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dalles Hotel The Dalles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing